News

Do you consider brand Volvo to be on par with Audi, BMW & Mercedes?

While some enthusiasts do end up with Volvos, it is safe to say that BMW (especially) & Mercedes are more popular with petrolheads.

BHPian Omkar recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

We recently had a thread on whether you consider Audi to be on par with BMW and Mercedes and an interesting comment was dropped.

Off-topic - But would be interesting to have a similar thread for Volvo as well, with extra-ordinary safety features and feature-packed Sedans/SUVs, would love to see how our members feel about Volvo.

The only grouse I have with them is the limited model lineup.

Now, let’s talk about Volvo in India. Volvo forayed into the Indian market in 2007 with the S80 sedan and XC90 SUV. The Swedish manufacturer never really made any big dent in the sales numbers of other brands. The model line-up has always been very limited, and Volvo has become more of a niche brand in the country. But that doesn’t take away from the fact that their current crop of cars is extremely desirable and attracts a certain set of audiences. Volvo has truly evolved on the design front, with some stunningly styled cars replacing boring ones. In fact, one of the reasons why people buy a Volvo is to get something "different" as cars from the German trio have become way too common on our roads.

This is clearly a brand that has done very well under Chinese ownership, just as Range Rover has under Indian ownership.

What’s worked for Volvo in the past is their focus on safety. With the amount of research and tech they’ve put into their cars, the name Volvo has pretty much become synonymous with safety (even though all luxury car competitors offer 5-star safety too).

Traditionally, Volvos have had boring designs. However, their recent vehicles, especially the current generation of cars, have changed the age-old impression of bland-looking cars. The current crop of cars has a blend of minimalistic, yet classy designs with edgy styling elements. They look great IMO with clean lines and perfect proportions. Even when it comes to the interiors, the styling is timeless and the quality is good. All in all, what works for Volvo is the kind of brand identity it has created which incorporates safety, minimalistic design and a focus on being environmentally conscious.

Additionally, many Volvo models are well-priced, nicely undercutting the direct competition.

From all that’s good, to some things that aren’t. One of the reasons why people don’t buy Volvos is that performance hasn’t been a strong suit for the Swedish manufacturer, especially when compared to the German trio. This has been the case across all the IC engine-powered cars from Volvo. There was the Volvo S60 Polestar that was launched in India, but it was brought in limited numbers. In general, Volvo doesn't offer big turbo-petrols or 6-cylinder turbo-diesels (the German marques do). If you want performance, Volvo does have some f-a-s-t EVs like the C40 Recharge which has 400 BHP on tap, but electric power isn't for everyone. Volvo has promised to go all-electric by 2030.

Even in terms of the overall driving experience, the ICE Volvos really don't match up to the competition. Then, there is just the one S90 for sedan lovers from Volvo in India. Otherwise, their model lineup is just SUVs & Crossovers. Because of the limited sales, the dealership network is smaller than the larger players.

While some enthusiasts do end up with Volvos, it is safe to say that BMW (especially) & Mercedes are more popular with petrolheads.

The rivalry in this segment is only intensifying with Mercedes & BMW strengthening their products, Audi offering superb value (e.g. Q7 at the price of a new GLC), mainstream brands moving upmarket (e.g. Ioniq 5, Kia EV6 & upcoming EV9) and the increasing ambitions of Range Rover, Lexus etc.

So, do you consider brand Volvo to be on par with Audi, BMW and Mercedes? Do share your thoughts.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

News

Volvo to sell a majority of its stake in Polestar

Polestar will continue receiving funding and operational support from Geely.

According to media reports, Volvo has announced plans to sell 62.7% of its stake in Polestar. If the proposed plan goes ahead, Volvo's total stake in the EV maker will reduce to 18%, while its parent company, Geely, will own a majority stake of 78.7%.

In addition to selling off its stake, Volvo also announced that it would cut off its funding to Polestar, citing that the "company is well-positioned for growth."

Jim Rowan, CEO, Volvo Cars, stated, "As we embark on the next stage of our transformation, gearing up to lead in next-gen mobility, our focus sharpens on Volvo Cars’ development."

Polestar, however, will continue receiving funding and operational support from Geely. Rowan stated, "Volvo Cars will not provide further funding to Polestar." He further added, "With Polestar’s strengthened business plan, the launch of Polestar 3 and Polestar 4, and Geely’s commitment and support, the company is well positioned for growth."

Source: Electrek

News

Volvo EX90 gets a nice 'Will it fit?" diagram in the boot

The diagram indicates the width, height and depth of cargo space available across various seating configurations,

Carmakers often place nifty easter eggs all around their cars, be it on the interior plastic components or on the windshields. However, Volvo seems to have taken it a step further with a diagram that genuinely provides helpful information.

The 2024 Volvo EX90, the brand's flagship 7-seater electric SUV, features an embossed plastic moulding, which outlines how much space is available in the back. The diagram indicates the width, height and depth of cargo space available across various seating configurations, while also clearly mentioning what will fit and what won't.

The top part of the diagram mentions the cargo space available. As per the diagram, the EX90 has 15 inches of storage space with all three rows in their upright position. This storage space increases to 47.2 inches and 74.8 inches after folding down the third and second rows, respectively. The diagram also measures the rear hatch as being 44.5 inches wide and 30.7 inches high from the ground.

