Old 12th July 2006, 06:58   #61

Originally Posted by nishant_kingpin
If you can afford lower economy, then Palio it has to be. GTX once and always remains a heart winner. But remember the pockets would get a cut each time you allow the car to win your heart.

In city with AC the car will not deliver more than 8KMPL.
Hey, Not true at all .... even with a heavy fooy I get an avg of 10-11 in city with AC on .!!! 8 kmpl is for those who probably dont know how to drive ...

Old 12th July 2006, 09:19   #62

Originally Posted by furioussphinx
dude I think that u really cannot compare the OHC with either Estem or Lancer coz its of a completely different standard Engineering, well this all stuff was told to me by a guy.So I guess if my Dad accepts that budget, I wud pick the OHC itself, lemme wait and see.
Esteem I agree is a smaller segment car, but lancer is in direct competition to the OHC. I know there are few people who will back the lancer while loads of people who back the OHC due to Honda popularity but such a differentiation is completely baseless. Whatever the other guy said is lies.

Ask other lancer owners too, if you wish.

Rest depends on you. Go for the car you like.

OHC is as good an option.

Last edited by devarshi84 : 12th July 2006 at 09:22.
Old 12th July 2006, 11:26   #63

Dude furious sphinx try and avoid the dealers including true value most of them will take you for a ride ...
IMO people give cars to dealers to sell mostly because there is something wrong with it (This is just my opinion please dont start an argument with me) or they dont have time to sell the car or it is a poor resale value car (palio, baleno fusion etc.)

Buy a deccan chronicle (newspaper) this sunday and you will find many ads by private owners (and of course dealers too) They are more flexible and in most cases easier to negotiate with !!!!

Hope you get a good car .......
keep in mind what pdev29 also said you "need" a sedan to install LPG and still be left with a boot
Old 12th July 2006, 21:27   #64

u decide

hey furious sphinx,
u first need to decide what u want out of car, otherwise u will never buy anything. Decide whether u want mileage/resale out of ur car, or u want to enjoy driving not bothering about mileage.
Personal experience spares of Palio are not at all costly i did a comparision with those of Santro, Swift. They are on par or some less for Palio. Dont be carried away by negativities of Palio. U can find that in any car.
First decide ur requirements then take along with u a technician from authorised showroom or any friend who is a mechanic.
All the best.

-Pavan
Old 12th July 2006, 23:03   #65

Originally Posted by Bulleteer
hey furious sphinx,
u first need to decide what u want out of car, otherwise u will never buy anything. Decide whether u want mileage/resale out of ur car, or u want to enjoy driving not bothering about mileage.
Personal experience spares of Palio are not at all costly i did a comparision with those of Santro, Swift. They are on par or some less for Palio. Dont be carried away by negativities of Palio. U can find that in any car.
First decide ur requirements then take along with u a technician from authorised showroom or any friend who is a mechanic.
All the best.

-Pavan
Dude actually here is what the actual situation is here,

My Dad wants a car for 3-4 months use, that too "WITH" a boot, dont ask me why!!! So since its just for a couple months, he does not want to spend a lot on the car, so he wants the cheapest car.

Now thats my Dad's point of view : wallet friendly, i.e, FE and low budget car, I guess u got the idea.

And coming to me, I will surely convince him after 3 months to keep it, and he will agree too (BTW after 1 month h wont be here in India anymore), so then I will use it for around 4 years. Till I get the car "COMPLETELY" into my hands, I cannot mod it or do anything, gotta keep it stock, u know how dads are . So I dont want a slow, banged up car. So I made him drop the idea of Cielos and Carb Esteems. I managed to increase his budget from 1 lac to 2 lacs now. am trying my best to convince him to buy a Lancer or OHC. He isnt digesting the idea of spending around 4 Lacs, well no one can wen initial budget was 1 Lac!!! So He isnt saying a blunt "NO" for the OHC or Lancer though, but the convice may take time, maybe 4-5 days. So car buying plans have come to half for about 5 days. I think the final verdict will be out by Tue or Wed nxt week.

Now the car is more into my kitty, so this is what I basically need in my car.....Milage (Minimum 9, gonna fit LPG), Performance (Foremost- Must be fast and have unmatched drive quality), nice interiors, and a car which is fun to drive around.

Mostly I will drive normally in traffic like any Tom, Dick and Harry , and all the fun will be after dark midnight hours.

But now coming to Ikon and Lancer , they are out of Prod , so will there be any problem with parts in the future???? BTW now the Palio is no-no because no boot and Esteem is out, because I dont like the Interiors and I did not like its ride quality. So now just Ikon 1.6, Lancer and OHC, I know they dont come within this budget, but once my Dad kinda understands what I am trying to tell him, he will surely put in more money and buy any of this 3 cars. Personally I dont wanna go for Ikon because the car has lost its shine and ppl are backing off from it and besides the Lancer and OHC are way better and even my Dad is against the Ikon Dont think am bugging u or anything please... I just want to get all the best info and the right car info in advance so as to avoid confusion in the final minute, like what my Dad did wen he bought the Ford Escort. So u gotta wait till next week for which car I will buy but meanwhile plz help me decide......

