Old 16th January 2012, 13:44   #121

Re: Mahindra Thar MDI - Driven!

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
.... However, I am CONFIRMING that LSD / MLD can go with 4.3:1. [CRDe Thar]

That's an interesting little tidbit. That puts a little testosterone into the CRDe. Can you elaborate, D.B.?
Old 16th January 2012, 14:21   #122

Hi Mr. Behram,

Hope your well...

Please could you throw more light on your post and can diff. locks be fitted onto the Thar.
If yes would there be any effect on the performance (speed,noise etc. etc.) and where would you recomend it be done in India.

Vijay
Old 16th January 2012, 14:45   #123

Ronnie:

I went back and forth between CRDe & DI and finally booked the DI 4WD due to my personal preferences. If your budget permits and you will be using this as an allround vehicle including your long trips, etc, it makes sense to go for a CRDe.

Various Thar CRDe vehicles are performing well have no problem with any of the off-road Trails. However, as you correctly pointed out, maintenance for the CRDe will be much higher, but this is a price you pay for a powerful engine, and overall refinement.

If your budget permits, please get the CRDe and don't think any further. Buy the DI only if you are looking for a basic, rudimentary work horse and nothing else. I bought the Thar DI 4WD for the following reasons.

I won't be using it for any long distance cruising. I have a Scorpio 4WD and that is my primary long distance/touring vehicle.

I wanted a work horse to use in my construction site and was willing to give up on refinement and power for ruggedness. Price of DI 4WD in Tamil Nadu us 5.9 Lakhs. CRDe 4WD is 7.4 Lakhs. This gives me 1.5 Lakhs spare to do up the vehicle to the way i want it.

To sum it up CRDe makes a great all round vehicle, buy the DI only if your primary use is off-road, farm/estate use etc...
4x4addict is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th January 2012, 14:46   #124

Originally Posted by Ronnie Zach View Post
Parm,I booked a Thar DI 4 wd on August 1st 2011--because at heart I prefer a jeep with a engine which is rugged, proven ,efficient and simple to repair.
What is the ex-showroom price of Thar DI 4WD? The CDRe price is 6.34L in KA.

Considering all the complications that are being reported about CDRe, the DI option does look more appealing. This has been discussed extensively here: https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-v...le-option.html (Offroading with Thar DI: The Sensible Option)
Old 16th January 2012, 18:32   #125

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
What is the ex-showroom price of Thar DI 4WD? The CDRe price is 6.34L in KA.
Ex Show Room Price of Thar DI 4WD is approximately 5.2 Lakhs.
Old 17th January 2012, 21:46   #126

Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
Ronnie:

To sum it up CRDe makes a great all round vehicle, buy the DI only if your primary use is off-road, farm/estate use etc...
Well said Tini. I too have been advising people on similar grounds. CRDe if your pocket permits and Di if it doesn't.
vinod_nookala is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th February 2012, 10:39   #127

Dear Ronnie Zach - Thar DI has 3.73:1 axle ratio, as against 4.3:1 in Thar CRDe. I am NOT CONFIRMING that LSD / MLD can go with 3.73:1. However, I am CONFIRMING that LSD / MLD can go with 4.3:1. Also, Thar DI has T18 transfer case as against Borg Warner in Thar CRDe. I suggest you may like to check the DI for general highway drivability after you have driven the CRDe. You would be comparing apples and oranges but its your call.

You then decide! .

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Sir,Please guide us with the installation procedure of MLD in Thar CRDe.
Old 25th February 2012, 12:27   #128

Joel Kurian dropped an email and wants to share his review with us:

MAHINDRA THAR DI 4x4 OWNERSHIP REVIEW

INTRODUCTION

My father was returning from Abu Dhabhi and we needed a vehicle for use in our rubber estate and day to day runabouts. This would be our primary vehicle for time being. This was the time when Mahindra Thar was getting ready behind the curtain. Googled and came to know it was coming in two variants, the CRDE version with the same engine block from Scorpio CRDE, and a Di version which was the replacement for the Major (as the dealer said). Finally it was launched in January 2011. The Di version was already available at the showrooms. They had 2WDs in stock. CRDE came only as 4WD. Also considered bolero Di 4x4 but it wouldn’t fit our kind of use. Now the comparison was between Thar CRDE and Thar Di 4x4. Went through endless threads and blogs comparing both and selected DI 4WD for the following reasons

1. It was basic, crude, rough and tough vechicle, proven and already in use in the army as MM550

2. Had better fuel efficiency as compared to CRDE. Dealer claimed 18kmpl for 2WD and 16-17kmpl for 4WD.

3. CRDE came with independent front suspension while the Di came with leaf springs and rigid axle setup.

Di came with MDI 3200TCL which was tried and tested throughout the Mahindra range. Thus Di was reliable vehicle, low in maintenance and any local mechanic could take care of it. There is nothing extra which is not needed. It looks so basic, you feel you can dismantle it yourself.

