News

Which MG Windsor EV variant to buy: A deep dive into all three of them

When it comes to the pricing, the three variants - Excite, Exclusive and Essence - are priced with an increment of Rs 1 lakh.

BHPian Ripcord09 recently shared this with other enthusiasts:

The MG Windsor is the brand’s 3rd electric car in India (Review Link). MG calls it a crossover utility vehicle and it offers a spacious cabin. It is also loaded with tech and features. Along with the Windsor, MG introduced a unique way of owning electric vehicles by providing battery as a service. You can also buy the car upfront at the prices mentioned below.

There are a total of 3 variants on offer. Here's a deep dive into all the variants to help you identify the most valuable trim for your preferences.

Variants Breakdown

Excite

Top Features

• LED Projector Headlamps with DRLs
  • LED Tail Lamps
  • LED Cornering Lights
  • Illuminated Front Logo
  • 17-inch Steel Wheels with Wheel Covers
  • Glass Antenna
  • Front Armrest
  • Fabric Seats
  • 60:40 Rear Seat Split
  • Reclining Rear Seats
  • Adjustable Headrests
  • Height-adjustable Driver’s Seat
  • 7-inch Digital Instrument Cluster
  • 10.1-inch Infotainment
  • Steering-mounted Controls
  • Wireless Apple CarPlay & Android Auto
  • 6-speaker Audio
  • Auto Climate Control
  • Rear AC Vents
  • Cruise Control
  • Six Airbags
  • ESP
  • Hill-Start & Descent Control
  • Disc Brakes
  • Electronic Parking Brake with Auto Hold
  • TPMS (highline)
  • 3.3kW Portable Charging Cable
  • 3.3kW AC Home Charging Box

Exclusive

Top Features Over Excite

• 18-inch Diamond-cut Alloys
  • Leatherette Upholstery, Steering Wheel & Seats
  • Powered Driver’s Seat
  • Rear Armrest with Cupholder
  • 15.6-inch Infotainment
  • 8.8-inch Digital Instrument Cluster
  • Wireless Phone Charger
  • Multi-language Voice Commands
  • Valet Mode
  • MG App Store
  • Home-to-car Using JioFiber
  • Digital Key
  • Remote Car Lock/Unlock
  • OTA Updates
  • Wi-Fi Connectivity
  • 360-degree Camera
  • Rear-view Monitor
  • Auto-dimming IRVM
  • TPMS

Essence

Top Features Over Exclusive

• 9-speaker Infinity Audio
  • Ambient lighting
  • PM2.5 filter
  • Glass Roof
  • Ventilated Front Seats
  • 7.4kW AC Fast Charger

Conclusion

With three variants on offer, you are not spoilt for choice like some other EVs on sale. Even when it comes to the pricing, the three variants are priced with an increment of Rs. 1 lakh. The base Excite variant offers all the necessary features and is good if you're on a budget.

The mid-spec Exclusive variant offers the most value among the three as expected. It comes with all the essential and nice-to-have features. This variant also offers the whole shebang of MG-connected apps for those who like to interact with their car through smart devices.

Given that the top-spec variant is priced at only Rs. 1 lakh more than the mid-spec variant, most people wouldn't mind making that jump. You get the fully loaded car with a 9-speaker Infinity audio system, ventilated seats, glass roof and most importantly, faster AC charging.

Do let us know what you think is the most value-for-money variant and also if you had to buy the MG Windsor, which variant would you pick?

Here's what BHPian GoBabyGo had to say about the matter:

Hi, Windsor EV 38kWh is a brilliant product, no matter whichever product one compare with.

However, I would wait for 50kWh battery pack of Windsor EV to launch and then would pick Exclusive variant as a single garage car for my specific usage (99% city drive and occassionally highway drive within 350km one way).

I personally feel glass roof is a bad choice in NCR, where temperature remain above 35 degree almost 9 months and go above 40 degree for 5 to 6 months

Here's what BHPian thomahawk had to say about the matter:

Voted Exclusive. Glass roof should have been an option on top of the fully loaded variant. Otherwise it is always the top variant for me.

Here's what BHPian VWAllstar had to say about the matter:

Would prefer the top of the line Essence. The glass roof is a novelty however it has its own demerits. With 17 Lakhs on road (Mumbai) this feels like a 1RK on wheels. I wish it had a 50 kW battery pack even if it was a Lakh more expensive.

Here's what BHPian shubhank008 had to say about the matter:

The Green color was my (wife's) personal choice for going for top variant, else I was content with mid one.

One thing to keep in mind is, the price diff is 1 Lac but the 7KW charger alone is worth 40-50k INR, which even if you sell off can net you some good 25-30k easily, maybe more.

So basically rest of the features you are paying like 70k net.

Personally out of all the extra features, my goto feature was Ventilated Seats due to Delhi Summers.

PM2.5 or Sunroof is good but not deal breaker.

The R18 tires also give the car a better look and road presence, but again not deal breaker.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

A helmet will save your life