Lancer or OHC? and prices? - Thing to look into while comparing - Fun factor, ride quality and performance.
Old 12th July 2006, 23:31   #66

BTW I have a small doubt....Hows the performance of the Palio 1.6 compared to the Lancer and OHC??? I guess its the best Hatch in India...just wanted to know if it can deliver more power and ride quality of OHC or Lancer.

And now that Palios are suffering in the resale market....after this Fiat-TATA Alliance kinda gets strong and popularises, can we expect the resales to raises like the other cars in its class?

Actually I am more towards OHC but considered Lancer because its kinda from the same stable I guess. Now coming a bit lower, I am considering Ikon 1.6 and Palio 1.6 (I know there is no BOOT, but just a possible case) - Mostly its either OHC or Lancer and between these two, OHC. But I want the right advice before I make the right decision. And I am backing from the Ikon1.6 because the parts of Ford are very exp and Ikon's resale values are also falling slowly. And coming to Palio 1.6 (I give a damn to milage now ), will it have any face lift after this Fiat -tata alliance? I dont wanna buy one now and after a couple of years go looking around for ppl to sell my car and get very low value. Firstly I want Performance and next Resale value.

Last edited by furioussphinx : 12th July 2006 at 23:40.
Old 12th July 2006, 23:38   #67

Palio GTX will give u better low end power but top end of OHC is just amazing...

In terms of ride quality Lancer rokkss...
Old 12th July 2006, 23:42   #68

Originally Posted by kpzen
Palio GTX will give u better low end power but top end of OHC is just amazing...

In terms of ride quality Lancer rokkss...
Could someone tell me about the low end power and top end???

Ride quality of Lancer better than others - point noted.
Old 13th July 2006, 07:59   #69

From what i understood of low end power is the initial power band say below 3000rpm. This is what we will be using in the city most of the time.
High end is above 3000rpm. We would be using these on highway.

All figures are indicative .
Old 13th July 2006, 08:01   #70

Dude sphinx there was a baleno on sale which i saw in DC yesterday or day before yesterday: white colour, amp woofer mp3, 2002 model askin for 3 lakhs negotiable !!
Old 13th July 2006, 09:53   #71

@furioussphinx, the Baleno is one car that would fit yours and your Dads requirements.

Your Dad's because it is a sedan with a boot (bigger or same size than other cars in the segment), very FE with 12kmpl in city with 100% AC, great ride quality, low maintenance etc. Yours because it is a fun car to drive with good performance and a good car to mod as other tbhp-ians have done here.

But then, there are not many Balenos available in the used car market. And also contrary to what people say, the resale value is not that low and thus I am not sure whether it will fit in your budget. But a 99-2000 model (if you are able to locate one) should be within reach, I guess.

Last edited by supremeBaleno : 13th July 2006 at 09:54.
Old 13th July 2006, 11:02   #72

Originally Posted by furioussphinx
BTW I have a small doubt....Hows the performance of the Palio 1.6 compared to the Lancer and OHC??? I guess its the best Hatch in India...just wanted to know if it can deliver more power and ride quality of OHC or Lancer.

And now that Palios are suffering in the resale market....after this Fiat-TATA Alliance kinda gets strong and popularises, can we expect the resales to raises like the other cars in its class?

Actually I am more towards OHC but considered Lancer because its kinda from the same stable I guess. Now coming a bit lower, I am considering Ikon 1.6 and Palio 1.6 (I know there is no BOOT, but just a possible case) - Mostly its either OHC or Lancer and between these two, OHC. But I want the right advice before I make the right decision. And I am backing from the Ikon1.6 because the parts of Ford are very exp and Ikon's resale values are also falling slowly. And coming to Palio 1.6 (I give a damn to milage now ), will it have any face lift after this Fiat -tata alliance? I dont wanna buy one now and after a couple of years go looking around for ppl to sell my car and get very low value. Firstly I want Performance and next Resale value.

You seem to be confused....there are almost all cars in your list....again you seem to be coming back to Palio 1.6 which is without a BOOT....so, its better for you to have a clear budget in mind and start off... if you want a boot, take such options out of your list... If you want 1.6 performance with a boot a petra is what you should be looking at.... and none of the cars you mentioned will fit into your "good" resale requirement...
Bottomline, your car options and your requirements are contradicting...
Old 13th July 2006, 11:08   #73

Buying a used car, to be sold again after 4 years. No big difference in resale value will be there irrespective of what car you buy today. As it is, with new car launches everyday, resale prices are plummetting. What will happen 4 years later can be guessed. Go for a car that meets your other requirements.
Old 13th July 2006, 12:18   #74

Originally Posted by cooldude1988765
Dude sphinx there was a baleno on sale which i saw in DC yesterday or day before yesterday: white colour, amp woofer mp3, 2002 model askin for 3 lakhs negotiable !!
Thats a nice tempting offer, surely wud have given it a shot , hmm will try to get the paper, am checkin Eenadu Paper on sunday, I take TOI, Does DC give ads daily?

Last edited by furioussphinx : 13th July 2006 at 12:20.
Old 13th July 2006, 12:22   #75

Originally Posted by cooldude1988765
Originally Posted by supremeBaleno
@furioussphinx, the Baleno is one car that would fit yours and your Dads requirements.
Well, here we are, it was too good to be true (the absence of the "Buy Baleno" slogan!!), it was bound to come in sooner or later..............