News

Luxury car purchase: Thought of BMW X1 but BYD Seal caught my attention

Until now, I've been driving a Honda City and was initially inclined towards buying an SUV for the versatility and ground clearance it offers.

BHPian ManiPrakash recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Hello fellow automobile enthusiasts,

I'm currently facing a delightful yet challenging decision and could use some wisdom from this knowledgeable community. My heart is torn between two very appealing options: the BMW X1 and the BYD Seal. Having always dreamed of owning a luxury vehicle, I find myself at a crossroads, weighing ownership costs, brand value, and the evolving landscape of EV infrastructure in India.

On one hand, the BMW X1 represents the quintessential luxury SUV experience with a high sense of ownership and prestige attached to the famed brand. On the other, the BYD Seal caught my attention with its impressive value for money—offering commendable power delivery, spaciousness, and lower running costs. The prospect of owning an electric vehicle is tantalizing, especially considering the future of mobility.

Until now, I've been driving a Honda City and was initially inclined towards buying an SUV for the versatility and ground clearance it offers. However, experiencing the BYD Seal in the showroom made me reconsider the sedan form factor. I reside in Gurgaon, where ground clearance can be a concern given the road conditions. This leaves me pondering if opting for a sedan with lower ground clearance, like the Seal, makes practical sense.

I'm open to both sedan and SUV forms but find myself oscillating between these factors: ownership costs, brand allure, and the readiness of India for electric vehicles. If any of you own these vehicles or have insights to share from your experiences, I would greatly appreciate your advice. Your input could be pivotal in helping me make a well-informed decision.

Thank you in advance for your guidance and for sharing your experiences!

Here's what GTO said on the matter:

The X1 is actually not the quintessential luxury SUV experience at all. It's an entry-level luxury crossover, with compromises in its engines & overall size / space. I drove the Seltos Facelift 1.5 Turbo & 2024 X1 back to back and was genuinely wondering where the 40-lakhs extra of the X1 is going? Impossible to justify it.

Yes, keeping the quality & badge in mind, the X1 is a great car at 40 - 45 lakhs (maximum). But not at the 60 - 65 lakhs BMW wants for it.

Between this & the Seal, I would pick the Seal any which day. Other than the badge & ground clearance, it blows the X1 away to smithereens. Performance, tech, space, running costs etc. Don't overlook the fact that BYD is the global emperor of EVs, bigger even than Tesla. Since you have the budget, go for the AWD variant which offers sportscar-like acceleration.

If absolutely smitten by badges, look for good deals on the Audis (Q5 followed by Q3 & A4).

Here's what BHPian vattyboy had to say on the matter:

Consider choosing the BYD SEAL.

It is a superior product that is available in India at a lower price than its retail price outside India, where it is sold at a similar price range as the C class or 3 series.

In terms of performance, the figures speak for themselves - with 530 bhp, there is simply no comparison to the 134 bhp offered by other options.

Here's what BHPian Shreyans_Jain had to say on the matter:

BMW X1 is a vehicle that is on my personal blacklist. The company offering a 55L rupee car with a 130 something bhp petrol and a 145bhp diesel is like literally giving the middle finger to the customer. There is nothing much to like about the X1 apart from the badge itself. It’s a fairly average vehicle for the asking price.

Seal comes in as a breath of fresh air. It is a highly acclaimed and globally well received car that has won many international awards. It offers something new and different and frankly, there are very few vehicles which provide this kind of value for money. As for EV tech, Seal offers the latest and best from BYD, which is means it is right up there with the very best in the world. And once you experience the sheer brilliance of electric propulsion, there is no looking back.

Seal over X1, any day.

Here's what BHPian CentreofGravity had to say on the matter:

As other members said, the BYD Seal is the better choice. This is the first time I am recommending an electric car over an ICE powered one

While the BMW offers a premium interior experience, the engines are disappointing on paper and not worth the asking price. On the other hand, the Seal is a cracker of a sedan whose interiors and exteriors are classy. Get this - the Seal has close to four times more power than the petrol Bimmer while costing around the same! Also, it is a known fact that entry level luxury cars are overpriced and paying for them is open robbery.

If you really want to go electric, the Seal should ‘seal the deal’. But if you’re open to other options, I would suggest you to look at the used car route too. Just imagine the kind of cars you could get with half a crore!

Here's what BHPian AtheK had to say on the matter:

Except for the badge, nothing is going for the BMW X1, which is a joke of a product at that price point. That steering wheel itself looks like an eyesore.

With BYD Seal, you can also include the Volvo XC40 recharge in the mix if you want to keep the SUV form factor in consideration.

Ultimately, it is your money, and the X1 will win any day over Volvo or BYD if you want that badge. Still, I always believe in buying the top end of another manufacturer rather than an aspirational brand's base model.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Got BHP?