Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 20th May 2019, 20:29   #4186

Re: The "I Booked my Car" Thread

Originally Posted by bhavik.1991 View Post
PS: 4 years of services shouldn't cost you more than 80k-100K. Dealer is just getting a loan of 1.23L from you @0% interest rate without any collateral.
Well first up, thank you for the kind words, and the concern you've shown. This is something I have fought myself with.

Oh, I totally agree with you, and also you have very accurately identified the financial jugglery that goes on here. Nor do I have any guarantee whatsoever that the Dealer (although I pray) will not shut shop.

And yet, it was only with this parachute, flimsy as it is, that I was able to make the leap of faith.

Imagine someone who has used a Swift for 7 years-1.2 L km, and a City for 7 years-66k km. What do you think my service experience has been?

Frankly, I don't remember.

Here on TBHP I have seen Skoda owners talk about service engineers like family members - I do not even vaguely remember any SA from neither Maruti nor Honda.

Never checked (after we moved on from the family-owned Mahindra Inter jeep) engine oil with a dipstick myself - neither before leaving for, say, Goa, nor after coming back. Here people talk about DIY OBD ports and keeping an eye on the coolant levels and timing belt damages.

Here, I haven't even taken delivery yet, and I know all about "Briskoda". Well, damned if I know even the official website of Honda and Suzuki. Never been there, never needed to.

Do you begin to see where I'm coming from? Why I feel comfortable throwing away 1.23 Lacs just so I can convince myself to enjoy this magnificent machine?

I'm sure you've seen little kids, afraid of ghosts and demons, covering themselves with a flimsy blanket (which won't protect them even from a cat), and feeling safe.

May be I'm just that little kid - I want the excitement of sleeping alone, but I'm too scared to do it without my blankie.

Thanks again,

R_S
roadie_swift is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 21st May 2019, 08:24   #4187

Originally Posted by gupta_chd View Post
Can you provide break up of discounts?
Sorry for late response. Discount breakup is as follows. Let me know if you need any more details.

Discount from Hyundai: 50,000/-
Corporate discount: 20,000/-
Additional discount from dealership: 25,000/-
padukulkarni9 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st May 2019, 09:13   #4188

Originally Posted by roadie_swift View Post
Here on TBHP I have seen Skoda owners talk about service engineers like family members - I do not even vaguely remember any SA from neither Maruti nor Honda.

This is an absolute gem of a post and I completely agree with this. People generally ignore this part of the ownership. Now that you pointed this , I am reminded of my scenario. Among the two cars I own, I don't know any of the SAs at Hyundai. And I have been using that for the last 5 years. But I personally know the ones at Tata and I have no choice but to keep a good rapport with them. Regarding your decision , yes , that blanket is worth every penny for the peace of mind it offers. That said , I would have been more comfortable if it was a manufacturer provided one and not a dealer provided one.

Last edited by padmrajravi : 21st May 2019 at 09:18. Reason: Added one more sentence.
Old 21st May 2019, 19:34   #4189

Booked: Ford Endeavour 3.2l Diesel Titanium+ 4x4 AT
Color: Absolute Black
Delivery 24/25th May 2019
No discounts.
Odo Reading: 3.3 KM

I present to you the big "Black Bear"!!!

The "I Booked my Car" Thread-img20190521wa0038.jpg

(Waiting at the yard to be taken home)

Last edited by rovingeye : 21st May 2019 at 20:03.
rovingeye is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2019, 12:07   #4190

May be I'm just that little kid - I want the excitement of sleeping alone, but I'm too scared to do it without my blankie.
Well this little kid is sitting at the showroom right now, eagerly awaiting delivery, even as the rest of the country is excited for a different reason.

The "I Booked my Car" Thread-img_20190523_120001.jpg

Important Update: Skoda has just offered me another 25k discount (over and above the 50k earlier) as a part of a new scheme that has been launched, as an exceptional case. But I'm required to provide new documentation, which in my case will be difficult. But I'm really really happy with this gesture.

Will update on the overall delivery experience soon.

R_S
roadie_swift is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2019, 14:00   #4191

Mod note: Back to back posts. Use [Quote +] instead. Thanks.

Originally Posted by rovingeye View Post
Booked: Ford Endeavour 3.2l Diesel Titanium+ 4x4 AT
========
(Waiting at the yard to be taken home)
Well this little kid is sitting at the showroom right now, eagerly awaiting delivery, even as the rest of the country is excited for a different reason.

Attachment 1878280

Important Update: Skoda has just offered me another 25k discount (over and above the 50k earlier)
======
R_S
Congrats, looking for to ownership reports from the both of you!

She's here! But not home yet.
======
R_S
Wrapping the roof of our rapid with 3m Gloss black costed 12k too. Got a discount of 1200 as the person there was known to us. I’d say you got a good deal going there with the accessory guy.

Originally Posted by HarshGtR View Post
I booked new car!

Make: Ford
=====
I asked for illuminated scuff plates, smart ambient lighting but SA told me it's of no use and I shouldn't pay for such accessories.
Yes, the funny thing is that when we booked our ecosport too, the accesories guy himself dissuaded us from getting the auto headlamp sensors, and was instead pushing the scuff plates and roof racks like crazy. Decided just to get the basic accesories pack instead. Don’t know why ford is doing this.

Last edited by Jaggu : 23rd May 2019 at 14:37.
Old 27th May 2019, 14:16   #4192

Originally Posted by kalyan_hyd View Post
Make: Maruti Suzuki
Model: Ertiga
Variant: ZXi AT
Fuel: Petrol

While I was looking at several cars in the budget range of 12-14 lakhs, I booked Ertiga for its VFM benefits by paying ₹ 11,000/. as there was a long waiting period. I can cancel it anytime until an allocation happens and I will lose about ₹ 250/. if I do so.

