Old 21st June 2008, 19:27   #31

Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
Yes Sir.

It sure does. You need double the power for the same output. But the main issue is space. Boot space is precious in a Swift. So it a compromise that is worth it.
My Amp is 2200 Watts @ 1 Ohm. So efficiency is the last of my worries.

Gt-trading - Attivitą

Potenza Stereo RMS @4ohm Watt 155 x 2 Potenza Stereo RMS @2ohm Watt 305 x 2 Potenza Stereo RMS @1ohm Watt 555 x 2 Potenza Mono a ponte RMS @4ohm Watt 615 x 1 Potenza Mono a ponte RMS @2ohm Watt 1110 x 1 Potenza SERIALPOWER RMS @4ohm Watt 2200 x 1

cheers:
God Ji it is not at 1 ohms it is at 4 ohms. (2200 watts rms)
Old 21st June 2008, 19:45   #32

That sure is powerful.
Old 21st June 2008, 19:50   #33

I think it is 1x 615 Watt RMS @ 4 Ohm Mono. the specs on the site seem confusing...

2200x1 @ 4 ohms is for RMS "SERIAL POWER" what does that mean?

Last edited by greenhorn : 21st June 2008 at 19:54.
Old 21st June 2008, 19:58   #34

My Amp is 2200 Watts @ 1 Ohm.
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
God Ji it is not at 1 ohms it is at 4 ohms. (2200 watts rms)
Kya yaar? Full confusion in spec. Between the two of y'all, you probably own more Stegs than I have seen. (Ok, thats a bit exaggerated ).

In this car, the amp will be driving the 2-ohm load of the 2 Illusion Carbon subs in parallel. And hence will be delivering 1110 watts to the pair. i.e. State Express watts each - 555.

The 2200 watts is when two of these amps are linked together.
Old 21st June 2008, 20:16   #35

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
In this car, the amp will be driving the 2-ohm load of the 2 Illusion Carbon subs in parallel. And hence will be delivering 1110 watts to the pair. i.e. State Express watts each - 555.

The 2200 watts is when two of these amps are linked together.
Even more confused. How will the amps be connected ? the speakers are in parallel ! wouldnt it be better to make each amp drive one sub
Old 21st June 2008, 20:24   #36

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
Even more confused. How will the amps be connected ? the speakers are in parallel ! wouldnt it be better to make each amp drive one sub
A lot of amps have a "strapping" feature, which allows two amps to work like one bridged amp. You are right, two amps can be used to seperately do nearly the same thing, but then you will have trouble setting the gains , phase etc. precisely the same. An external module is required to do this strapping.
Old 21st June 2008, 21:13   #37

but the steg B is talking about is a bridged stereo amp right?
from what i found on google about strapping Sundown Amplifier FAQ - SSA Forums: , it essentially looks like bridging two (single ended output ?) monoblocs. but can 2 amps which are already bridged be bridged together?

Last edited by greenhorn : 21st June 2008 at 21:18.
Old 22nd June 2008, 08:47   #38

I made a mistake !!

Yes Sir.

It sure does. You need double the power for the same output. But the main issue is space. Boot space is precious in a Swift. So it a compromise that is worth it.

Gt-trading - Attivitą

Potenza Stereo RMS @4ohm Watt 155 x 2 Potenza Stereo RMS @2ohm Watt 305 x 2 Potenza Stereo RMS @1ohm Watt 555 x 2 Potenza Mono a ponte RMS @4ohm Watt 615 x 1 Potenza Mono a ponte RMS @2ohm Watt 1110 x 1 Potenza SERIALPOWER RMS @4ohm Watt 2200 x 1

cheers:
My amplifier will give - 1100 watt X 01 @ 2 Ohms.

This will be 'adequate' to drive 2 Illusion Audio - Carbon - ND 12 Subwoofers in an 'isobarik' 'sealed' 'clampshell' loading.

