Old 10th January 2016, 17:12   #31

re: The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh

Originally Posted by karan561 View Post
...IMO the new 5'er looks really promising in these above spy pics

Is it the wheels adding to the looks or those new style exhaust tips or the new lines ? Looking forward ...
I think it's the wheels adding to the looks. I personally am not a big fan of the new lines. In my opinion, the E60 to F10 was a step down, but this seems worse! Hopefully the car will look much better without the camouflage..

Last edited by khan_sultan : 5th February 2019 at 15:12. Reason: edited quoted post for better readability
huracan.lp580 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th September 2016, 12:16   #32

Tail Lights revealed;

The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh-5series.jpg

Full Teaser Video;

karan561 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th September 2016, 12:15   #33

Thread moved to the Indian Car Scene.
Old 13th September 2016, 11:02   #34

Well, this is it;

The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh-01473590903.jpeg

The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh-01473590905.jpeg

Image Source
karan561 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 18th September 2016, 01:43   #35

A lot has been revealed in this video;

karan561 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th September 2016, 08:56   #36

Originally Posted by karan561 View Post
Well, this is it;

Is it just me or does this resemble the new 7 series quite a lot? In fact, looks like the little brother of the 7.

I know this topic is fairly subjective, however, personally speaking - It looks somewhat boring. I know this is an executive saloon thus the executive looks. But still, BMW follows the motto of the ultimate driving machine.

Therefore, why didn't they give this a slight character like they did with the F30? (Aggressive front stance which almost screams - "I AM ANGRY").

Oh well. Maybe I am stretching my imagination a little too much here.

Last edited by khan_sultan : 5th February 2019 at 15:13. Reason: edited quoted post for better readability
rahul_jo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th September 2016, 09:26   #37

Relevant import data:

The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh-capture.jpg

Old 19th September 2016, 09:47   #38

The new Mercedes C & E class were radically different from the previous 2 models. The S too. The new Audi A4 looks almost identical to the old one. Now the 5 series looks similar to the previous model. Well we may be able to see the difference, but will the Aam Janta be able to spot the difference?
Old 19th September 2016, 22:33   #39

In this month's CAR (the original UK edition), I was reading Georg Kacher's verdict (one of the most respected independent journalists out there) after driving three prototypes - 540, 530Xd and a 530i.

Verdict - nice, driver focussed but its merely a scaled down 7. It does not move the game on compared to its predecessor. The E class has really moved the game on in terms of fit, finish, styling and technology compared to its predecessor. The forthcoming A6 has its work cut out

Last edited by ajmat : 20th September 2016 at 08:23.
ajmat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th September 2016, 23:18   #40

Scoop: 2016 BMW 5 Series (next-gen) caught testing. EDIT: Imported into India

Originally Posted by rahul_jo View Post
Is it just me or does this resemble the new 7 series quite a lot? In fact, looks like the little brother of the 7.

I know this topic is fairly subjective, however, personally speaking - It looks somewhat boring. I know this is an executive saloon thus the executive looks. But still, BMW follows the motto of the ultimate driving machine.

Therefore, why didn't they give this a slight character like they did with the F30? (Aggressive front stance which almost screams - "I AM ANGRY").

Oh well. Maybe I am stretching my imagination a little too much here.

You are correct in your point of view, the upcoming 5 series is definitely a scaled down version of the 7'er.

This design language of marriage of grille + headlamps was set by the F30( but an angrier face) We will have to wait till the new gen 3 series is out which should borrow the design cues from the 'i models' & then likewise the 7 & 5 will copy that

Last edited by karan561 : 19th September 2016 at 23:33.
karan561 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th September 2016, 22:00   #41

Originally Posted by rahul_jo View Post

But still, BMW follows the motto of the ultimate driving machine. Maybe I am stretching my imagination a little too much here.
I don't think BMW themselves would agree they make 'ultimate driving machines' anymore since the move to more comfort oriented mass-market pleasing vehicles that have to be soft and cushioned so their brand conscious, but non enthusiast clientele (majority) is cocooned from the road and actual driving feedback. Infact in the US they've changed the slogan to "sheer driving pleasure" as the video above shows since they can't obviously claim 'ultimate' in the era of McLarens and Paganis.

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
In this month's CAR (the original UK edition), I was reading Georg Kacher's verdict - It does not move the game on compared to its predecessor.
No doubt. BMW has been caught with their pants down trying to sell some fake 'carbon-core' hype and a mere evolutionary car from the F10 as an all-new chassis code G30 would suggest. Infact most test drives have put the new G-series cars from BMW as unnecessarily focused on cost cutting.

Here's a cheesy but first car-to-car comparo for the new 7 v the S:

(Carbon-core discussion from 10min 30sec in video)
Activ8 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th September 2016, 23:34   #42

Closest look of the G30 5'er;

The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh-bmw-5-series-m-sport-2.jpg

I have a feeling we might end up liking this design

Source: Bimmerpost

Last edited by karan561 : 26th September 2016 at 23:37.
Old 27th September 2016, 00:24   #43

Question is to wait for new 530D or to purchase the current gen 530D ? Suggestions guys ?
Old 27th September 2016, 09:19   #44

to wait for new 530D or to purchase the current gen 530D ? Suggestions guys ?
Probably wait for launch or near to, as of now discounts on 530-D are not more than 3-4 lac unless you are getting something better it will be a good idea to wait and to go for last units at large discounts. We will have more details of the new one at that time so you can take an informed decision but only if you can wait and have patience
Old 1st October 2016, 12:08   #45

This render claims to be 100% accurate representation of the production car (after a closed door presentation organised by BMW in Latvia for prospective owners yesterday)

The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh-d519caes960.jpg

Image Source: Carscoops
karan561 is offline   (3) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com