The bottom part has a "Will it fit?" section, which shows all the items that could be stored in the car. This includes something as small as a flower pot to a refrigerator, with skis, scuba gear and a washing machine in between.

Source: TheDrive

News

Fast, reliable & VFM car under 80 lakh to replace my 9-yr-old BMW 328i

The vehicles, including EVs, I have explored so far include the Mercedes GLA 35 AMG, Volvo C40, Kia EV6, Hyundai Ioniq 5, BMW i4 and M340i.

BHPian nmn.070 recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Hello everyone!

Background

I have been a car enthusiast since my father got a Standard 2000 home. A black beauty which was our pride and joy. Fast forward a couple of decades and I got the chance to buy my very first car at the University. Found a stunning 2008 Mazda RX8. The rotary engine and the sportscar agility were leagues ahead of anything I had experienced until then. I kept it for 3 years before I returned home.

I again started looking for a car in 2014 after spending a few years just using available cars in the family out of which the Duster and dad's Laura stood out. These cars were good but something about a RWD setup that is fascinating. FWD is just wrong in feel, regardless of the power output. Imagine if someone pulled you on a swing instead of pushing you.

Cutting short, I narrowed down to the F30 328i after some deliberation. It is the ideal car for a young enthusiast and I was lucky to be in a position to get one. The only one registered in my diesel-dominated state. RWD, red color, M performance accessories, BMW quality. It was perfect. The car still serves me after 9 long years. It's been a joy and I have taken it places even a Creta would not dare tread. Now I wish to replace the car with another.

Requirements

• Rear Wheel Drive - I want a RWD or rear-biased AWD setup only. Call it a bug in my head but I can't have it another way.
  • Reliable - I like dependability. The BMW was surprisingly good on this front. Father owned a Jaguar XF which was the complete opposite, so no JLR ever for me. This factor makes me curious about electric options because of fewer parts and general reliability.
  • Fast - I am spoilt by the RX8 and 328i experiences. Although I drive sedately 90% of the time, knowing that I can make an overtake whenever I want is something that is desirable.
  • Value for money - not everything expensive is overpriced. My budget is loosely defined. Anywhere from 40L OTR to 80L OTR. But I do not wish to overpay for the vehicle I get.

Usage will be mostly in the city. Occasional jaunts from Jaipur to Delhi. Should fit a family of 4.

The above list is also my criteria in order of preference. The cars I have explored so far are mentioned below with their perceived pros and cons:

Options

• BMW M340i - RWD biased AWD, fast, and value for money. However, reliability and dependability are still unknowns in the long run.
  • Hyundai Ioniq 5 - RWD, value for money. But not fast enough.
  • Kia EV6 AWD - RWD biased AWD, fast but not VFM after knowing the price of its sister Ioniq 5.
  • Volvo C40 - RWD biased AWD, fast, reliable brand. VFM is something I'm not sure of as it is based on a much older platform than the Korean twins. EX30 around the corner.
  • Mercedes GLA 35 AMG - fast but not RWD and VFM I guess.
  • BMW i4 - RWD, fast, VFM considering the brand but not available for now.

Please suggest anything I'm missing out on. I feel EV will allow me to hold the car longer as I generally keep them for 5+ years with a low cost of ownership. Range is not a big concern beyond 300kms real world. I'm ambivalent about sedan vs crossover. I saw another thread on someone going ahead with the Volvo C40 in a similar predicament. All the help is much appreciated.

Here's what BHPian iliketurtles had to say about the matter:

Hi there. I appreciate the quandary you're in, it's one I'm sure quite a few have on this forum and beyond, with most going for the M340i.

My advice to you would be to try and get an extended test drive of the 340i, and see how it handles the wonderfully rutted and pockmarked roads of your area. Those tyres (especially runflats) can easily give way thanks to the low profile nature of it, and the ground clearance isn't much to write home about either, which becomes maybe even more of a concern with 4 aboard.

Those factors, plus (IMO) the sub-par sound system (compare it to the Burmester in the A and C Class) and questionable interior quality (feel the interior plastics below your waistline, in the door bins etc.) should make you question if you really want to spend 80 big ones on it. That engine is unmatched at that price, but walk in with eyes wide open. If that amazing engine blinds you to its faults, so be it.

From your shortlist, I would knock off the Ioniq 5, for the same reasons you mentioned. However, I would persist with checking out the EV6. It has a very well-balanced ride and handling for what it is (a proper 5-seater family crossover/wagon), with ride quality I would put at par with a 5 series. The issues with the EV6 are similar to the ones on the 340i; poor interior quality for the price point, and a mediocre sound system. But it rides beautifully compared to the 340i and is properly fast.

I would also eliminate the Volvos from your list. Being fast does not equal fun, the C40 is tuned for families, not thrill seekers. I would also encourage you to travel with 4 in the car and check it out, that sloping rear roof could be problematic for rear passengers on long drives.

Above all, I would highly encourage you to revisit the GLA35. It's not VFM for sure, but it honestly is fun and fast, with superb interiors and a fantastic sound system. Take a test drive and keep an eye on these two factors, you'd be surprised how much better it is than anything else at its price point. Put a downpipe and a stage 2 tune on it, and this baby will be rocking some 350+ BHP and will drive like it's on rails thanks to the AWD system.

