News

Off-roader or SUV under Rs 4.5L: To haul full-size agricultural drones

Currently, I am using the Tiago because it's what I have and I need to upgrade it to an SUV.

BHPian sidbarabari recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I have a startup and we need to deliver full-sized agricultural drones from time to time. As we are new, I use my own vehicles to take the systems and deliver them. Funny enough, the larger drones fit in the rear seat of Tiago but not in the Xcent. Moreover, I can fold the rear seat of Tiago and use it to take heavy drones as well.

At this point, we have to carry out systems almost every day for testing or for deliveries. I am thinking of picking up an SUV so that I can haul the drones (probably a softer bed). But my budget is very limited as it will be used by my engineers and pilots.

I have seen other companies (most survey companies and not manufacturing ones like ours) use old Innovas and boleros. I had Evalia on my mind for a long time but service becomes a challenge and I am not really looking for surprises as I take shocks on a daily basis (perks of being a founder)

I was looking at MM540 and Bolero but I am unable to make a choice. Please do suggest something. My budget is a little low at 4.2L and I would be happy to maintain it and keep it in condition for the next 5 years.

Update: To be frank, I am using the Tiago because it's what I have and I need to upgrade it to an SUV. Jimny would exceed my budget and I think something from Mahindra would be my best bet. I was also looking at the old safari so that I can use it on highways as well as a crew cab but still remove and use last-row seats for storage

Here's what GTO had to say on the matter:

5 lakhs is a limited budget and any SUV you get will be old, abused or both. I would say the Eeco CNG will be just perfect for your intended usage. There is a reason why it's the default choice of delivery/courier companies in India. Cheap to buy, cheap to run, has lots of storage in the "box" and is abuse-friendly. Also, consider the Tata Ace.

If you are absolutely keen on a used SUV, go for a previous-gen Thar and remove the rear seats for cargo space. It'll serve the purpose of delivery, and you'll enjoy driving it when you do. Alternate options = Bolero or Scorpio.

Avoid the MM540s. They are now too old, too crude and too slow. You'll get a 1st-gen Thar for ~5 lakhs.

Here's what BHPian Dry Ice had to say on the matter:

I think you are on the right track in considering the Bolero. But, I am not sure of the condition of the vehicle you would get under Rs 5 lakh.

If CNG is available around you, you could consider a Maruti Eeco CNG as well perhaps? Service support will probably be similar to that of Bolero, or maybe a tad better.

Here's what BHPian aniketi had to say on the matter:

Go with Eeco eyes closed. You may have to extend the budget a bit for a new one but you will get 100% peace of mind. It gives you maximum sq feet for the money. Also, it's very fuel efficient and easy to drive and maintain. Service is not an issue at all being a Maruti.

Here's what BHPian Voodooblaster had to say on the matter:

Eeco suits your requirements to the T

Alternatively, you can buy Tata Ace for a huge cargo bay, but running a Goods Carrying Commercial Vehicle is a slightly expensive proposition (Taxes, insurance, periodic Fitness tests by RTO)

Used Taveras can also be a good choice; removing the last row of seats (forward-facing type) will give you lots of space. if it's the jump seat variant, you can simply fold it. The front and middle-row seats will be reasonably comfortable. Being a Chevrolet, they will come cheap and go cheaper. 2016 models with approx 1.50 lac km on the odo can be had at that price with just the right bit of bargaining. The BS-4 have Sonalika ICML engines, while the older BS3 will probably have the Isuzu engines.

You can also look at Tata Sumo Gold, of 2017-18 at similar prices. The rear jump seats could be folded up for massive cargo space and you are good to go. Personally, I felt the Tavera to be more comfortable than the Sumo. Of course, the Sumo might be up for rougher roads than the Tavera

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Redlining the Indian Scene