Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 5th October 2024, 19:57   #1081

Re: The Playstation Vs Xbox Thread

My son is an introvert who loves monsters, dinosaurs and aquatic life. Apart from some mobile games he has never played (satisfactorily, explained below) video games on computers, etc.

I recently purchased a video game stick which have retro games which I liked to play (image attached). The experience was not good, as controllers are not very responsive. It hampers the engagement.

Kindly suggest what games to buy?
PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-636d831103a2ea2e8e463e12builtin620classichandheldgame.jpg  

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 5th October 2024 at 20:05.
Old 6th October 2024, 12:52   #1082

Re: The Playstation Vs Xbox Thread

Originally Posted by century View Post
I recently purchased a video game stick which have retro games which I liked to play (image attached). The experience was not good, as controllers are not very responsive. It hampers the engagement.
Don't purchase those ₹900-1500 plug & play sticks with stupid controllers - they lag much & of worst possible quality. I also tried them but threw in garbage the very next day.

So what to do?

Get a laptop - even a substandard 10 year old will do & install NES Emulator for windows - download game ROM of your choice & open it in.
Connect your laptop to TV via HDMI.

For controllers, get one or two wireless Gamepad for windows & play on. This setup is by far provides the best lag free experience of nostalgic games.

You can even route HDMI via home theatre for additional fun - but in stereo sound only.
SilverSmoke is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 6th October 2024, 14:04   #1083

Re: PC & Console games - Discussion Thread

Thanks SilverSmoke!

I will try whenever possible. I got one 4GB microSD card with that stick, can I load games from that?

Also my original post is on another thread and the moderator aptly broke it into two parts and rest info is in the screenshot attached. So my original question in still unanswered.

Can you recommend which games to buy on PS5 for my 7 year old?
PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-screenshot-20241006-1.47.308239pm.png  

Old 10th October 2024, 22:56   #1084

Originally Posted by century View Post
I will try whenever possible. I got one 4GB microSD card with that stick, can I load games from that?
my original question in still unanswered.
Can you recommend which games to buy on PS5 for my 7 year old?
Yes, you can load ROMs from card.

Disc version of PS5 is economically better in long term as you can use shared discs.

For PS5, games are bit limited for 7 YO. You can have Lego Star Wars, Harry Potter, Astro Boy to start with.

For 7 year old to start with one should be introduced to legends like Mario, Contra, Pac Man, Battle City & etc, I personally think 90s era games provide better gaming sense for 7-8 year olds.
My kids are loving them & play on emulators regularly - I also join them as 2nd player often.

PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-20241007_193816.jpg

PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-20241009_224921.jpg

PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-20241009_224941.jpg

PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-20241007_193858.jpg

PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-20241007_193755.jpg

PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-20241009_224149.jpg

PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-20241009_224903.jpg

PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-20241009_230049.jpg

PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-20241010_221304.jpg

PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-20241010_221536.jpg

PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-20241010_215106.jpg

You have to configure gamepad as depicted & it works wonders.
SilverSmoke is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 14th October 2024, 17:33   #1085

Originally Posted by SilverSmoke View Post
Yes, you can load ROMs from card.

Disc version of PS5 is economically better in long term as you can use shared discs.

For PS5, games are bit limited for 7 YO. You can have Lego Star Wars, Harry Potter, Astro Boy to start with.
You have to configure gamepad as depicted & it works wonders.
I have a 7 year old and would love for him to be able to have this setup to play games. Please tell in detail what hardware and software is needed? And how to do the setup?

For context, I have a Windows 11 laptop and a Samsung Smart TV (Tizen OS).
Old 16th October 2024, 01:06   #1086

Originally Posted by catchjyoti View Post
Please tell in detail what hardware and software is needed? And how to do the setup?
You need following

A. Laptop / Desktop - any configuration with Windows & HDMI port.

B. Windows Gamepad controller - available with Amazon for around ₹1000 to ₹5000.

C. HDMI cable.

D. Internet on laptop / desktop.

Follow these steps:

1. Search, download & install FCEUX emulator - check your windows & download accordingly - 32 or 64 Bit - any one will work.

2. Search for your ROMs - these are files having games - 64 in 1 is one of the best deal. You can also download Contra etc. These ROMs are generally available on same website only.

3. Open the emulator & select file tab & open the ROM file.

4. You need to configure the gamepad controller before it gets working - choose config tab - then input. As depicted in above post.

5. Click on configure & select which gamepad keys you want working with what. Once you are done - it should keep you going.