There aren't many options you've overlooked in the brand-new car market, honestly. Maybe the C300d? But I'd ignore it given the uncertainty around diesels, even though it has great interiors, rides well, and is nice to drive.

In summary, I'd rejig your shortlist to a three-car list:

• The GLA35 (well-rounded car for Indian conditions)
  • The M340i (The best performer of the three, with some fatal flaws)
  • The Kia EV6 (Excellent EV that stops short of true greatness)

Happy hunting.

Here's what BHPian dealer had to say about the matter:

I’ve had a garage similar to yours with a tuned 320i that I let go a couple of months ago and now am using an XC40 Recharge as a daily driver in Jaipur.

The XC40 is great but not for 4 adults on a long journey. I would stay away from the i4 as the low ground clearance is a constant bother in my opinion. GLA 35 and the M340i should be your top choices but the acceleration of the XC40 after one test drive will spoil most cars for you.

Here's what BHPian sandeepmohan had to say about the matter:

With the budget you have, you should be adding a couple more cars to the list.

• Mercedes Benz E Class
  • Audi A6

The E Class will blow the BMW away when it comes to the interior and ride (Yes, it does sit a segment higher)

The Audi A6 is pure Elegance.

The above two are unlikely to be anywhere near as fast as the M340i. That said, 0-100 dash in just over 6 seconds is decent. Pottering around in the city, I doubt you'll be able to tell the difference.

Personally, I find the M340i's springs a bit edgy for day-to-day use. Flat out on the highway is where this car belongs.

As a few have already said, an EV should be on top of your list.

News

Rented an XC40 Recharge using the Volvo on Demand service

This car comes with the Android OS, and I believe that's why there is only Apple CarPlay available.

BHPian swe.desi recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Volvo On Demand - XC40 Recharge

Here are some photos I took when I rented out the XC40 EV.

The XC40 EV waiting at the On Demand reserved parking spot. (The PHEV XC40 is standing in the neighboring spot, and that was the first car I had rented in Sweden).

The interiors for my ride were in a dark shade, just like the winter days here. The seat was electronically adjustable, with under-thigh support. There was a huge panoramic sunroof which I did not photograph since I was quite focused on driving. I'm sure you understand.

The cabin was clean.

Crisp, minimalist dashboard.

Driver's view.

Well stitched together 360-degree camera.

Home screen.

Climate control screen. Quite fiddly to use on the move.

The app screen. This car comes with the Android OS, and I believe that's why there is only Apple CarPlay available. The integrated Google Maps was perfectly fine to use. Bluetooth pairing was nice and quick. To install new apps would mean logging in with a Google account.

96% state of charge at the end of a 15 KM drive.

Charging port and indicator lights.

Charging status is displayed even when the car is locked. There was also an indicator ring around the edges of the digital gauge cluster.

My experience up till now

My experience with using the service has been quite good, though I do concede I have only rented out twice.

Preliminary thoughts

• The app is great to use, the app user experience is superb
  • Information is easy to find, lots of help documentation within the app itself
  • Cars have been clean and in good driving condition

That's all, folks!

Hope you enjoyed the first series of posts. There will be more down the line as I intend to use this thread as a journal of sorts.

News

Random chat message turned into a lovely car meet of like-minded people

The agenda was simple - eat good food, go for a drive, come back to the stay and chill by the beach.

BHPian SRISRI_90 recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Prologue

It was in April 2022 that I got my Team Bhp membership approved. I was so excited that I went on talking about it to anyone and everyone. At around the same time, I joined a WhatsApp group of Bangalore-based Team BHPians. After the initial Introductions, I got in with the flow of the group and absolutely loved the fun discussions and debates.

Conception & Planning

Somewhere in early 2023, an idea of having a physical meet was floated, so that Bhpians could get to know each other in person.

As with any group, coming to a consensus is the biggest hurdle. With all the prevailing confusion as to where and when the trip would happen, Bhpian @mohansrides put his foot down and suggested that a monsoon meet should be planned and the location would be coastal Karnataka, particularly Mangalore/Udupi, as these places come alive during rains.

The tentative dates were proposed as the 3rd or 4th week of July.

In stark contrast to the “Monsoon Drive 2023” where there was a huge queue of people wanting to sign up for the meet, our meet plan had members dropping out left, right and center, we were left begging them to make it to the meet.

After a lot of back-and-forth negotiations among members, July 28th, 29th, and 30th were decided as the days of the meet. Local Members @Thirugata & and I were appointed as the organizers of the meet. With our friendly neighbourhood Bhpian from Manipal @samaspire pitching in with recommendations for stay and food options.

The meeting location and the stay for the next 2 days were finalized as Boloor’s Sea La Vie. A place very close to Sasihitlu beach on the outskirts of Mangalore. It is a beachside penthouse with a big open terrace facing the sea on the front side and a river at the back.

Final schedule

• Day 1 (28th July): Arrival of attendees to meet location.
  • Day 2 (29th July): Arrival of remaining Members, followed by Scenic Drive to Lunch location and back.
  • Day 3 (30th July): Check out and drive to Bhpian @Thirugaatas house for Breakfast and disperse back to respective homes.