4. CRDE has 105 hp under the hood. We didn’t need that much power for our use.

5. Resale value was sure high for Thar Di but CRDE being a new product, we didn’t want to take a chance.
We had a 1986 MM540 DP 2WD sold two years ago which was perfect for our use. Since then my father used to say that if the MM540 was in production, he would’ve got a new one, that too with 4WD because he got stuck one day with the MM540. So we were happy that Thar Di was actually the tried and tested MAJOR in disguise, the re-incarnation of the MM540.
After enquires, through phone calls, we went and booked Thar Di 4WD on 12th of April 2011 at the Mahindra outlet in Muvattupuzha. We were told we would take at least 6 months as 4WDs were made-to order. So we bought a 1992 CL 500 DI 2WD for temporary use but Thar came in 3 months. Had they told this earlier, we would not have bought the CL500.

Anyway we got delivery on__________. Mr. Ullas at Muvattupuzha outlet was very helpful. He arranged for
bank loan and everything was smooth. Got it delivered in Muvatupuzha although the showroom was in Vytila, Ekm. Did go for underbody coating as it came with 1500 kms on the ODO. Yes, it was driven all the way from the factory in ___ Maharashtra. Only extra was Lamda free-wheeling hubs. I was in the hostel for this time. Went home the next day of delivery. Took the keys and started it right when i got home. First drive was to church next day (Sunday).

TEST DRIVE

ENGINE
The engine had the typical DI sound at idle but as the rpm increases, and turbo switch is on, it gets silent. Power delivery was smoother than major, yes, the engine has been fine tuned. Turbo lag was slightly evident, only slightly, but passed this there was enough power reserve. I found the max power and torque came somewhere in the midrange when the turbo started singing (had to judge by sound-no tachometer). Engine was very drivable giving good torque at min rpm. Just released the clutch slowly in first and the vehicle starts rolling.

HANDLING
On road, Thar Di was stable and handled well (in jeep terms!). After all jeeps are not meant for racing. Found it better than major, may be because it is heavier. The only let down was the tyres. DI 4WD comes with CEAT 6.00 x 16 NDMS, which was too thin for on road use. One has to be cautious while braking because anything beyond 60 kmph with hard braking would leave the tyres without traction. This gets worse in wet conditions. Thinking of changing to offroad radials or 7.50x16 off raod tyre. I use gears to reduce speed along with brakes after experience of 90 degree drifts and skids. Steering is manual and a bit heavy, gives good feedback, with little freeplay. Not the best, but ages ahead of the CL500. Turning radius is a tad too high, little difficult to manoeuvre. Even the CL 500 is better ,in this respect.

MAINTENANCE AND FUEL EFFICIENCY
There was literally no maintenance required other than greasing after washing at local car washing stations. Had first service (5000 kms) at the authorised service center at Thodupuzha. The service was horrible. They were not punctual. I asked them to do tyre rotation. The NDMS tyres are meant for offraod use and they get worn out pretty fast, we can actually see it if you are keen enough. But the foreman just interchanged the four tyres, without including the spare tyre. Argument was that it was not prescribed in the manual. Manual says tyre rotation at 1000 kms. This ought to be for the radial tyres available for the 2WD. I doubt if there would be any thread at all after 10,000 kms.
We got fuell efficieny 12 kmpl (with extensive 4WD use).

OFF-ROAD ABILITY
This is the core reason for buying this vehicle. Initially 4WD was very difficult to engage. The short lever just wouldn’t move. After numerous efforts, it shifted to 4H and then to neutral. But it wouldn’t shift to 4Low. Tried again and again finally got it to 4L. This was a Herculean task. But after a few days of use, it became easy
The offroad conditions we have are rocky terrain, steep incline off rock and gravel, all this coupled with slush during rains. The CL 500 2WD couldn’t do it when it was wet but somehow managed when it was dry-mainly due to high axle ratio. The Thar di has 3.73 axle ratio and although this was good onroad, this made it too fast offroad. We had to shift to 4L usually just to slow it down. It did all our ofroad needs with ease. Shift to 4L and it would take any steep inclines on second gear. First gear is rarely used-only when descending these inclines during wet conditions.

Once went offroading with friends, found a steep incline full of rocks. Actually we found it too difficult to even walk. Locked the hubs, shifted to 4L first gear, slowly released clutch and just controlled steering. Took my legs off all the pedals. Thar climbed up in idle without the slightest of loss in traction. Piece of cake! The NDMS tyres showed their ability now they were perfect off road especially in mud and gravel.

VERDICT
The Thar di is one of the best available for use in estates and farm houses unlike the CRDE it lacks cosmetic treatments but gives max utility for the price. It is not even comparable to a hatchback or any other cars for that matter but the best for the purpose it is made. Real strong tough simple vehicle.
GTO is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 25th February 2012, 19:01   #129

Thanks Joel for this useful review & thanks GTO for sharing it.
It really answered lots of queries.
Old 20th March 2012, 18:49   #130

Originally Posted by ex670c View Post
Hi Irons Wolf,

Are you sure that lowering the Spring Perch will not accommodate the 31" Sandgrip tyres?

