Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 23rd January 2014, 20:00   #121

Re: Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B

@Shubhendra

Here are few shots of the Hand brake assembly form the CJ-3B parts catalogue for your reference, will post some pictures of the individual components soon.

Chengappa.
Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-20140123_192447.jpg  

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-20140123_192554.jpg  

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-20140123_192725.jpg  

Timson is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th February 2014, 14:05   #122

Originally Posted by Timson View Post
@Shubhendra

Here are few shots of the Hand brake assembly form the CJ-3B parts catalogue for your reference, will post some pictures of the individual components soon.

Chengappa.
Thank you Mr Chengappa,
As described in diagram and all the parts mentioned there, i have only one part at my disposal i.e. Hand brake lever

Can someone please guide me on where to buy remaining parts ?

Shubhendra
Old 21st July 2014, 19:04   #123

There is no update from last few months as Jeep has been kept in a covered garage. Resources have been directed to restore our GPW which i had converted to RHD, diesel and 2WD during my college days. It has been now converted to LHD and 4WD (still searching for go-devil engine).
Initial plan was to send these two Jeeps to bhopal:
1) Willys CJ3B for paint, hood, seats and final touchup
2) Ford GPW for partial mechanical restoration
But plan changed as it took us quite some time to find front & rear diffs, steering assembly, GB and TC for ford and monsoon kicked in by that time.
Its decided now to complete mechanical work of ford at home (we have hired one mech to stay at our home and work on our jeeps) as we got one more rusty companion to our old Jeeps.
We picked up below Willys CJ3B few weeks back. it was an impulsive buy as during one of my brother's trip he found this Jeep and couldnt resist to buy. Intention was to save it from butchers as it was about to land to a guy who wanted to dieselize this Jeep with RHD and big fat tyres. As a deal, we had to buy one CL500 Di and give it to that guy so that he can give us th Willys CJ3B.

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20140619wa0007.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20140619wa0008.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20140619wa0009.jpg

Shubhendra Singh
Shubhendra is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st July 2014, 20:27   #124

Originally Posted by Shubhendra View Post
As a deal, we had to buy one CL500 Di and give it to that guy so that he can give us th Willys CJ3B.
That a real nice find, lefty!!! Please can I get to keep it. There are too many lefty's at your place now, at least this one can be passed on to me, I shall start buying the required parts, what say Shuben Bhai?
Twinn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2014, 22:00   #125

Originally Posted by Twinn View Post
Please can I get to keep it. There are too many lefty's at your place now, at least this one can be passed on to me, I shall start buying the required parts, what say Shuben Bhai?
You can keep it provided you assure me that you will always keep it ORIGINAL, let me check with my Big B what he wants to do with this Jeep.

Shubhendra
Shubhendra is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th December 2014, 16:50   #126

So finally we got time to focus on this Willys. Jeep started after few months of hibernation and it started in few attempts. Sent to service center for thorough wash and then our painter started his work 2-3 days back. Final sanding was completed and today morning on a shiny day base coat was done.

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20141210wa0001.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20141210wa0002.jpg

Paint work will start tomorrow and be completed by Sunday.
During one of my visit to Bombay, i procured hand brake cable. Now i have hand brake cable, handle and drum, still in search of brake shoe and other allied tit bits. Would appreciate if someone guide me to the source.

Shubhendra Singh
Shubhendra is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 11th December 2014, 14:11   #127

Work is progressing fast, today first two coats have been done. As we dont have paint booth in our city, we have asked painter to do the painting process only during peak sun light.
Hope it will be ready for jungle duty before 31 December

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20141211wa0009.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20141211wa0010.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20141211wa0011.jpg

SHubhendra Singh
Shubhendra is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 11th December 2014, 21:17   #128

Originally Posted by Shubhendra View Post
Work is progressing fast,
Shuben Bhai - You were supposed to give this lefty to me

Anyways I feel you have stripped it down and then painted it! Chassis and underbody painting ka plans nahi hai kya?