Out of the 45 members in our group, the final headcount for this meet was a 'Grand' total of 7 Members (Including 3 Localites)

Final List of attendees

• @Malyaj from Bangalore – Arrived by train to Mangalore.
  • @prkiran from Bangalore- Bravely drove his Jeep Compass, despite Landslides in Ghats.
  • @Mohansrides from Mumbai – Drove his Honda BRV 900+ km solo to Mangalore.
  • @vamsi.kona from Hyderabad – Arrived by flight to Mangalore.
  • @thirugata from Surathkal.
  • @samaspire from Manipal.
  • @srisri_90 from Mangalore.

Notable mention of Bhpians who wanted to attend but dropped out due to various reasons @nikhilb2008, @reignofchaos, @arun_josie, @hserus.

A thought came up of inviting local Bhpians from in and around Mangalore for the meet, but with such a short schedule, we would not do justice to the meet, as we barely had enough time to get to know each other.

On the suggestion of @mohansrides, all members of this meet installed an app called Life360, so that we could track each other’s progress during the entire duration of the trip.

The Meet - DAY – 1 (July 28th)

The thought of hosting my First Team bhp meet was very exciting and I could not wait to meet my fellow Bhpians.

There was a problem though. The 28th of July arrived, but the Monsoon did not. For the entire duration of the meet, Coastal KA barely received any rain. Maybe it did not want to “dampen” our spirits.

The first to arrive was Malyaj, and I drove to the Mangalore Junction Railway station to pick him up. He quipped that he would not return the favour even if I asked for a pick up from the Bangalore railway station. He avoided the drive to Mangalore as he wanted to try the Vista Dome Train via the Western Ghats.

First things first, took him to Hotel Janata Deluxe to relish some Local Delicacies like ‘Goli baje,’ and ‘Thuppa Dosa.’ Washed it all down with a cup of coffee and off we went to the meet location.

Next to arrive was @thirugata, who lives close by.

We three spent the next hour watching the beautiful sunset at the Sasihitlu beach and discussing topics about anything and everything.

As it got darker, we checked into the place of stay, right across the road from the beach. And we awaited the arrival of @Mohansrides, who was driving solo from Kolhapur, having left Mumbai the previous afternoon.

We wrapped up the first day of the meet with a drive back to Mangalore city for dinner at a famous watering hole on the NH 66 aptly named “Route 66”.

Well, that was the end of the day for me, But the rest Moved to @thirugaata ‘s house for a cup of coffee around midnight and later moved to the place of stay.

DAY – 2 (July 29th)

The day when all members would finally meet.

@vamsi.kona arrived on an early morning flight from Hyderabad. @prkiran started from Bangalore at 4 AM and was driving his Jeep Compass. Work kept me busy at the office and I could only join the rest at 1 PM.

By then all of them had done with their formal introductions and were chit-chatting like old college friends, @samaspire would join us later at Lunch.

Lovely view of the Sea and our Steeds from the penthouse balcony.

Rare moment when other members were listening to me

The agenda for the day was simple: Eat good food, go for a drive, come back to the stay and chill by the beach. Must say we stuck to the agenda completely.

The location for lunch was decided by me as The Estate Resort. They have a lovely restaurant, aptly named ‘The Panorama’ with a beautiful view of the surrounding Hills.

We decided to carpool for this drive and it was just Kiran's Jeep Compass and my Volvo. We had a sumptuous lunch and a nice discussion regarding Team Bhp, it's past and the way forward.

The meal was interrupted by the arrival of Superstar @samaspire, as he walked in with sunglasses on and his neatly kept ponytail Hairdo.

From Left to Right - SRISRI_90, vamsi.kona, Mohansrides, thirugaata, samaspire, prkiran, Malyaj.

After lunch, the group members requested a short drive on good scenic roads. So we decided to drive to Parashurama Theme Park at Karkala, a monument of a local legend, built on a hilltop offering beautiful views of the surroundings. On a clear day, you could even see the Kudremukh mountains from here.

Unfortunately, the monument was closed for maintenance. We decided to have a small photoshoot with the Hill and the monument in the backdrop.

Despite not being able to visit the top to see the view, all members were in high spirits (no, not what you’re thinking), as the road to the location was wide and curvy, just what the members wanted. We had a blast driving on these roads.

With the sun setting, we decided to head to our stay location by the beach to enjoy views of the calm sea and watch the beautiful sunset. We had a quick drive back to Sasihitlu Beach and arrived well in time to watch the sunset.

A few members pulled out their fancy cameras and started clicking photos of other members and the beach. The golden hour made everything look beautiful.

We spent the next couple of hours by the beach talking about cars, life and a whole lot of Philosophy.

By 8 Pm we were back in our rooftop penthouse continuing our discussions. The cool breeze and the nice view meant that none were ready to drive out for dinner.

Before we knew it was midnight and the end of Day 2. Me, @thirugata & @samaspire left back to our respective homes, while the rest continued their party and crashed into their rooms much later.

Day – 3 (July 30th)

The agenda for the day was simple. Wake up, get ready, head to @thirugata house for breakfast, and disperse back to respective homes. Thanks to a late end to Day 2, Day 3 began late.

I was the first to arrive at his house at 10:30 AM. Bhpian @Samaspire informed us that he could not make it as he was busy with family commitments. The rest of them arrived by 11 AM.

Bhpian @thirugata and his lovely wife Susham had arranged for an amazing breakfast Feast at their house. The Spread included all the local breakfast specials like Neerdosa, Biscuit Rotti, Mangalore Buns, Pathrode, Sajjige – Bajil. It even included some sweets like Banana Halwa, Ladoo etc. We wound up the breakfast with a cup of Strong Filter Kaapi.

Me & @thirugata were busy explaining the various dishes to other members, and they were busy finishing up their plates. It was nearly 12:30 PM by the time we were all done with our Heavy Breakfast. The last hour was spent making travel plans for their return journey and deciding on the best routes to take. And before we knew it, it was time to say goodbyes.

By 1:30 PM all members had started their return journeys and I was the last to sign off from @thirugata’s house.

Epilogue

What started as a random comment in our WhatsApp group for a meet, ended with a beautiful 3 days spent with like-minded Bhpians and a whole lot of fun.

My measure of how close people are, is by the way I eat in front of them. With strangers, I eat very civilly and with manners. But with this group, I felt like it was an old college meet. I was eating without giving a thought as to what others were thinking.

And that for me sums up this whole meet, even though it was the first time meeting them, there were no Inhibitions at all. It was such a lovely time spent together, felt like we all knew each other for a very long time.

Eagerly looking forward to our next year's meet!

News

MSRTC electrifies 70% of Mumbai-Pune bus fleet

MSRTC might electrify 100% of the buses on this route by Diwali.

The Maharashtra State Road Transport Corporation (MSRTC) is slowly replacing diesel buses running on the Mumbai-Pune route with all-electric e-Shivneri buses. Out of the 100 buses plying on this popular route, only 30 diesel buses remain.

MSRTC aims to phase out diesel buses completely on this route in a few months. Reports suggest that MSRTC might electrify 100% of the buses on this route by Diwali.

According to Shekhar Channe, MD, MSRTC, the e-buses currently plying on this route are already generating profits. "Our lease rent to the private operator on wet lease is around Rs 57 per km, while our earning is Rs 70 per km, which has helped us make some profits," he said.

MSRTC has been operating diesel-powered Volvo and Scania buses on the Dadar-Pune, Thane-Pune and Borivali-Pune routes.

Source: ET Auto

News

Is Volvo overpricing its SUVs in India when compared to its sedans

There are various trims on the above models which affect the pricing however, there cannot be such a humongous difference in their price positioning in the US and in India.

BHPian adasisthefuture recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

On a detailed analysis of Volvo's pricing of the vehicles it is selling in India with that of the U.S. market, it appears that Volvo has overpriced its SUVs in India compared to the Sedans.

The above can be verified by the price range in which Volvo has put its different vehicles in the US market compared to Indian Market. Volvo's prices can be verified on the following links:

Volvo sells three ranges of cars in India - the 40 Series, the 60 Series and the Flagship 90 series. Its SUV lineup begins with 'XC' and the sedans begin with 'S'

In India, Volvo sells XC40 at 46,40,000/- ex-showroom. Just before it was discontinued, Volvo's S60 sedan was also priced similarly at 45,90,000/-. It is pertinent to note here that in the US, the MSRP of XC40 is $36,350 while that of the S60 is $41300 i.e. the S60 is costlier by $5000 in the US while in India there is hardly any difference.

Further, in India, the price of Volvo's Flagship sedan S90 and that of Volvo's mid-range SUV - the XC60 (not a flagship) is quite similar i.e. 67,90,000/- for the S90 and 67,50,000/- for the XC60. Contrary to this, in the US, MSRP of the S90 Sedan starts at $57,000 while that of the mid-range XC60 SUV is only $43,450 i.e. a difference of a whopping $14000 between the two. Interestingly, the S60 Sedan and the XC60 SUV are priced very similarly in the US while Volvo has highly overpriced the XC60 SUV in India by bringing its ex-showroom price almost at an equal level (only Rs.50,000/- less) to their Flagship Sedan- the S90.

Further, the MSRP of Volvo's Flagship SUV - the XC90 starts at $56000 (shockingly $1000 cheaper than the Flagship Sedan S90) while the difference in pricing between the two flagships in India is a whopping Rs.30 Lacs (XC90's ex-showroom price in India is 98,50,000/- while that of S90 is 67,90,000).

Of course, there are various trims on the above models which affect the pricing however, under no circumstances there can be such a humongous difference in their price positioning in the US and in India. It is also pertinent to note that none of the models I have analyzed above is a CBU so as to justify that one model is costlier in India due to taxes levied being fully imported while the other is a CKD and so on.

From the above analysis, it appears that looking at the craze of SUVs in India, Volvo has overpriced its SUV range highly in India compared to the Sedans which are not in fashion these days. However, if that is the case, it is certainly highly unethical for a reputed Company like Volvo to do so.

I would request learned members in this forum to share their views on the reasons for such disparity in pricing of the different models and in case it is concluded that Volvo is really overpricing its SUV range in India, whether it is prudent for Indian car buyers to buy the SUV range of Volvo at a premium of 20 to 30 lacs rupees and whether going for a Volvo Sedan priced fairly makes more sense.

I have not found any discussion on this issue, subject to correction, anywhere on the internet and therefore I am posting it in this forum for consideration of learned members of this esteemed forum.

Here's what BHPian V.Narayan had to say on the matter:

Permit me to offer a counter point of view here.

