Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th September 2008, 14:56   #1441
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Red face

doesn't anyone miss the wake up timer feature in the panny pv80 plasmas blasting vh1 music at a preset time on my tv used to be my morning wake up call - the only thing that worked!!
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 14:23   #1442
Senior - BHPian
 
vnabhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DC -> DC
Posts: 5,262
Thanked: 1,232 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
doesn't anyone miss the wake up timer feature in the panny pv80 plasmas blasting vh1 music at a preset time on my tv used to be my morning wake up call - the only thing that worked!!
Yes, I do miss that feature! I used to use it to wake up my son for his studies.
But I found a solution: I shifted the Panny 29" CRT to his room and wake him up with a louder blast now
vnabhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 14:35   #1443
BHPian
 
thalavoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chennai
Posts: 389
Thanked: 62 Times
Default

May be a wrong thread, but when I checked Panasonic PV80D in the brand shop, there was a SC-PT465 home theater system, that sounded good (in a small room). Any opinions on this system? Thanks.
thalavoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 18:29   #1444
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
Yes, I do miss that feature! I used to use it to wake up my son for his studies.
But I found a solution: I shifted the Panny 29" CRT to his room and wake him up with a louder blast now
well I sold my old sony 42" 3lcd to my housemate and its still programmed for control on my universal remote, so perhaps when he is not watching, I could sneak near his room and put an alarm on the sony without even touching its remote Will reserve this for an emergency wake up call day, like a tbhp drive or something, as I reckon I can't do this everyday cos the way this works is I am going to be waking my housemate up with the sony before he gets p*ssed off and wakes me up
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 18:32   #1445
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 527
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Guys which model and make is best in 32", I want one for my bed room
sam003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 20:08   #1446
BHPian
 
sj_koova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 600
Thanked: 148 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thalavoy View Post
May be a wrong thread, but when I checked Panasonic PV80D in the brand shop, there was a SC-PT465 home theater system, that sounded good (in a small room). Any opinions on this system? Thanks.
I have a Panasonic SC-PT950 got from US. It is 1200 watts / 5 CD changer iPOD compatible etc.
I am really impressed with the sound and DVD picture quality.
Check if that part was made in Japan. Mine is a Japan make and I vouch for it quality and performance.
SC-PT465 seems to be 800 watts, but all other specs are similar.
What is the price?
sj_koova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008, 22:42   #1447
BHPian
 
car_crazy1400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DL/UP16/PB10
Posts: 524
Thanked: 173 Times
Default

Can any one suggest a good retailer for the Panasonic TH-42pv80D in Delhi?
By good , I mean one who can provide the best possible prices & decent service too?

Can some one also suggest the approximate prices going around for this nowadays?

Last edited by car_crazy1400 : 12th September 2008 at 22:45.
car_crazy1400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2008, 20:53   #1448
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Red face

fellow panny pv80d owners - is there a PIP (picture in picture) option in this model. I can't seem to find the same need to game and watch news at the same time
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2008, 23:10   #1449
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vijayawada
Posts: 221
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
fellow panny pv80d owners - is there a PIP (picture in picture) option in this model. I can't seem to find the same need to game and watch news at the same time
It is not there in this model. Can't do much.
vvrchandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2008, 23:20   #1450
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by vvrchandra View Post
It is not there in this model. Can't do much.
sometimes i think the televisions with great picture quality, always have some essential frills missing - wake up timer, pip. I can live without these but nice to have.
I have noticed over the years, if its frills you want go for LG, samsung, sansui, etc. Don't expect sony, panasonic, to have pic quality and frills at the same time. However I must admit that both wake up timer and pip were present in my sony 3lcd.
Anyways - its not a deal breaker, just a minor irritant I can live with given the awesome PQ the panny churns out cheers: this weekend I am going to enjoy as many blurays as possible (got plenty on US trip!!)

