Old 24th November 2015, 12:10   #1
//M

The 2016 Hyundai Tucson. EDIT: Launched

Mod Note: Our Hyundai Tucson Review has been taken live at this link. Please continue the discussion over on the new thread. Thanks!

Autocar India reports that Hyundai is likely to launch the new Tucson here soon as a CBU.

The new 2016 Tucson (also known as ix35 in some markets) looks great as a soft-roader, it will rival the Honda CR-V, and might just undercut the popular Fortuner and new Endeavour.

Source: ACI

Hyundai India is planning to launch the new Tucson SUV in India. The new Tucson is Hyundai’s only SUV which is not on sale yet in India. Currently in its third generation, the new car was shown at the Geneva Motor Show in 2015 and features an attractive modern design that brings it in line with Hyundai’s biggest SUV – the Santa Fe. Known internally as the TL, the new Tucson gets Hyundai’s big new hexagonal grille up front, elongated headlamps that stretch all the way from the grille to the fenders and heavily stylised fog lamp enclosures that contain two individual lighting elements.

There are two diesels on offer – a 114bhp, 1.7-litre engine that is shared with the i30, and a much punchier 182bhp, 2.0-litre motor that has recently been re-tuned to help it run at Euro VI emission levels. While there are dual-clutch gearboxes available on the petrol versions, the diesels get a traditional six-speed automatic. Hyundai is likely to import the Tucson initially with a starting price of approximately Rs 18 lakh, which will allow it to undercut its long-time rival, the Honda CR-V. Company insiders think it will be much more successful than big sedans like the Sonata. It won’t be the first time the Tucson has made it to India though; Hyundai sold the original one briefly in 2005 for between Rs 14-15 lakh.
The 2016 Hyundai Tucson. EDIT: Launched-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20151121042548_tx1-copy.jpg  

The 2016 Hyundai Tucson. EDIT: Launched-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20151121042601_tx5.jpg  

The 2016 Hyundai Tucson. EDIT: Launched-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20151121042602_tx6.jpg  

The 2016 Hyundai Tucson. EDIT: Launched-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20151121042559_tx3.jpg  

The 2016 Hyundai Tucson. EDIT: Launched-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20151121042600_tx4.jpg  

Last edited by Aditya : 4th April 2017 at 11:03.
//M is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 24th November 2015, 12:27   #2

re: The 2016 Hyundai Tucson. EDIT: Launched

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : Please do NOT post messages that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the quality of this forum.

Please read our rules before proceeding any further. We request you to post ONLY when you have something substantial to add to a discussion.

Last edited by GTO : 24th November 2015 at 13:32.
rahul_jo is offline   Received Infraction
Old 24th November 2015, 12:30   #3

This is great. Now we will have the missing link on the menu card of, what is now a very crowded section of, Hyundai.

Still awaiting a 7 seat crossover.
The 2016 Hyundai Tucson. EDIT: Launched-hyundai.jpg  

Keerthivasan is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 24th November 2015, 12:35   #4

Looks like a neat step above Creta, and those who want a bigger SUV than Creta and may not want a Santa Fe yet, can explore Tucson. (From the picture it looks like a 5 seater, am I right?).
IMHO, Hyundai should do the manufacturing of this SUV here, so they can offer it under 20L OTR, with some lower models slightly overlapping the SX+ range of Creta. Bringing in as CBU, will obviously put the prices on the higher side, and may not really able to sell any numbers, considering the Fortuner's dominance, and Hyundai's weak presence here.
Hyundai has a chance here, as step by step, they are moving up in the value chain, and majority of the customers are now willing to put up to 17L of their money into a Hyundai. Though there are Hyundai cars available till 35L (Santa Fe) they were not able to set the charts on fire.
Manufacture Tucsan here, and you will have a lot of customers in the 20L bracket!
hybridpetrol is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th November 2015, 12:56   #5

I have driven the new Tucson.

The one I drove had a 2.4 lit Petrol motor with 176 bhp, coupled with a very smooth A/T transmission and AWD.

The vehicle is very refined and the cabin feels nice and premium. NVH is really well controlled and this is cheaper than the Mazda CX-5 and Honda CRV (it's competition in UAE) by atleast 1.5 Lacs INR.

It also had lots of safety features which I have never heard of in this segment.

I am not sure how Hyundai will spec the Indian Tucson, but I think it will cost about 17-21 Lacs on road.
raj_5004 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th November 2015, 13:40   #6

18 lakhs is a load of bull. When the locally built top-end Creta costs 14 lakhs ex-showroom, and over 16 lakhs on the road, there is no way a CBU Tucson will come in at 18 lakhs. It will be priced higher.

Import duties, 2.0 liter diesel, more equipment - they're all going to add up the $$$. There is a big gap between the Creta & Santa Fe (starting at 27 lakhs), but Hyundai will have to manage it delicately. Say, targeting those who want more than the Creta, but not the size / price of the Santa Fe.
GTO is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 24th November 2015, 13:47   #7

There are two diesels on offer – a 114bhp, 1.7-litre engine that is shared with the i30, and a much punchier 182bhp, 2.0-litre motor that has recently been re-tuned to help it run at Euro VI emission levels.
The current 1.6-litre engines under Hyundai stable belt out in excess of 125 BHP and this "Probable" 1.7-litre engine puts out only 114bhp??
Is there some error here or am I missing something !!

Also, with Santa-Fe already occupying the "25+ lakh" bracket and Creta retailing at about 18 lakhs, Hyundai will have to price this quite accurately if and when they launch it.
Vik0728 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th November 2015, 14:02   #8

I don't think Hyundai has to park it right in between the Creta and Santa Fe. It should be very close to Santa Fe, starting somewhere around 22 lakhs+, evident from how they have priced it in other parts of this planet.
Old 24th November 2015, 14:07   #9

Manufacturers running out of design ideas already? The alloys look like they are a rip-off from the current generation Golf GTI:

The 2016 Hyundai Tucson. EDIT: Launched-00802762i.jpg
(Source: Google Images)
Gannu_1 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 24th November 2015, 16:25   #10

The new design language resembles Kia Sportage. I assume both the cars share the same chassis, however, Kia Sportage costs less Vis-à-vis.
Old 24th November 2015, 17:59   #11

The Tucson is a lovely car and I have driven it a few times on rental. But I cant fathom how Hyundai can market the Tucson when it is not that much bigger than the Creta (which I believe is already overpriced by at least 1-2 Lakhs across the range).

I agree with GTO and they will most likely price the mid-range around the mid twenties OTR and the top tier may potentially touch the very high twenties. Now that is dangerous territory where the alphas prowl. I am talking about the upcoming Fortuner, Everest and Pajero trio which are all big butch SUV's that make a solid statement on the road.

They might be biting on more than they can chew with this one. Unless off course their corporate strategy is to place a Hyundai at all levels of the buyers spectrum just for the brand recognition. This is exactly what Toyota used to do and once they couldn't bump into the higher segments with the same brand, they launched the Lexus range as their ultra premium offering.
varmax is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th November 2015, 18:14   #12

Sadly, Tucson is only a 5 seater. I really feel our market needs a 7 seat soft-roader with cozy interior unlike body-on-frame SUVs like Fortuner, Pajero at a reasonable price. Santa Fe is priced on the higher side. Something like a Skoda Snowman or a VW CrossBlue would be an ideal example. I don't see what additional value Tucson brings apart from AWD compared to the Creta.

The 2016 Hyundai Tucson. EDIT: Launched-tucson.png
super.cars is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th November 2015, 20:14   #13

I do not think that a CBU will be priced less than 22L ex-showroom. Even if it is 1.5L less than CRV abroad, it will definitely be more with a diesel engine here.
Aroy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th November 2015, 02:40   #14

A pseudo SUV, Creta costs over 18L on road! and Tucson to cost 20L? Only in your dreams. Nothing less than 24L on road Bangalore. Tucson is supposed to be to placed below SantaFe, which is almost 30L on road. And oh yeah, forgot, a CBU!!
Old 25th November 2015, 09:01   #15

Originally Posted by sooraj.naik View Post
The new design language resembles Kia Sportage. I assume both the cars share the same chassis, however, Kia Sportage costs less Vis-à-vis.
Have you seen the new Sportage? The Tucson look far far better than the Sportage.

Have a look and get a shock of your life -

The 2016 Hyundai Tucson. EDIT: Launched-2016kiasportagefrontlarge.jpg

The rear admittedly looks nice -

The 2016 Hyundai Tucson. EDIT: Launched-kiasportagenew20150002.jpg
raj_5004 is offline   (1) Thanks