Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th July 2019, 08:41   #8941
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,527
Thanked: 400 Times
Default Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post
In your case, I would not change the board for 7k knowing the panel will need change anyway due to the lines.
The repair guy said I should be able carry on for a couple of years at least by changing the board only. And as of now, the lines are almost invisible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post
For this ability of repair rather than replace I prefer Sony tvs based on these two brands that I own.
If I had known this I would have bought Sony the first time around.
That said, we don't know if we can rely on Sony for this. They may be doing it now, but can change their policy next year. That's why I am planning a non-premium brand this time around - no LG/Sony/Samsung etc. LCD/LED TVs don't seem to be as reliable as the old CRTs even with the premium brands - so I feel it's not worth springing for a premium brand.

Last edited by carboy : 7th July 2019 at 09:08.
carboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2019, 16:44   #8942
BHPian
 
Ithaca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: MH 43 // MH 46
Posts: 251
Thanked: 470 Times
Default Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

I have a 3 year old 55 inch Sony Smart LED TV.
It is out of warranty.
A few days back vertical lines started coming up on the display from top to bottom as soon as it is started.
After a while it settles down and the picture is clear.
This happens every time it is started.
Service guy came, checked and said either the Tikom board or panel is gone.
They will first change the Tikom board, if that does not work, they will have to change the panel.
Today they called to inform that the panel will cost Rs 33,000.
Have asked them to give estimate for Tikom board too. They forgot to give this estimate.

Is it worth paying so much for a LED panel for a 3 year old tv.
Ithaca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2019, 16:55   #8943
BHPian
 
RiGOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 192
Thanked: 151 Times
Default Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ithaca View Post
Today they called to inform that the panel will cost Rs 33,000.

Is it worth paying so much for a LED panel for a 3 year old tv.
IMHO, No. For the price you can get a non-premium Smart LED TV like Mi or VU.
RiGOD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2019, 17:29   #8944
Senior - BHPian
 
tanwaramit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dilwalon ki Dilli
Posts: 1,899
Thanked: 397 Times
Default Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Safety is Param View Post
Next, open the installed JioTV app and your credentials should show up cached.

I hope this works for you. Thanks.
Is your Jio TV app working fine as of now ?

Mine has stopped for past 10 days. I have been using it for months and was working flawlessly.

The screenshot of the error I have been getting.
Attached Thumbnails
The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.-img_20190707_213845.jpg  


Last edited by tanwaramit : 16th July 2019 at 17:32.
tanwaramit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2019, 17:34   #8945
Distinguished - BHPian
 
saket77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ranchi
Posts: 3,683
Thanked: 6,782 Times
Default Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tanwaramit View Post
Is your Jio TV app working fine now ?

Mine has stopped for past 10 days. I have been using it for months and was working flawlessly.

The screenshot of the error I have been getting.
Have you changed the password of your Jio account?

Also, unfortunately I was not able to change the credentials through the APK Editor, though SafetyisParam gave the instructions in as much detail as possible. I think I may have goofed up somewhere.
saket77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2019, 18:03   #8946
Senior - BHPian
 
tanwaramit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dilwalon ki Dilli
Posts: 1,899
Thanked: 397 Times
Default Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
Have you changed the password of your Jio account?

Also, unfortunately I was not able to change the credentials through the APK Editor, though SafetyisParam gave the instructions in as much detail as possible. I think I may have goofed up somewhere.
You don't need to change your password, I had edited the APK with my credentials and saved it so that I don't have to manually add it everytime I start the JioTV app on my TV.

Try this -

Lots of videos available on youtube for that. Is it working on your TV with your login credentials (manually entered)?

I am not able to login for past few days now.

There is an update on forums also that its supposedly blocked by Jio as Jiofiber is getting launched soon.

https://dreamdth.com/threads/jio-tv-...108361/page-14

JioTV for Android TV APK was a hack and wasn't released by Jio.

Edit: I am on JioGigaFiber, its not working on JioFiber as well.

Last edited by tanwaramit : 16th July 2019 at 18:24.
tanwaramit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2019, 19:22   #8947
BHPian
 
Ithaca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: MH 43 // MH 46
Posts: 251
Thanked: 470 Times
Default Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiGOD View Post
IMHO, No. For the price you can get a non-premium Smart LED TV like Mi or VU.
@RiGOD, thanks for that suggestion.
Will now survey and look out for a good replacement.
Hopefully a non smart TV since I already have the fire stick and can get content via it.
Thanks again.
Ithaca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2019, 20:42   #8948
BHPian
 
RiGOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 192
Thanked: 151 Times
Default Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ithaca View Post
Will now survey and look out for a good replacement.
Hopefully a non smart TV since I already have the fire stick and can get content via it.
Thanks again.
Wise choice there with the non Smart version. Btw I'm using a 43 inch VU for the past two years with zero issues. Considering the price point, it has served it's purpose really very well for a decent duration.
RiGOD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2019, 22:30   #8949
Distinguished - BHPian
 
saket77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ranchi
Posts: 3,683
Thanked: 6,782 Times
Default Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tanwaramit View Post
You don't need to change your password, I had edited the APK with my credentials and saved it so that I don't have to manually add it everytime I start the JioTV app on my TV.
I meant have you changed the credentials of your jio account either through the jio website or the MyJio app?
Another thing if the app is not working at all on other set up too.
saket77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2019, 05:16   #8950
Senior - BHPian
 
tanwaramit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dilwalon ki Dilli
Posts: 1,899
Thanked: 397 Times
Default Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
I meant have you changed the credentials of your jio account either through the jio website or the MyJio app?
Another thing if the app is not working at all on other set up too.
Yup, managed to change the password.

On Jio website, login with your credentials, goto Profile Settings, on the personal details there is an option of Profile Password and Edit button next to it. Use it to change your password.

This modded APK is specifically for TV, so can't test it anywhere other than TV. Its not working on TV as of now.

Is it working at your end ?
tanwaramit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2019, 06:43   #8951
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,527
Thanked: 400 Times
Default Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiGOD View Post
Btw I'm using a 43 inch VU for the past two years with zero issues.
What model is it and how much did you pay?
Quote:
Originally Posted by RiGOD View Post
Considering the price point, it has served it's purpose really very well for a decent duration.
What about the quality of picture - is it comparable to the major brands? Does VU have any showrooms where you can go and see picture quality? And do they have good after sales service?

Last edited by carboy : 17th July 2019 at 06:47.
carboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2019, 07:01   #8952
Distinguished - BHPian
 
saket77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ranchi
Posts: 3,683
Thanked: 6,782 Times
Default Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tanwaramit View Post
Yup, managed to change the password.

On Jio website, login with your credentials, goto Profile Settings, on the personal details there is an option of Profile Password and Edit button next to it. Use it to change your password.

This modded APK is specifically for TV, so can't test it anywhere other than TV. Its not working on TV as of now.

Is it working at your end ?
If you have changed the password of your jio account, you will need to modify you apk accordingly with the new password and reinstall the app.
saket77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2019, 07:20   #8953
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: KA03/UP80/DL7S
Posts: 211
Thanked: 159 Times
Default

I recently bought a full HD projector Epson EH- TW5650. I can say it's money well spent. No TV can give this viewing experience along with a decent sound system in an enclosed room. It works decently in a well lit room as well.
adi_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2019, 09:02   #8954
Senior - BHPian
 
tanwaramit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dilwalon ki Dilli
Posts: 1,899
Thanked: 397 Times
Default Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
If you have changed the password of your jio account, you will need to modify you apk accordingly with the new password and reinstall the app.
yup, I did that around more than 2 months back as I wanted to avoid entering complicated password everytime I had to login.

But no such change was done recently.

The JioTV app for android TV stopped working suddenly for past 2 weeks. Lots of other people are also facing this problem.

Its being speculated that Jio has blocked this due to some new apps launch for JioFiber launch.
tanwaramit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2019, 10:28   #8955
BHPian
 
RiGOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 192
Thanked: 151 Times
Default Re: The TV Thread - LCD, LED etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carboy View Post
What model is it and how much did you pay?
This was the model. Bought it for 24k on March 2018 (So it's been around 16 months, not 2 years)

Quote:
Originally Posted by carboy View Post
What about the quality of picture - is it comparable to the major brands? Does VU have any showrooms where you can go and see picture quality? And do they have good after sales service?
I have Videocon D2H connection and the output of the HD channel is simply superb. SD channels are just okay, but it's not the tv's fault. My brother in law who owned a Bravia (which went kaput after 5 years), bought the same model as his temporary replacement tv after seeing mine and he's perfectly happy and has no plans to switch from VU

And I'm not aware of the showrooms, after sales service etc. mate. For the price I paid, if it serves me for three years, I'm happy and every extra day will count as a bonus for me.
RiGOD is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Movies, Documentaries, games, etc to Showcase your hi-def plasma/lcd & HTS jassi Shifting gears 61 29th October 2019 12:44
Underglow Thread: Please post pics & info of underglow(neon/LED/etc.) kit on your car DIY Guru Modifications & Accessories 1 18th November 2010 03:08
LCD TV or (LCD montior+VGA Box) for Wii? ashwin489 Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 20th July 2009 14:33


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:10.

Copyright 2000 - 2019, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks