Old 11th October 2005, 15:46   #1996

Originally Posted by revtech
get the jbl 426 .they are four inch speakers and they sound great.i have them in my zen and so does vivek.its on the expensive side but they are one of the best 4 incers in the market.

Rev
Thanks revtech

Btw can you give me an idea about the price?
Old 11th October 2005, 15:49   #1997

i see problems ...

1. there is no stereo seperation!
2. the box is made of box board- it will flex like no tomorrow
3. the box cant be sealed as the wire goes in the front
4. expected box volume to be around 10 liters for 2 6x9s. peaky bass but the box is soo lossy that box loss will compensate and make he bass less peaky at the cost of extrension
5. are the speakers screed in? if so the "baffle" does not seem to be.

What does CCTB stand for? Closely Coupled Tape-board Box. I cant even begin to guess. If this box makes good sound I am Sam's Uncle.

The boxes on this link are most of box variation i know
http://www.trueaudio.com/boxchart.htm#True%20Audio's%20Box%20Chart

I dont know anything more. I am at a loss for words. All I know the photos were taken using a Sony digicam.

Now i know this is Sam's real surprise! :-) LOL

Last edited by navin : 11th October 2005 at 15:51.
Old 11th October 2005, 16:04   #1998

Corrugated Cardboard! ha ha ha ha I dont know if I should laugh or cry! I am confused. TO paraphrase Ray Davies.

"Well I’m not dumb but I can’t understand
Why it walked like a woman and talked like a man....
...Girls will be boys and boys will be girls
It’s a mixed up muddled up shook up world except for Vivek's sub"
Old 11th October 2005, 16:14   #1999

Originally Posted by Technocrat
Thanks revtech

Btw can you give me an idea about the price?

the mrp for 426 is 2500 with bill and warranty.

Rev
Old 11th October 2005, 16:14   #2000

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
CCTB- CORRUGATED CARDBOARD TRANSMISSION BOX
hahahahahahahaha!! I almost passed out when i opened Vivek's boot! AHAHAHAA
Vivek is a madman!
what is the box tranmitting. :-)

Vivek you really ought to get nicer boxes using alternate layers of 4mm mdf mated to 6mm ply; sandwiched with lead and resin bonded fiberglass. trust me nicer boxes will make sure you only hear the driver and not the box. Boxes should be about 20kg per cu. ft. these look like they are about 200gm per cu. ft.

I think you've seen them on the diyaudio.com forum.

Last edited by navin : 11th October 2005 at 16:16.
Old 11th October 2005, 16:17   #2001

Thanks revtech, I think they are slightly on the higher side but will still check them out :-)
Old 11th October 2005, 16:22   #2002

Originally Posted by mclaren1885
holy!!! what was that navin..im not sure if vivek or me have even heard of that let alone having them in viveks alto..could u shed more light on it..
A coupled chamber tuned box is another word for a tuned isobarik box. if you look at the link below look for 4th order bandpass, double chamber isoabrik. this box consists of 2 boxes.

a) the isobarik coupled speaker Vb1
b) the tuned box Vb2

http://www.trueaudio.com/boxchart.htm#True%20Audio's%20Box%20Chart
Old 11th October 2005, 16:26   #2003

Originally Posted by Technocrat
Thanks revtech, I think they are slightly on the higher side but will still check them out :-)

yeah they are but they are worth it.they sound great with the 936 in the rear.

Rev
Old 11th October 2005, 16:30   #2004

Coupled Chamber Tuned Bass? Closely Coupled Tape-board Box? I bet Navin was really shocked. This is hilarious. I had better get the parcel tray. And quickly.
And yes Navin, I have seen better the stuff you are talking about on diyaudio.

Last edited by Vivekphadnis : 11th October 2005 at 16:33.
Old 11th October 2005, 16:33   #2005

Oye Sam!

My Congratulations and at the same time heart felt condolences!!!

Congrats - for Thread crossing 2000 posts.
Condolences - 2000 was not yours.

But Post # 2000 was Navin's! So, doesn't matter.....

Congratulations to Navin, Sam and Friends!!!
Old 11th October 2005, 18:20   #2006

the most popular thread!!!!

this is the thread that surely deserves the most popular status, forget the sticky!!!!
It took me a couple of hours to read thru the first few pages, coz it had so much info and i had so little time, so could not complete the whole story.. but this seems to go on... so i'l drop in to the office on a holiday and do the needful... you guys just rock...
ak
Old 11th October 2005, 18:28   #2007

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
NO!!!!!!!!!

Navin you posted #2000!!

NOOOOOOOOOO it was supposed to be MINE!!
Old 11th October 2005, 18:32   #2008

Originally Posted by SoundManiac
Oye Sam!

My Congratulations and at the same time heart felt condolences!!!

Congrats - for Thread crossing 2000 posts.
Condolences - 2000 was not yours.

But Post # 2000 was Navin's! So, doesn't matter.....

Congratulations to Navin, Sam and Friends!!!
Thank you SM. I am sure Navin didn't even realise that he walked all over my heart with metal studded shoes...

heh heh. Thank you guys! 2000 is a lot of posts.

Abhi I'm saying it once and for all- #3000 is MINE! MINE MINE MINE!

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 11th October 2005 at 18:33.
Old 11th October 2005, 19:06   #2009

Originally Posted by AvinashKeezh
this is the thread that surely deserves the most popular status, forget the sticky!!!!
It took me a couple of hours to read thru the first few pages, coz it had so much info and i had so little time, so could not complete the whole story.. but this seems to go on... so i'l drop in to the office on a holiday and do the needful... you guys just rock...
ak
Thank you AK. Thanks a lot. This thread has become an addiction to some of us.
Old 11th October 2005, 19:12   #2010

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
Thank you SM. I am sure Navin didn't even realise that he walked all over my heart with metal studded shoes...
Spikes darling, spikes! My running spikes. and though that was not intentional atleast it made up for the CCTB.