Too often I hear this lament on Team BHP of a car being over priced. Over priced compared to what - usually compared to our pockets and the mismatch between our desire and our financial ability. This mentality of overpriced is a hangover from our license raj-socialist days where the bureaucrats wanted to control what we produced, how much we produced and what price we sold it for but took no ownership of the fact that as a consequence companies went sick and the economy failed to grow in a healthy fashion.

USA and India are two different markets with differing tax structures, distribution costs and overheads and most importantly volumes. It is only natural that a seller will try and place a premium price on a hot selling product and a discount on the slower selling one. That is how markets work and OEMs/Entrepreneurs make it worth their while to even stay in business.

A seller is free to sell at a price he/she wishes to. A buyer is free to buy at a price point that he/she wishes to. When the two sets intersect a deal occurs. I wish to holiday in Oberoi's Udai Vilas property but cannot afford the price so I announce it is overpriced!!! That is what happens often on Team BHP.

Overpriced is a notion always relative to our pockets. But there is some buyer out there for whom the price is okay and that is why the product sells.

Here's what GTO had to say on the matter:

Make money on what sells & try to competitively price the ones that don't sell. A handful of cars in India are sold at near cost just for presence and / or market-share.

I usually agree with your posts, V.Narayan, but you missed the point here.

OP is stating that the % difference between Volvo SUVs (USA and India) is far greater than the % difference for its sedans (USA and India).

Affordability has absolutely nothing to do with comments on Team-BHP that call a product "overpriced". I can buy the C5 Aircross, but still insist that it's a grossly overpriced product (seems the market agrees with me too). I could also buy other cars like the Mobilio, Meridian, Kushaq 1.5 etc. but have called them out for being overpriced. Seems the market has agreed with me on all of these too.

You are mixing up what one can afford, with what one deems overpriced.

Here's what BHPian Hayek had to say on the matter:

Comparing car models sold in different markets is a mug’s game - for India vs the US, the emission norms, power trains on offer, interior trims, other features that you can option elsewhere and taxes vary widely. Ultimately, any manufacturer charges what the market will bear, and price relative to competition. So prices for even identical products can be very different - and comparing prices between the entry level variant of a car in the US with the trim sold in India makes even less sense.

On the premium for a SUV vs a Sedan of similar size, that is a call for you to take. I happily bought an X3 for roughly the same price as a 5 series, because I valued the higher ground clearance, high seating, the greater knee room and better boot space in the X3 - a friend who was buying at the same time bought the 5 series since he valued under-thigh support and the more comfortable rear seat of the 5 vs the narrower squab of the X3. Drive both and decide based on options available to you, don’t waste your energy on what a car sells for anywhere else in the world.

Here's what BHPian androdev had to say on the matter:

Your observation is correct and it's a great method to understand which offering is VFM in our country. Indian customers are willing to pay a huge premium for ground clearance (SUV), fuel economy (diesel, disrupted by recent regulatory risks) and reliability(Toyota), etc. and most companies tweak their prices to take advantage of these market preferences.

You can't blame a company for their pricing strategy or call it unethical. Why are you expecting them to sell with a consistent "cost + fixed margin" formula across markets and segments? Apple sells their watch products at a price similar to their entry level laptops - just incredible, but they are able to sell and people are buying.

My suggestion is to use this global price benchmarking info to find a VFM product and see if your requirements are met by any of these VFM products. Many people bought Hyundai Ioniq because it's seen as VFM in India when compared to other markets. No point complaining that Fortuner is not VFM in India if that's the only car you want to buy.

Here' what BHPian avira_tk had to say on the matter:

I think we're going overboard comparing prices in the US, the biggest market, versus a rounding error place like India. People aren't paying for any sedans here and the market is dying, while any suv is at a premium. No company should pass up a profitable sale, that's the only ethical thing to do.

The XC series is expensive because it's desirable. If I was shopping for a luxury suv the XC60 would be on top of my consideration list, at the same time, if I was planning on a sedan, the S60 / S90 won't be in consideration. Volvo has figured this out and charges accordingly.

The US also has a system of dealer makeups, so list price can be jacked up by 200% without any restrictions. The average selling price is what matters, not the bait pricing used for generating footfall.

Here's what BHPian ABHI_1512 had to say on the matter:

Don’t know about Volvo, but there are many examples of cars being overpriced in India. Some tanked without a trace and some continue to be successful.

Cars like Ford Fiesta, Toyota Yaaris come to the mind immediately when discussing cars which were overpriced and which flopped despite being competent products. People rejected those cars not because they couldn’t afford them but simply because they didn’t find the money’s worth when other manufacturers were providing better.

Some cars like Toyota Fortuner or a Jeep Compass are overpriced now but their manufacturers know that they can get away with it since there is not much competition or options in those particular segments. Jeep though has got cars in the segment of Compass now and that has resulted in sales being affected.

A classic case which the members might recall is the reduction in prices of Ford Ecosport as soon as the launch of Suzuki Brezza was announced. Ford reduced the prices to the tune of 1 lac which proved that they were just minting money from the segment first car. Manufactures will price their cars according to their fancy, but to not question the overpriced cars and to attribute it to affordability is something I don’t agree with.

GTO has right pointed out the same in the post above.

News

Have a purchase budget of 40-65 lakh: What are my SUV options

I would like to take out the car for a spin on the highways or for a weekend drive with my wife and maybe a couple of other friends.

BHPian Adsc0230 recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Hello,I am on the lookout to buy a new mid-size/compact SUV. It would be a single driver's car with mostly driven by me. I have been driving for the last 30 years or so and I have driven in several countries in Europe, in NZ, in USA, UK etc.

My driving requirement is for 70-80% in the city (Bangalore) and once in 3-4 months I would like to take out the car for a spin on the highways or for a weekend drive with my wife and maybe a couple of other friends. My annual commute is not expected to be more than 5-6k Kms - as such I am not too worried about mileage. Diesel cars although are fun and peppy to drive seem to be out given the uncertainty ahead and with my not-so-high driving needs - have heard DPF issues if car is not driven for a long period of time.

My budget (on-road price): 40L but can stretch till 60-65L for the right car.

My overall criteria:

• Safe (G or Euro NCAP 5* rated) - solid build quality
  • Fun and peppy to drive
  • Stylish and modern looking - can sustain for the next
  • Decent ground clearance (to avoid some of the nasty potholes and speed bumps on city roads.)
  • Comfortable on long rides for driver and passengers aka good back-seat space for seating, leg and thigh
  • Basic newer technologies - Auto-Hold (for assist during stop-go traffic), 360-degree parking sensors, cameras (best if 360-degree or else front and back) - these help during turns and during parking in tight areas.
  • Availability should be in the next 2-3 months max
  • No known surprises/challenges during maintenance

My short-listed cars (in no particular order):

Audi Q3 Sportback S-Line 2L 4WD Petrol:

• 2L 4cyl Powerful and Torquey engine
  • Coupe design and exterior features better than standard Q3
  • Solid build quality
  • Interiors look dated compared to its rivals

Mahindra XUV700 automatic AX7L 2 L petrol:

• Solid build quality
  • Modern-ish Interiors
  • Powerful Petrol engine
  • Missing 4WD in Petrol
  • 8 to 9 months of waiting time
  • Miss the feel of sitting in a Premium Luxury car

BMW X1 Petrol 1.5L 2WD Petrol:

• Great modern interiors
  • New BMW Infotainment screen and iDrive8 system
  • Look and feel inside the care is Premium
  • Relatively poor 1.5L engine that too with 3cyl

Volvo XC40 Petrol:

• Top in class for Safety and build quality
  • Driving dynamics work work
  • Poor Back seat
  • Infotainment cluster seems dated

Other option that I am thinking is to wait it out for the following potential cars in 2024:

• Skoda Octavia vRS - could be launched as a mild hybrid
  • Skoda Superb - could be launched as a mild hybrid - not a SUV but is like a cross-over-ish Sedan cum SUV like feel.
  • Other cars that I liked but are out of my budget:
  • BMW M340i - even though it's a sedan it's a dream car
  • BMW 330Li - The long wheel base version of the 330i has made this out of the range of the 60L buyers.
  • Mercedes GLC (new one to arrive soon)

I am also feeling a bit of YOLO and before the jump to electric cars becomes the natural choice in the future, I'd like to go for my last Petrol ICE buy. I tend to keep my cars for at least 8-10 years and I am not too comfortable with pre-owned cars.

I would appreciate the thoughts and guidance from this community to help me make the right choice or at least get closer as it is super-confusing right now.

Here's what BHPian aseem23 had to say on the matter:

Volvo XC40 is a perfect car. Besides this, you can also take a look at the Audi Q5. I heard Audi is offering some discounts on the Q5. Maybe you get lucky. .
It is also worth waiting for the upcoming GLC; I think it is launching this month. I don't think it should cross 65Lakhs on road price, but I could be wrong, seeing the car prices skyrocketing.

Also, what about Skoda Kodiaq?? Do take the test drive if possible.

BHPian bijims replied:

The Q5 costs 78 lakhs on-road Bangalore before discounts and the GLC will cost similarly as well, the Kodiaq lacks the snob value of the Germans. In a market where anything above 35 lakhs and you get diminishing value, it's hard to find a worthy car under 65 lakhs. The options recommended by the OP are indeed the ones worth checking out.

BHPian Adsc0230 replied:

Thank you for the suggestions. The XC40 is in my shortlist and it's a great car to drive both in the city and on highways.

Unfortunately, the Audi Q5 and Merc GLC are beyond my budget. Haven't test driven those.

I did test drive the Skoda Kodiaq - it's a excellent car to drive but its interiors feel dated and didn't impress me and moreover it comes to around 50L+ on road. Somehow when I compare it with the Audi Q3 Sportback, it gets a similar 2L engine with DSG but with an Audi tag and with Quattro drive for a slight uptick. That's when the Kodiaq starts feeling not so Value for money compared to the Q3. My main usage will be driving within the city as a daily driver and for occasional weekend trips. The Kodiaq seems to be larger car in dimensions too for my usage.

Here's what BHPian Sanidhya mukund had to say on the matter:

The 40-70 lakh SUV segment is extremely crowded, but it seems to be almost impossible to pick the right car. Like you, I am also not open to diesels thanks to NGT and DPF issues, which effectively eliminates half the cars. If you are keen on getting a ‘badge’, then your choices are pretty limited.