Last edited by jassi : 13th September 2008 at 23:21.
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 18:03   #1451
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vijayawada
Posts: 221
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
..I can live with given the awesome PQ the panny churns out cheers: this weekend I am going to enjoy as many blurays as possible (got plenty on US trip!!)
Jassi, Can you tell me the exact picture settings with which you have tuned your TV i.e contrast, brightness, color, etc. I believe you have set to Eco mode to activate CATS. But, can you tell me whether you are using the default Eco mode settings or have you adjusted any of the above. Can you also tell whether you have the same settings for both TV viewing and DVD/blue ray viewing? Thanks in advance.
vvrchandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 18:12   #1452
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by vvrchandra View Post
Jassi, Can you tell me the exact picture settings with which you have tuned your TV i.e contrast, brightness, color, etc. I believe you have set to Eco mode to activate CATS. But, can you tell me whether you are using the default Eco mode settings or have you adjusted any of the above. Can you also tell whether you have the same settings for both TV viewing and DVD/blue ray viewing? Thanks in advance.
Its in ECO and I don't think I have changed anything - but I do sometimes put it to dynamic (in daylight) when watching some dull colored movies.
In ECO - contrast, brightness, colour, sharpness are 50, tint is half way, colour temp is standard, ch colour set halfway, colour mgmt on and pnr is strong.
Are you facing any PQ issues ??
Hope that helps.
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 18:29   #1453
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Vijayawada
Posts: 221
Thanked: 66 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
..In ECO - contrast, brightness, colour, sharpness are 50, tint is half way, colour temp is standard, ch colour set halfway, colour mgmt on and pnr is strong..
Well, Just wanted to know. But, I guess in eco mode, the default settings are 80, 50, 50 ,50 in the order they appear. You might have adjusted the contrast setting to 50 . The default values of cinema mode are all 50. Once can adjust any of these settings in any mode and the settings will be saved automatically. For Std. mode, they are 60, 50, 50, 50 and for Dynamic mode they are 100, 50, 50, 50. Just wanted to know, what settings would be better for this set. I know each one has his oen preference.

Well, in my set while watching TV via Hathway set top box, some times, i get a static kind of sound from the speakers even in mute mode (audible only when near to the speakers). Also, some times, it appears that some horizontal moving bands from top to bottom appear while watching darker scenes and also in between when changing channels. These bands some times are irritating and some times they will be very negligible. These are not visible when brighter scenes are coming. I'm thinking whether is this related to some cable problem and some times I think of going to some DTH so that these do not appear. Any thoughts on this.
vvrchandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 18:42   #1454
v&v
Senior - BHPian
 
v&v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,538
Thanked: 1,068 Times
Default

apart from brands, do have a check list before buying an LCD
1. contrast ratio - higher the better
2. view angle - from sides - the wider the better - check the lcd view from standing side
3. Most important - size of your room , viewing distance - the larger the distance you can opt for larger lcd other wise i suggest check out 26" lcds. a 10 x 10 room 26" is more than enough.
4. quality of speaker - most of these lcds have bad speaker, you have to connect to a home theater speakers. which is good for watching movies otherwise daily viewing the good front speakers give better effect.

happy buying
v&v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2008, 18:59   #1455
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by vvrchandra View Post
Well, Just wanted to know. But, I guess in eco mode, the default settings are 80, 50, 50 ,50 in the order they appear. You might have adjusted the contrast setting to 50 . The default values of cinema mode are all 50.

Well, in my set while watching TV via Hathway set top box I'm thinking whether is this related to some cable problem and some times I think of going to some DTH so that these do not appear. Any thoughts on this.
I am on hathway set top box and have none of the problems that you said
Also I think i read somewhere all values should be 50 and hence did that for initial time. Changed it back to 80 now no need to go to dynamic mode for those low contrast movies
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Movies, Documentaries, games, etc to Showcase your hi-def plasma/lcd & HTS jassi Shifting gears 58 28th December 2010 19:11
Underglow Thread: Please post pics & info of underglow(neon/LED/etc.) kit on your car DIY Guru Modifications & Accessories 1 18th November 2010 03:08
LCD TV or (LCD montior+VGA Box) for Wii? ashwin489 Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 20th July 2009 14:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:06.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks