News

Need advice: Building a 200 BHP fun-to-drive car for under Rs 6 lakh

I plan to get a used car and then modify it. I'm considering models like the Honda Civic, Skoda Superb and Honda City.

BHPian Akash_1806 recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Hi everyone,

I am looking to build a fun-to-drive 200 hp street/track car under 6 lakhs which should be mod-friendly. All the options mentioned here are pre-owned due to the given budget constraints. Options are:

• 2011-12 Honda Civic 1.8 MT (130 hp stock)
  • 2011-12 Skoda Superb 1.8 TSI MT (160 hp stock)
  • 2011-12 Honda City 1.5 MT (116 hp stock)

I am planning to use the car for Autocross purposes as well as for my daily drives. The mods which I have planned for the car include a stage 1+ remap, performance exhaust with Valvetronic end-can, aftermarket air filter, set of lowering springs, aftermarket alloy wheels, and a decent set of tyres and upgraded brakes.

This being the 3rd vehicle in the family it needs to be a little light on the pocket in terms of maintenance.

The budget of the cars should be less than 3.5 lakhs as the mods planned for the vehicle will easily take up to 2-2.5 lakhs. Also, it needs to be a petrol vehicle so that we are able to use the vehicle for at least a period of 4-5 years in Delhi/NCR.

I would request the experts to guide me on the same, all help is appreciated.

Here's what GTO had to say about the matter:

Would suggest using up the entire 6 lakhs for an Abarth Punto. It's one of the best driver's cars to have been sold in India and you'll have a lot of fun with it. Because it will be newer than the options you have listed, you'll be able to use it for a longer time in Delhi-NCR too.

Don't be stuck on "200 BHP" with a budget of 6 lakhs. Instead, focus on "fun to drive". Other cars that you can consider are a pre-owned Octavia 1.8 TSI, Polo / Rapid 1.0 TSI, Polo 1.6L TDI, Tiago JTP (if you can find one) etc.

I've driven some 200 BHP cars which were boring, and some 100 BHP cars that were a lot of fun. Also, I've had as much fun on my favourite mountain road in a Figo 1.5L TDCi as I have with a BMW M340i.

Somewhat related thread.

Here's what BHPian govigov had to say about the matter:

A 7th gen / 8th gen Accord V6 should easily put out 240 / 270 bhp in its stock form. The 8th gen Accord V6 engine is great with the VCM delete kit. It should be within your budget as well.

Here's what BHPian lamborghini had to say about the matter:

If you want a light on maintenance car, I'd strongly avoid getting something and modding the day lights out of it, and especially a 10-11-year-old luxury car - something goes wrong & parts will cost a decent amount of money.

Also, it would be good to buy something simple & do research while on the go. For instance, to achieve the 200bhp figure on a Honda City you would need to turbo it. A remap on a NA petrol car will not provide the gains you're looking for.

Similarly lowering springs on a Civic / City would be overkill if you want to daily it - they scrape speed breakers as it is!

I'd honestly suggest buying a newer vehicle and doing it up slowly over time addressing the weaknesses as you find them - and would therefore suggest considering one of the following options:

• Punto Abarth : better tyres required + better brakes are always good though you wouldn't have to spend on suspension or alloys.
  • S-Cross 1.6 : better tyres, a remap, better brake pads and this would be a brilliant daily driver. Can even lower the car if you need
  • 2012 Honda Civic : keep some change aside for repairs since this would be an older vehicle instead of spending it all on mods.
  • Polo 1.0 TSi / Rapid 1.0 TSi : do the mods as they are required. Avoid the DSG.

Here's what BHPian Traveller had to say about the matter:

Your thread came about 4-5 years too late, especially considering your location is Noida.

Modified cars, especially those with silencers that sound modified, are cars that traffic cops in the NCR region drool over. And an old cheap car that's approaching or completed 15 years would make them dance with joy!

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Love Cars Live Cars