6. Connect to TV using HDMI & have your nostalgia unlocked...

Last edited by SilverSmoke : 16th October 2024 at 01:07.
SilverSmoke is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st November 2024, 11:24   #1087

Is anyone using a UPS just for console and the TV? Any reference will help.
Amazon has too many options. I am unable to decide
Old 24th November 2024, 11:58   #1088

Originally Posted by shatananda.k View Post
Go with APC BR-1000G-IN ₹12500.
600 watts. Using it for 10 years.
SilverSmoke is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th November 2024, 14:36   #1089

Originally Posted by shatananda.k View Post
You should get the APC 1100VA. Many reviews mention that it works well with consoles.
https://amzn.in/d/9ZHjFId
procrj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th December 2024, 22:17   #1090

Hi everyone,

I just purchased Need For Speed Most Wanted 2012 to play on my Microsoft Surface Laptop Go 2.
This is the issue I’m facing.

PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-img_0812.png

Having searched the Internet, this issue is quite common with Surface device users and it has something to do with the new EA app for PC. Despite going through various threads i have not been able to find a solution. Is there even one?
Do I have to change my PC just to play a game?

Old 22nd December 2024, 17:20   #1091

Originally Posted by gt3t0uring View Post
Despite going through various threads i have not been able to find a solution. Is there even one?
Do I have to change my PC just to play a game?
Try to run it in administrator command.
Old 25th March 2025, 11:25   #1092

I'm quite a engaged FPS player on PC (never got used to PS/XBox consoles) with a huge inventory of FPS games on Steam. My gaming laptop crashed (it's 8+ years old); and I have the option to source a new Steam Console; curious to understand if anyone has gone down this route; and how's the experience been?

1. Is the console worth it? (or am I better off sticking to my existing or a new gaming laptop)?

2. How's the transition from a PC to the handheld console been (if anyone's attempted it)?
Old 25th March 2025, 11:39   #1093

Originally Posted by ninjatalli View Post
and I have the option to source a new Steam Console; curious to understand if anyone has gone down this route; and how's the experience been?
Before buying a Steam Deck, see if you can get a hang of those sticks/buttons, especially on an FPS game. To do that, go to Amazon.in and type 'smartphone gamepad'. You will get lots of options like this that will transform your smartphone into a gamepad, for Rs. 2,000 to Rs. 3,000.

PC & Console games - Discussion Thread-screenshot-20250325-113637.png

Go for Steam Deck only if you are able to easily manage headshot kills on this jugaad device
SmartCat is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 25th March 2025, 12:59   #1094

1. Is the console worth it? (or am I better off sticking to my existing or a new gaming laptop)?
The Steam Deck is not a very powerful device (though it is exponentially better than the Nintendo Switch), I have one and it is best suited for 2D platforming games like Switch, that and retro emulation was why I wanted it, and to that extent I am very satisfied. Battery is on the lower side though, but we can limit power to 5-10W and FPS to 40, which gives a smooth experience in the low end games that I play (even if I cannot play below 60 fps on big screen).

Which brings us to the major downside - especially shooters and other big budget games that look good on a big screen, Steam Deck won't do justice for them. So to exclusively play such games, Steam Deck is not a good investment.

2. How's the transition from a PC to the handheld console been (if anyone's attempted it)?
The device is much heavier and bulky than a mobile phone connected to a gamepad (like SmartCat suggested). But one can find comfortable posture without too much fuss. For long sessions though, a gamepad is much better, and Steam Deck does support XBOX/ PS controllers, but then if you go that route, you would want a monitor and dock the device, so it again becomes bottlenecked by performance.

huge inventory of FPS games on Steam.
If you have the patience and willing to be a bit adventurous, I suggest to try build your own desktop PC, then install a SteamOS clone like Bazzite/ HoloISO/ ChimeraOS (latter the easiest). It is Linux but we don't need to use the keyboard/ terminal unless you want to do something fancy like modding.

I dual boot this in my living room PC, and I have had a great experience. The downsides are
1. You need AMD GPU. NVIDIA is not supported
2. Games with 3rd party launchers do not always work and we are at the mercy of their publishers, like GTA V is bricked recently which worked fine earlier
3. Kernel level anti-cheats that some games use, like CoD or Valorant, will not work on Linux (ok by me since I don't play multiplayer, and I wouldn't have allowed such malware anyway ).

These downsides can be overcome by a setup of Windows specifically for it, and I found this video to be quite helpful:
mayukh42 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th March 2025, 14:41   #1095

Originally Posted by catchjyoti View Post
I have a 7 year old and would love for him to be able to have this setup to play games. Please tell in detail what hardware and software is needed? And how to do the setup?

For context, I have a Windows 11 laptop and a Samsung Smart TV (Tizen OS).
I have bought a Simple USB Stick for 1200 that does all this(Bought it from store). Something like this : https://www.amazon.in/GSH-Wireless-C.../dp/B08SW57S5Z

No setup, no hassle. Just plug it in HDMI port and it works. Controller although a bit flimsy does the job fine. Now me and my daughter play all old games in 2 player mode and she loves it. Like I do!
xcentrk is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com