Please look at the pics with 185-85-16 i.e 28.3" Tyres.

Could there be another reason?

Arka
I have finally taken the plunge and bought the Thar DI 4wd,and am quite happy with it.1)In case I decide to change the existing 6.0 x 16 Ceat NDMS tyres,what are the options for striking a good balance between moderate off-road and on-road use without having to change the stock 16' rims. Can I go for bigger (taller & wider) tyres without fear of them hitting the mudguards when negotiating harsh uneven terrain.Are the MRF army Sandgrips a good option.(Mods, kindly edit and move this post, if this is off-topic.).2)A perceptible whine appears on smooth tarmac at speeds which require the use of the 3rd gear and above(Persists even when the engine is switched off with the vehicle coasting in neutral) and the whine seems to be directly proportional to the speed of the vehicle.Is the whine due to air passing through the treads of the NDMS tyres or is it inherent in 4wd Thar DI's.
Old 20th March 2012, 20:43   #131

I have finally taken the plunge and bought the Thar DI 4wd,and am quite happy with it.1)In case I decide to change the existing 6.0 x 16 Ceat NDMS tyres,what are the options for striking a good balance between moderate off-road and on-road use without having to change the stock 16' rims. Can I go for bigger (taller & wider) tyres without fear of them hitting the mudguards when negotiating harsh uneven terrain.Are the MRF army Sandgrips a good option.(Mods, kindly edit and move this post, if this is off-topic.).2)A perceptible whine appears on smooth tarmac at speeds which require the use of the 3rd gear and above(Persists even when the engine is switched off with the vehicle coasting in neutral) and the whine seems to be directly proportional to the speed of the vehicle.Is the whine due to air passing through the treads of the NDMS tyres or is it inherent in 4wd Thar DI's.
Hi Ronnie,

I don't think a sandgrip/bullet pattern will be suitable for the slushy/muddy Kerala terrain.

A Radial MT will be more suitable.

Any tyre will hit the mud guards under extreme flex, the damage occurs will very wide tyre of extreme off-set (Wheel Disc or Track Width).

Also with a taller tyre, the effective diff-ratio will become considerably higher (3.5:1) from the existing 3.73:1

Arka
ex670c is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2012, 20:57   #132

Can I go for bigger (taller & wider) tyres without fear of them hitting the mudguards when negotiating harsh uneven terrain.Are the MRF army Sandgrips a good option.(Mods, kindly edit and move this post, if this is off-topic.).2)A perceptible whine appears on smooth tarmac at speeds which require the use of the 3rd gear and above(Persists even when the engine is switched off with the vehicle coasting in neutral) and the whine seems to be directly proportional to the speed of the vehicle.Is the whine due to air passing through the treads of the NDMS tyres or is it inherent in 4wd Thar DI's.
I'm not an expert, but I would suggest also look at it from the compatibility perspective. You are going to put a lot of load on the mechanicals by changing those parts. Check with BD sir and find out if the mechanicals are stroing enough to take those kind of changes!!
Ketan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2012, 22:58   #133

what are the options for striking a good balance between moderate off-road and on-road use without having to change the stock 16' rims
Hi Ronnie,

IMO, 235/70 - R16 should meet your requirements, though as Arka said, it will scrape. But, only under extreme conditions, and not on just any uneven terrain.

Also, if you drive the vehicle on road, my advice would be to go for AT's. Preferably Yoko Geolanders.
dhanushs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th March 2012, 23:08   #134

.2)A perceptible whine appears on smooth tarmac at speeds which require the use of the 3rd gear and above(Persists even when the engine is switched off with the vehicle coasting in neutral) and the whine seems to be directly proportional to the speed of the vehicle.Is the whine due to air passing through the treads of the NDMS tyres or is it inherent in 4wd Thar DI's.
Hi Ronnie, Mine & Sanjay's 4WD Thar DI has the same whine. This is caused by the NDMS Tires. This whine once Sanjay changed to JK Sand Cum Highway Tires. Very annoying whine. I will have to suffer it until my tire change.
4x4addict is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2012, 18:49   #135

Originally Posted by ex670c View Post
a
Originally Posted by vinod_nookala View Post
v
b d
Originally Posted by SPIKE ARRESTOR View Post
s
Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
4*4
To All,
I had coolent leackage from lower supply clamp to engine in Thar DI 2WD. Coolent leackage has stopped with empty coolent reservoir. I didn't know when it happned. I came to know when I noticed temperature Gauge as shown in image. This position was after short ride of 11 KMs.

Now Gauge does not have any numerical marking. Can anybody please help me in understanding calibration of Temp. Gauge? Normally what is safe temperature range in which needle hovers?

And here is my quota of smileys
help me
Mahindra Thar MDI - Driven!-temp.jpg  

zalaps is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com