Old 20th January 2015, 13:41   #211

Re: Mahindra launches the SsangYong Rexton @ 17.67 - 19.67 lacs

Originally Posted by Tushar View Post
The 2015 SsangYong Rexton has been unveiled in South Korea. Features include a newly designed radiator grille that seems to have been inspired by the SsangYong Chairman saloon, new alloy wheels and projector headlamps with day time running LEDs.
This looks even worse than the current plain jane Rexton, Mahindra SsangYong need to seriously work on redesigning it to look like a proper SUV if they want to sell it in India at the price they currently ask.
Old 23rd January 2015, 14:36   #212

Have clocked 36k on the odo in the Rexy now. Not much happened since my earlier posts, till about a couple of months back. The car made multiple visits to the workshop due to rat menace. Fortunately, the damage was not much and wiring was repaired in 3-4 places.

Then had a strange issue last month. After the 2nd anniversary spa treat at 3M, went to fuel her up. After re-fueling, it wont start. All sorts of ideas like water in the sensor, bad quality diesel etc. came to my mind. Finally, the technicians arrived after about 1 hour or so, cranked the engine and it started. On checking the ECU, returned some problem with the cam sensor (located at the left front of the engine).

The starting problem appears in case of frequent start-stops. Starting after longer gaps, there is no issue. Hence the technician was able to start as I hadn't attempted starting after my first 30 mins of failed attempts.

So the car went to Rhey road workshop at NBS after a few days where after detailed diagnostics and ruling out probable causes for this problem, the cam sensor was replaced. This is a critical engine part, apparently, and being the first such case, the replacement procedure under warranty was long and tedious.

Anyways, haven't faced the problem since.
Old 23rd January 2015, 17:38   #213

Interesting, this bit about the cam sensor! The Safari Dicor 3.0 had this gremlin, I remember it happening two or three times during my ownership, once when I was holidaying at Corbett!

I thought it was a typical Tata QC issue, surprised to see the Rexton having the same problem!
Old 29th June 2016, 12:07   #214

Dear Parrys

Good writeup. I am late to the party - sorry!!

I have a small question - what do you think about the resale value of (say) RX7?

I am being offered a 2013 model of RX7 at about 13,50,000 INR. The ODO is around 50,000 km (I think). I have yet to see and TD the car.
What do you think is a 'real' value of that?

Thanking you in anticipation,

Girish Mahajan
Old 13th August 2016, 11:58   #215

Mahindra Rexton recalled to rectify faulty rear driveshaft.
The recall of the Rexton SUV from the stable of M&M's South Korean arm is being done to check possibility of any loss of torque in the rear driveshaft.

Mahindra & Mahindra is recalling in India an unspecified number of its SUV Rexton manufactured on or before September 2014 to rectify faulty rear driveshaft.

Last edited by volkman10 : 13th August 2016 at 11:59.
Old 20th October 2019, 12:20   #216

Hi folks,

I have been looking to buy a pre-owned 4x4 / AWD 7 seater SUV for quite some time now. Though I have been focussing on a Pajero Sport 4x4 which only comes with Manual Gears, I have recently come across some pre-owned Rexton RX7s. The benefit with RX7 is that it has an automatic gearbox, albeit with an AWD setup vs. the proper 4X4 with Low Range Gearbox of Pajero Sport.

I just want some opinion on whether Ssangyong Rexton RX7 (2015 or later), is even worth considering or should I just stay away from it?

Would be grateful for any views.

Old 7th July 2020, 16:08   #217

I need an advice from the experts here. I am getting a Rexton R7 (ODO 50K) 2013 model, Delhi Registration for 8.5 lakhs from a dealer. The car is 1st hand. I have a Duster Adventure 110 ps (2014) model which I will sell (expected to get about 5-6 lakhs). I am planning to shift to Mysore later this year and shall get the 2nd hand vehicle transferred there (or in Ooty where I own a house), so I can theoretically keep the vehicle for 5 years or so. My Question is
1. Will it be advisable to buy a 2nd hand Rexton (1st owner) or keep the Duster for some time ?
2. Are there any specific mechanical issues reported on Rextons manufactured during 2012/13?
3. How's the the maintenance costs of Rexton (as experienced by owners)
4. How reliable the vehicle is ? ( I am planning to drive from Noida to Mysore, when I shift base there)

Any advice shall be highly appreciated.
Old 9th July 2020, 11:23   #218

Originally Posted by Ulysses View Post
I need an advice from the experts here. I am getting a Rexton R7 (ODO 50K) 2013 model, Delhi Registration for 8.5 lakhs from a dealer.
Actual resale value of this car in market is less than half of what the dealer is quoting, avoid.
.anshuman is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th July 2020, 12:29   #219

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
Actual resale value of this car in market is less than half of what the dealer is quoting, avoid.
Thanks for the advice. Just wanted to know if the whole idea of selling my Duster Adventure and going for an upgrade (preowned) for short terms (may be 2-3 years) makes any sense or I should drop the idea all together. My Duster is also 6 years old, so it's resale value, I guess, is dropping sharply too.
Old 6th October 2020, 20:13   #220

Is it worth my time and effort to think about purchasing a 2013 Rexton R7 with odometer running of 1.5 lakh kms being sold by a Mahindra dealership's used car section. The price quoted is 4.85L INR and they are willing to come down to 4.6L.
Old 6th October 2020, 20:27   #221

Originally Posted by TD_GHY View Post
Is it worth my time and effort to think about purchasing a 2013 Rexton R7 with odometer running of 1.5 lakh kms being sold by a Mahindra dealership's used car section. The price quoted is 4.85L INR and they are willing to come down to 4.6L.
Short answer - No.

The previous gen Rexton had a few issues/ niggles - and a costly parts list too. Unless you have a pressing reason, look at something else!
ph03n!x is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th October 2020, 21:30   #222

Originally Posted by TD_GHY View Post
Definitely not! 1.5L kms is a lot and spares may also be an issue later on. Unless you have no better option like say a pajero sport or a fortuner only then look at the rexton.

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 6th October 2020 at 21:31.
CEF_Beasts is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th October 2020, 11:10   #223

Did you buy the Rexton? If yes then please share your experience
noddy308 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th October 2023, 15:34   #224

Hi fellow BHPians,

I am looking for an AC front panel for 2014 Rexton RX7. The AC and control buttons are all working fine, just the illuminated panel has gone kaput. Apparently, a very common problem in that Rexton version.

Mahindra ASC has stock but, it's being quoted at INR 37k. Want to avoid that big of a punch, if I can. Thus, even seconds will do.

This is what I am after: https://www.getelectronic.net/produc...68700-08d11hel

Any pointers will be highly appreciated.
Mahindra launches the SsangYong Rexton @ 17.67 - 19.67 lacs-screenshot_20231014_152614_chrome.jpg