News

Looking for an adventure SUV for camping & Overlanding

The SUV will be taken basically to all destinations where no one dares to go.

BHPian tatafanatic recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I have been with a Xylo for over 1 Lakh km, the vehicle was purchased when it was in its prime so the paraphernalia that came were suitable for that period of time, now my most crucial demands would be:

1. It should seat 7, ideal travellers would be me + wife + 2 cycles + 1 Doberman + tents and other camping equipment.
  2. When the above doesn't join it still would require to seat 4 hurly-burly friends + 2 cycles + tents and other camping equipment's + one friend into fishing so fishing stuff (I can't change these guys, they have been with me through thick and thin)
  3. As the above scenarios go the destinations would be basically where no one dares to go, vehicles with strong bearings will really help and pan nation serviceability.
  4. We were taught navigation with help of stars so the vehicle needs only a decent music system and steering mounted controls along with PS and PW (those are only creature comforts required)

Oh and needs to be Maroon.

I tired the Isuzu something, it was good, but then never seen any ply on roads and it's not a tank to be so clandestine

Kind request to punch in options. Also, I am free to be told that such a vehicle doesn't exist so why not keep the current till it breaks and go for an adventure tourer motorcycle and try a whole new world out there

Here's what BHPian CEF_Beasts had to say on the matter:

For points 1 and 2, I can think of only and only one car and that is the Kia Carnival.

But then point 3 raises some doubts for the Kia Carnival since it will face difficulties in taking the unbeaten paths due to its low ground clearance, and long rear overhang.

Either compromise on some space and some comfort and go for the Fortuner 4X4 / Gloster or compromise on the go-anywhere capability and go for the Kia Carnival.

But looking at your requirements you’ll need something like this:

PS: You can get an LC200 in Maroon.

Here's what BHPian shancz had to say on the matter:

Assuming it fulfils your mentioned needs minus the age factor.

Requirements:

7 seater, 4WD/AWD, pan nation serviceability

We're missing the budget but nevertheless, let's look at the ground today. Won't venture beyond the 30 lakhs territory for now.

1. Mahindra XUV700: fulfils all conditions but feels a touch too posh for rough roading but that's a personal opinion, expecting niggles of a freshly baked product, a detailed TD experience here. Adding the long waiting list for deliveries too.
  2. Tata Safari: FWD only and some reported issues and niggles aggravated by TML's hit/miss service. Looks like the part, has space but how capable it is off-road with the modes in your use case has to be checked.
  3. Toyota Innova: RWD only but comes in Garnet Red(maroonish), on the expensive side of things.

It's difficult to get, alternatively, we can send any of the red ones to the course and they'll burn out to maroon in no time

There are good 4WD like the Thar and Gurkha and there are good 7 seaters like the three above and there are Tata, Mahindra and Maruti with good pan nation support but getting all of them together in one vehicle, only the 700 comes close with conditions mentioned above.

Future options:

1. The new Scorpio: should be rough use friendly with better dynamics and hopefully a proper 7 seater too.
  2. Other options like the 5 door Jimny/Gypsy or the 5 doors Thar would still fall short of space for your needs.

Weird/Wildcard:

Marazzo: it will most likely be discontinued but essentially a much better Xylo, if you're open to considering an end of life vehicle and can get a good deal it's an option as well but how good is it for you to decide on a TD.

Here's what BHPian sierrabravo98 had to say on the matter:

If you are ok with the Mahindra badge and can consider giving up on the Maroon colour requirement, do give a glance at the Alturas G4. That's a Fortuner peer for 15L less (with the discounts thrown in). Has a very competent 4WD system (low range and some sort of lockers mimicking traction control system) and a lot of luggage space with the 3rd row down (not that you would be requiring it with your use case. Mahindra's service network is adequate too.

P.S: With the thousands of crores that it has invested in India, MG is not shutting shop at least for the next 10 years unless China invades us. You would know the possibility of that happening better than most here.

Here's what BHPian Ironhide had to say on the matter:

Keeping your requirements in mind, the are a few vehicles that fulfil the criteria. These are, in no particular order:

1. New Scorpio (Yet to be launched). A proper body on frame car from a company that has decades of offroading legacy. The spy shots point towards it being a handsome vehicle with adequate space. Specifications will be something to watch out for, but we ought to have at least 150 BHP & 350NM probably. Hope it is offered with a 4x4 right at the launch.
  2. Used Hexa AWD. A car that has been incrementally improved for nearly a decade and remains to this day the best BOF offering from Tata. At 156 BHP & 400NM, and a capable AWD, from Borg-Warner IIRC, it remains a
    vehicle to take to broken trails. The lack of a dedicated low range transfer case though may put off some hard-core 4x4 enthusiasts, but if the videos are something to go by, it more than adequately handles broken terrain with aplomb (see Blackpearl's thread on its offroading capability). Shod with a reliable 2.2L mill it will be the cheapest to own and maintain.
  3. Isuzu V Cross. Isuzu and rugged are often spoken in the same breath, and for good reason. They make some of the most iconic offroad capable vehicles. They display typical Japanese traits of being reliable and abuse friendly. The service coverage is not that wide though.
  4. Toyota Fortuner. Proven, rugged, reliable. Not the best ride quality out there (Hexa would be a difficult benchmark to beat here), it nevertheless is a capable off-roader. Combine that with robust mechanicals and you have a winner. The highly inflated prices are tear-inducing though.
  5. Ford Endeavour 3.2. With the departure of Ford from India, their vehicles' maintenance and service support has come under a cloud, although they will continue to be supported for the next 10 years and the numbers sold will always ensure that the spare parts are available. The upside is that used examples can be had for cheap. The 3.2 is a beast of an engine and the offroading credentials of the vehicle are impeccable.

Hope this helps you arrive at a decision. Test drive each one before making up your mind.

Happy (car) hunting!

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Got BHP?