All said, if I find it short. I will have to buy 1 more Steg & do the serial thing. Although, I do not see it happening..... [finding the power to be short] . 3 Stegs in 1 car is more than enough........

cheers:
Old 22nd June 2008, 09:01   #39

let me explain !

There are 2 subs
Thers is 1 amp

The 2 subs will go into 1 box

They will be installed in a push - pull - issobarik - clampshell - loading

The 2 subs will be connected in opposit polarity.
This means that 1 subs +ve will be connected with the other subs -ve.
Both these wires will go into either the +ve or the -ve on the amp.

My amp is a 4 channel amp. But it will be used as a mono amp - 1 channel.

I will illustrate with pictures as and when the work on it will progress.

bear with me till then. It will get clear !!
Old 22nd June 2008, 09:04   #40

bhagwan-ji, i understood how the speakers will be connected to the amp right now. Its this 2 amps in serial thing I'm confused about . Thanks for taking your time to explain

Last edited by greenhorn : 22nd June 2008 at 09:05.
Old 22nd June 2008, 10:14   #41

I will not be using 2 amps for the sub !!!

bhagwan-ji, i understood how the speakers will be connected to the amp right now. Its this 2 amps in serial thing I'm confused about . Thanks for taking your time to explain
Sir,

I am to use only 1 amp.

Using 2 amps is not required in this case. If one wants more power - it is better and easier to buy a bigger more powerful Steg.

Gt-trading - Attivitą

Like this one.
Old 22nd June 2008, 10:35   #42

Component Pictures - Close up !!!

Some more snaps - close up.

Cables + Tweeter + Woofer + X-Over etc.
Swift - Diesel - ICE - Steg + MB Quart [Q Line] + Illusion [Carbon].-mb-quart-woofer-install-22.06.2008.jpg  

Swift - Diesel - ICE - Steg + MB Quart [Q Line] + Illusion [Carbon].-mb-quart-tweeter-front-close-up-22.06.2008.jpg  

Swift - Diesel - ICE - Steg + MB Quart [Q Line] + Illusion [Carbon].-m.b.-quart-tweeter-car-audio-installation-22.06.2008.jpg  

Swift - Diesel - ICE - Steg + MB Quart [Q Line] + Illusion [Carbon].-m.b.-quart-xover-illusion-audio-car-audio-installation-22.06.2008.jpg  

Swift - Diesel - ICE - Steg + MB Quart [Q Line] + Illusion [Carbon].-monster-close-up-m.b.-quart-illusion-audio-car-22.06.2008.jpg  

Swift - Diesel - ICE - Steg + MB Quart [Q Line] + Illusion [Carbon].-monster-cable-m.b.-quart-illusion-audio-car-audio-22.06.2008.jpg  

Swift - Diesel - ICE - Steg + MB Quart [Q Line] + Illusion [Carbon].-illusion-carbon-woofer-12-inch-swift-install-20.06.2008.jpg  

Old 22nd June 2008, 13:34   #43

The Back part - work has started !!!

The work on / in the trunk has started.

The side panels for the x-over + 1 steg amp is ready.
Pictures are :-
Swift - Diesel - ICE - Steg + MB Quart [Q Line] + Illusion [Carbon].-labeled-side-boards-amp-xover-noise-kill-swift-22.06.2008.jpg  

Swift - Diesel - ICE - Steg + MB Quart [Q Line] + Illusion [Carbon].-side-boards-amp-xover-noise-kill-swift-22.06.2008.jpg  

Old 22nd June 2008, 15:49   #44

Hmm, one corner got left out, otherwise the Noisekill coverage is really all-encompassing. Wonder why is that guy hammering - is Noisekill so hard to apply, Ajay?
Old 22nd June 2008, 15:55   #45

Interesting observation;

Noise Kill / Damping is easy to install. Just peal & stick.
It is self adhesive.

I too am not sure why Shafiq was using a hammer.
The Damping was finished [some one else did that - his helper].
The Amplifier [on one side] & the X-Overs [on the other side] are to be fitted on the side boards after they have been covered with heatlon + felt [carpet].

Work is really going very very slow.....

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com