News

Buying a used Audi for Rs 40 lakh: Confused between A4 v/s Q3 v/s A6

Will be selling off my 7-year-old top-spec Innova Crysta 2.8 L Z, due to NCR's diesel rule.

BHPian sh3lby recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Hello everyone, first time making a post here but I feel the time is right to seek your expert opinions on my family's situation.

We have had our top-of-the-line 2.8 L Z Variant Diesel Innova Crysta for 7 years now, however, due to being based in NCR, it is a hassle to keep a diesel vehicle for obvious reasons. Plus my father feels the time is right for an upgrade, especially in brand and segment of cars.

We are going with the pre-owned German luxury segment since the new ones are off-limits in terms of budget.

We have test-driven an X1, and while it is more refined, my father didn't find the performance to be much of an upgrade compared to our Crysta. Plus despite it being an 'SUV' we didn't feel it lived up to our expectations.

We test-drove the 2023 Audi A4 and Q3 and were much more impressed by the performance and luxury factor (especially the interior) on offer at the price point we are targetting - 40 lahks.

At this stage, we have 4 main options:

1. A 2023 Top end model Audi A4, first owner, 12,000 km run Audi demonstrator car - grey
  2. A 2023 Top end Audi Q3, again a demo car with a similar odo - father is more of a heightened car person so is more inclined towards this, although it is in a stark blue colour which is off-putting. I suggested the option of getting it wrapped for 30k or so but the factory paint finish cannot be matched.
  3. A 2023 top model Audi A4, first owner, 17,000 km run Audi demonstrator car - but in black...both grey and black look good but black is black which is why we're somewhat conflicted.
  4. A 2021 Audi A6, 46,6k km run - This is a bit of an outlier, but an A6 is a complete segment above the A4 according to me and I feel it should be considered.

All are around a similar price point. What would you do?

Here's what GTO had to say on the matter:

A demo car's 1 km is equivalent to a private owner car's 3 km, because of the demo's high level of abuse, different drivers & general "use it for 1 year then dispose" attitude. A 13000 km demo car is perhaps driven by anywhere between 400 - 1000 different drivers too. Where private owners baby & pamper their cars, demo cars are driven like rental cars.

In that sense, the A6's 46000 km is not that high as compared to the demo car's 12000 - 17000 km. Plus, the A6 is from a segment above and will offer better space and noticeable improvements in suspension finesse, overall quality, NVH, space etc.

My pick would be the A6. Take a long test drive and follow our used car checklist (including service history, checking past insurance claims etc.) to the T. You should also be able to top-up the warranty with an extended package.

Here's what BHPian lamborghini had to say on the matter:

I would skip the A4 & A6 primarily due to kms run or that they are demo cars. The Q3 by itself wasn't as impressive - I'd rather buy a new Tiguan / Kodiaq over the Q3 because apart from the interiors - the Tiguan is a hoot to drive & the Kodiaq is a brilliant family car.

At a budget of 40L, you should be looking at a BMW 330i - a 2021 model should be in your range with low kms and hopefully BRI that can be extended, or a new 2023 A4. If it means stretching slightly for a new 2024 A4 base trim, it would be worth it.

The A6 too is an excellent buy, but with 45K on the odo - will probably require routine maintenance a lot earlier & there is no overlooking that the parts will be expensive.

Here's what BHPian manson had to say on the matter:

With a 40 lac budget you're within a couple of lacs of brand new A4/Q3 entry-level variants, why even bother with going the used car route? Whilst the used 2023 cars will get you a bunch of extra equipment a brand new car will bring you peace of mind. The blessing in disguise is that apparently, the 2024 Q3 comes with auto hold which makes commuting in urban traffic a breeze!

The A4 built on the superior MLB platform has better fit and finesse over the Q3, but then you get Quattro and better ground clearance (not bad on the A4 either) with the Q3. Simply choose a brand new four-ringer your father fancies, can't go wrong with either!

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Power to the people