Make: Hyundai
Model: Venue
Variant: Was not asked while booking, but I am considering 1.0 Turbo GDI DCT SX+ only subject to the condition that it still has 6 airbags, confused b/w SX(O) and SX+ trims in terms of which has what, etc

If the on-road price in Hyderabad goes beyond ₹ 14 lakhs for Venue or if there are only 2 airbags in the top-end Auto trim, I am doubtful if I will still prefer it or rather choose Ecosport instead.
Update: I ended-up cancelling both the bookings. Venue, as I had mentioned in the booking update itself that I would not be interested if the top-end Auto trim does not come with 6 airbags which happens to be the case. Ertiga was more of a subsequent decision based on the fact that I found a very good pre-worshipped Creta Facelift 1.6 SX(O) Petrol from July, 2018 with 6 Airbags, Cruise Control and other related features.
kalyan_hyd is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st May 2019, 00:45   #4193

First post on the forum have been a big beneficiary all this while.
Booked Grand i10 to replace my ageing Figo (Petrol).

Make : Hyundai
Model : Grand i10
Variant : Sportz AT
Fuel : Petrol
Booking Date : 16/May
Color : Stardust Grey
Expected Delivery Date : 31/May
City : Mumbai
Freebies : None
Final OTR Price: 7.5L
Total discount: 1.2L / no exchange
Includes 5yr warranty+RSA / zero dep & EP/CM/RTI cover
MuditK is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th June 2019, 09:55   #4194

Newbie here!

Make : JTSV
Model : Tiago JTP
Fuel : Petrol
Booking Date : 5/June
Color : White
Expected Delivery Date : 15/June
City : Thiruvananthapuram
Freebies : None
Final OTR Price: 7.5L
vik99 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 7th June 2019, 10:19   #4195

Booked New WagonR CNG 2019 to replace my Alto800 CNG.

Make : Maruti Suzuki
Model : WagonR
Variant : Lxi(O)
Fuel : Petrol/CNG
Booking Date : 27th/April
Colour : Magma Grey
Expected Delivery Date : 7th/June
City : Pune
Freebies : Mats,Mud Flaps.
Final OTR Price:5.69L
Total discount: NA / 20K exchange bonus
Includes 4yr warranty / zero dep & EP/CM/RTI cover.
swapk53 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th June 2019, 10:26   #4196

This one is booked for my Father-in-law.

Make - Maruti Suzuki
Model - Alto 800 Vxi (new one with ABS and dual Airbags)
Fuel - Petrol
Booking Date - 19th May, 2019
Color - Silky Silver
Delivery Date - Car is available, picking up on 13th June
Freebies - Offer of 20K exchange plus 20k June discount plus 2100 for Government service.
Final OTR Price - 414046/-
Accessories - Mud flaps, Foot mat and Door visor.

He was driving a 15 year old M800 which was due for re-registration this month. So we planned to get it exchanged. He is comfortable with Alto 800 only due to many factors.
BoneCollector is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 13th June 2019, 10:32   #4197

MAKE: Hyundai
MODEL: Grand i10
VARIANT: Sportz MT
FUEL: Petrol
COLOUR: Stardust (Grey)
ON ROAD PRICE: Rs 6,75,000
DISCOUNT: 1.1 L
BOOKING DATE: 4th June 2019
DELIVERY DATE: 13th June 2019
FREEBIES: Basic Accessories Kit
Bhatia.D17 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th June 2019, 16:57   #4198

Originally Posted by Bhatia.D17 View Post
MAKE: Hyundai
MODEL: Grand i10
VARIANT: Sportz MT
FUEL: Petrol
COLOUR: Stardust (Grey)
ON ROAD PRICE: Rs 6,75,000
DISCOUNT: 1.1 L
BOOKING DATE: 4th June 2019
DELIVERY DATE: 13th June 2019
FREEBIES: Basic Accessories Kit
Good deal. Can you give the breakup of 1.1L discounts offered, I am also looking for a run-around city car & i10 with discounts looks like a sweet deal.
Did you also exchange your old car ?
goswami.j is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th June 2019, 21:06   #4199

Make: Mahindra
Model: XUV300
Variant: W8
Fuel: Diesel
Colour: White
On-road price: 11.7L (Kolkata)
Discount: 20K (included in OTR above)
Booking date: 17th June 2019
Expected Delivery Date: 5th July 2019
Freebies: none

Was eagerly waiting over the last couple of weeks to get an initial ownership review here on Team-BHP. Finally went ahead and booked today. It was a tough choice deliberating between the Nexon and XUV300. Heart wanted Nexon, mind wanted XUV300.

Still hoping that one of the early buyers would post an ownership review before me.
anantpoddar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th June 2019, 16:48   #4200

Make: Ford
Model: EcoSport
Variant: Trend
Fuel: Diesel
Colour: Canyon Ridge
On-road price: 10.25 L, including 5th year warranty (Thrissur)
Discount: Insurance and NFP discounts (~20k)
Booking date: 5th June 2019
Expected Delivery Date: 25th July 2019
Freebies: Essential kit (Mudflaps, Floor mats, Trunk mat)

This was the new one after the recent price cut. Ford added driver seat height adjustment and 16 inch wheels to the Trend, but removed the spare wheel cover .

Also the seats are now available with light/medium stone colour. Black is only available in ambiente.
knightrider_7 is offline   (3) Thanks