I found the rear seat backrest of the Volvo XC40 to be quite upright. Also didn’t like the Merc GLA, which doesn’t seem to have anything other than the badge going for it. The Audi Q3 is nice, but feels a little too VW on the inside. The Premium-Plus model misses out on some very basic features- doesn’t even have push-button start! The 7-10 lakh premium over the VW Tiguan doesn’t seem justified.
BMW X1 is fresh and modern, with the only chink in the armour being the 3 cylinder engine. I haven’t driven one yet, so cannot comment, but going by what I’ve read, it is not particularly slow. It does 0-100 in under 10 seconds. Should be alright for most people.

If you move one segment higher, the current Merc GLC can no longer be had, unless your local dealer is disposing of demo vehicles/unsold stock. The new one is expected to be uncomfortably close to 80 lakhs when launched. The BMW X3 is now a diesel only model in India. The GLB, though priced in this segment, simply doesn’t feel premium enough for the price, with that 1.3 litre Renault engine and those creaky A-class interiors. The Audi Q5 is heavily discounted, but then a model-change is due soon. Volvo XC60 is nice too, but a shade too expensive. Same with the Lexus NX. However, if you are open to pre-owned, one of these cars may be a good choice for 60-65.

If you are not particular on the badge part, then the VW Tiguan, Hyundai Tucson, Toyota Innova Hycross and Mahindra XUV700 can also be considered. Good cars that can give luxury cars a run for their money.

News

KSRTC Ambari Utsav vs Dream Class on same route: Worth the extra money?

The roads between Bangalore & Udupi are horrible & I noticed a big difference in the ride quality of both buses.

BHPian maskebail recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I did Bangalore to Udupi in Ambari Utsav and back on the same route in Ambari Dream class and here are my observations comparing the two.

Note: On both journeys, I was on the 2nd row - upper berth - double seat.

• Ambari Utsav does look and feel premium.
  • The AC performance is better with multiple vents in Utsav; the vents in dream class get the job done, but the AC blower is very loud in Dream class. When the AC was turned on, it sounded like an aircraft ready to take off. The AC vent in both are the same - you can adjust the direction of the AC blow, but cannot adjust the speed. Both close on their own on a sudden jerk. I expected better vents on Utsav, at least with speed adjustments.
  • The cabin lights are bright in Utsav (for some reason there are 2 lights per seat, and both are almost equally bright). The lights in the bus are warm white in color and not very bright so when the bus stops for some stop, it does not wake you up. The lights in dream class were too bright in comparison.
  • The curtains were clean on both. The curtains in Utsav are on a channel track that keeps getting stuck everywhere and when the bus breaks suddenly, they slide off on their own. The curtain in dream class is on a rod that was far easy to move around.
  • The seats on both were clean and good. The seats in dream class did not have an extra cloth lining, but Utsav did have it. The length of both seats is almost comparable, but I found Utsav seats cramped (I am almost 6ft) due to the extra cushions for the backrest and headrest (with VOLVO badging). These cushions eat up almost 2 inches and I could not stretch my legs comfortably (I found the seat length of dream class good enough and usable).
  • The headrest and backrest were useless for me, the cabin is not tall enough to sit comfortably leaning on these cushions. I would have preferred not to have these cushions at all.
  • USB ports on Utsav and power sockets on dream class - both worked fine. I would have liked to have one of each on both though just for added convenience.

Ride quality

• Oddly this is where I saw a big difference. The roads between Bangalore and Udupi are horrible currently (Sakleshpura route) and both buses took the exact same route (Bangalore - Sakleshpura - Mangalore - Udupi and back). On the Utsav, I just could not sleep. I felt too much movement inside the cabin throughout the journey, especially after Sakleshpur. In comparison, I could sleep very well in Dream class, yes I did feel some movements around curves, but it was not as bad as what I felt on Utsav.
  • On Utsav, I felt almost every speed breaker, bad roads and curves/overtakes; on dream class, the ride was a lot more subtle/stable.

Note: The difference in ride comfort I observed may be due to differences in driver skill/the road may be better on one side of the route / etc. I am just pointing out my personal experience.

Conclusion

I always hated sleeper buses because of body movements(for this journey, I had to take these buses as wifey likes to travel in sleeper class). I just can't sleep when I feel the motion and so I avoided sleeper buses on this route all these years.

With the Utsav launch, I had very high expectations since this was launched as a luxury travel option. But I came out very disappointed with what I saw and observed. I honestly do not know why I would want to pay more for the Utsav class. I personally still like the Airavata fleet of buses as I feel they are far more comfortable (semi-sleeper) with well-sorted dynamics. (low center of gravity because there is no upper berth).

Between Dream class and Utsav, I would not recommend paying up for Utsav as you do not really get anything extra for the price.

Here's what BHPian binaiks had to say about the matter:

Was the Dream Class built by Prakash or MG? The Prakash ones are heavier and might have a slightly better ride quality compared to the Volvo-built Utsav.

Here's what BHPian vigsom had to say about the matter:

Very pointed observations there @maskebail. Thank You! I was always apprehensive about how the ride quality would be in the Mengaluru sector, and your posts confirmed my fears. When I spoke to the pilot at the depot, he did say that for them, this one rode better. But that might be on a regular highway.

Pages

A helmet will save your life