Old 8th December 2015, 18:44   #1

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh

Mod Note: Our Varicor 400 Report has been taken live at this link. Please continue the discussion over on the new thread. Thanks!

A few days ago, we had reported the leaked prices and details of the Tata Safari Storme with the Varicor 400 engine (link to news article). Tata has now formally announced the launch of this SUV with a more powerful heart.

The talking point of this update is the 2.2L Varicor 400 engine which produces 154 BHP and 400 Nm of torque. It is mated to a new 6-speed manual transmission and is equipped with a 260mm self-adjusting clutch. This SUV can propel from 0-100 kph in under 13 seconds and has an ARAI rating of 13.9 kmpl.

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-6speed.jpg

The Storme will be available with the VX variant with both - 4x2 and 4x4 options. The 4-wheel drive version can be engaged on-the-go with its ESOF (electronic shift-on-fly) feature and the SUV is also fitted with a limited slip differential.

The Storme VX also boasts of features such as the new infotainment system with 6-speakers by Harman. It gets Bluetooth, CD, MP3, USB, Aux-in and i-Pod connectivity, audio streaming and a reverse parking sensor display.

This SUV is available in 5 colours - Arctic Silver, Urban Bronze, Pearl White, Astern Black and Arctic White. 3 year or 1,00,000 km warranty is standard on the Storme (extendable upto 4 years or 1,50,000 kms).

Ex-showroom Delhi prices for the Storme Varicor 400 are:
4x2: Rs. 13,25,530
4x4: Rs. 14,59,952

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh-astern-black-2-small_hr.jpg

In case you have missed our official review for the 2015 Safari Storme, click here.

Last edited by GTO : 31st December 2015 at 10:38. Reason: Linking to review
S2!!! is offline   (26) Thanks
Old 8th December 2015, 19:12   #2

Re: Tata Safari Storme Varicor 400 launched at Rs. 13.25 lakh

Looks like a Poor man's Land Rover!
Very similar looking grills and the Chrome with Storme embossed. Good to see all these updated features on a 154 BHP Engine with 4X4!
Old 8th December 2015, 20:34   #3

Tata....why on earth can't you give an automatic transmission on this amazing vehicle. As usual you are a couple of years off the market needs. :banghead:
himanshugoswami is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 8th December 2015, 21:48   #4

Originally Posted by S2!!! View Post
In case you have missed our official review for the 2015 Safari Storme, click here.
And here comes the beast !!

Feeling elated. Such is the aspirational value of the Storme.

@S2 : Is there an official review/drive planned for this Storme update ?
Old 8th December 2015, 22:06   #5

Originally Posted by mayank0782 View Post
Is there an official review/drive planned for this Storme update ?
As far as I know, Tata haven't still allotted the new Varicor 400 vehicles to their media fleet. If and when we do get to test this SUV, expect a review not before mid Jan 2016.
S2!!! is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 9th December 2015, 00:31   #6

Somehow against all this bashing which people gather to immediately after any news comes from the Tata stable, i really feel Tata is doing good and different at least. Rather than offering plasticky chinese gadgetry, touch screens and what not's and charging exorbitant prices also, spending huge amounts on ads, Tata is providing things which matter especially in Storme. This is indeed a great initiative to bring on a more powerful and rev happy engine though i would say the previous Storme was itself well powered but more power is always welcome.

As mentioned many a times, storme is one of the most comfortable SUV's to be in at least below the 25-30 lac segment & it has graduated to be a very reliable vehicle as mentioned by many fellow bhpians. I have spent good 3 yrs with my Storme and believe me everyday has been- time well spent with her. With the 13.25 lac mark for a 154 Bhp beast, i really believe its a bang for each buck spent and looking at the prices of vehicles these days, its sensible pricing for a good product. O and that 0-100 thingy
NST440 is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 9th December 2015, 11:51   #7

Way to go TATA.
How I wish this was offered 2 - 3 years ago. I too own a Storme 2012 and it is indeed the most comfortable SUV on road and even off-road.
No doubt Storme falls behind in features, when compared to Scorpio or XUV, which people immediately compare it with, but undoubtedly Storme is much much better than the other two in terms of driving pleasure and comfort. XUV might e good on road but it is not a SUV.
Rear wheel drive rules.
I fall in love with my Storme every day and every time I drive it.
v_safari is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th December 2015, 17:14   #8

The big daddy comes even more stronger.