What color are you planning for this?
Old 12th December 2014, 14:40   #129

Originally Posted by Twinn View Post
Shuben Bhai - You were supposed to give this lefty to me

Anyways I feel you have stripped it down and then painted it! Chassis and under-body painting ka plans nahi hai kya?

What color are you planning for this?
Amrth Bhai,
This is the main Willys i was working on. The second Willys which i posted few posts back is given to one of our close relative by my brother.
As you can see in previous pages this Jeep was completely stripped to each nut bolt and then repaired and put back together. After mechanical restoration last year this jeep ran for few hundred kms in jungle and then parked in a closed garage.

This is the color (grey) we are going ahead with, everyone wanted an understated color except me !

Any plan to visit India during monsoon ? if yes, then lets offroad in Coorg this monsoon.

Shubhendra Singh
Old 13th December 2014, 10:21   #130

Dear Shubhendra - hello after a long time. The Jeep looks wonderful. You have got the correct period color on it. Please keep it absolutely like original (no high back seats, no rollover bar, no fancy headlight switch etc). You are living my dream (CJ3BLHD). My dream is to drive the original CJ3BLHD in grey color with the windshield glass down!

Dear Twinn - hello to you. Your point of painting the underchassis is correct. As I was working in Kandivli, I have seen new vehicles being made everyday. It is very heartening to see the mechanical aggregates individually painted in shining black color and assembled to a shining black chassis. The body tub, bonnet, fenders and radiator guard (grille) were also individually painted in the paint shop and assembled on the main line. This is the only way that a new vehicle is born and this is the correct way to restore. But most of the garages in India don't have this mindset. If you persevere, they will reluctantly do it. Another problem is that the moment you drive it, dust settles on the aggregates and spoils the look. Then you have to keep on washing it. It's a fine balance of what you want.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th December 2014, 11:12   #131

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
[b][u] Please keep it absolutely like original (no high back seats, no rollover bar, no fancy headlight switch etc).
Dhabhar Saheb,
Jeep will kept absolutely stock. Only modification to Jeep is its converted to 12 Volts from 6 Volts and old dynamo is replaced by alternator.

Dear Twinn - This is the only way that a new vehicle is born and this is the correct way to restore. But most of the garages in India don't have this mindset. If you persevere, they will reluctantly do it.
Dhabhar Saheb,
If you refer initial pages of this thread you can all parts painted separately. After recambering of leaf springs, i even forecd them to paint each leaf separately and then assemble them.
Other than front bumper nothing in chassis and aggregates need painting.

Shubhendra Singh
Old 17th December 2014, 13:06   #132

Dear Shubhendra,

Been following this thread and admire you build patience.

Color has come out nice. One query though, are you going to color the chassis and under carriage of the tub? If yes, why did you not remove the tub from the chassis and paint them separately or get the chassis finished first then assemble the painted tub on it, as would be the procedure for a thorough paint job?

Old 17th December 2014, 13:47   #133

Originally Posted by fazalaliadil View Post
[b] One query though, are you going to color the chassis and under carriage of the tub? If yes, why did you not remove the tub from the chassis and paint them separately or get the chassis finished first then assemble the painted tub on it, as would be the procedure for a thorough paint job?
Fazal Saheb,
If you refer initial pages of this thread you can all parts painted separately. After recambering of leaf springs, i even forced them to paint each leaf separately and then assemble them.
Other than front bumper nothing in chassis and aggregates need painting. As vehicle was in garage for a long time it gives that impression compounded by spillover from rubbing, water mix etc

Shubhendra
Shubhendra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th December 2014, 11:17   #134

Fazal Saheb, Dhabhar Saheb and Amrth,
its time to put speculation to rest. Paint process is almost complete, refer pics as of yesterday.

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20141217wa0014.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20141217wa0016.jpg

Barn find – 1959 Willys CJ3B-img20141217wa0015.jpg

SHubhendra Singh
Shubhendra is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 18th December 2014, 18:46   #135

Dear Shuibhendra,

A neat paint job indeed.
A little suggestion, replace the flat head lamps lens with rounded Lucas or Lumax.