Storme VX costs Rs.13.10 lacs for 4*2 and Rs.14.43 lacs for 4*4
Storme VX 400 costs Rs.13.25 lacs for 4*2 and Rs.14.59 lacs for 4*4
(Ex. showroom Delhi)

Thats VFM pricing, for only 15 K additional cost you get

1. 6 PS more power (website mentions power as 156 PS vs 150 PS)
2. 80 NM more torque (@ a slightly higher RPM, 1750 vs 1700)
3. 6 Speed gear box

The 400 weighs 15 Kgs more than regular variant for 4*2 and 110 Kgs for 4*4 variant.

Kudos to TATA Motors for not offering only cosmetic change and focused on the crux of the machine - the engine

0-100 in 13 seconds, considering the safari weighs 2.5 tons, this figure is impressive and speaks a lot about the engine

I sense there would be lot of posts about what TATA failed to offer, say an AT, and TATA's deficiency in A.S.S department. Lets refrain from those and appreciate a product for what it is, after all our desi manufacturer is improving. Lets focus on the Varicor 400

Eagerly awaiting the official review to know more about how the engine performs

Data source: http://safari.tatamotors.com/

Last edited by Karthik Chandra : 9th December 2015 at 17:20.
Karthik Chandra is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 9th December 2015, 17:47   #9

Here is the Safari 400 NM video!

Latheesh is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th December 2015, 18:28   #10

Originally Posted by S2!!! View Post
As far as I know, Tata haven't still allotted the new Varicor 400 vehicles to their media fleet. If and when we do get to test this SUV, expect a review not before mid Jan 2016.
I have already tested this, its available at Pandit auto pune for test drive since 3/4 weeks now

here is my short review
"Had a 20 kms test drive of the new 400 nm Storme. The new 6 speed gbx has good ratios , but is as notchy as the earlier ones. The pick up is very good. The toque can be felt across the revv range. However the engine noise was a bit more. May be it was due to the brand new vehicle which had done only 12 kms.
The Storme now cruises very easily at 110 kmph in the sixth gear at 2000 rpms. The torque keeps pulling the car smoothly. I bet the mileage on the highways will be better due to this."

Originally Posted by himanshugoswami View Post
Tata....why on earth can't you give an automatic transmission on this amazing vehicle. As usual you are a couple of years off the market needs. :banghead:
Dont bang your head its already ready with a ZF six speed auto. Hold on to the horses.

Last edited by amit_mechengg : 9th December 2015 at 18:30.
amit_mechengg is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 9th December 2015, 18:39   #11

What a beast! I guess they've completed all work on the 400NM iteration of the 2.2L engine & the 6 speed gear box.

To those wondering why launch a product at the end of 3rd quarter, in December when sales are typically least, I'd say IMO TATA is more of an engineering company & they probably wanted to get the tech out to the consumers ASAP than wait & integrate tweaks to the interiors / cosmetic features.

Also, I'm seeing signs of TATA Motors improving ads! Their original Safari ads gave adrenaline rush to quite many, hope this is a step in that direction!
WorkingGuru is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2015, 19:22   #12

Originally Posted by amit_mechengg View Post
I have already tested this, its available at Pandit auto pune for test drive since 3/4 weeks now

here is my short review
"Had a 20 kms test drive of the new 400 nm Storme. The new 6 speed gbx has good ratios , but is as notchy as the earlier ones. The pick up is very good. The toque can be felt across the revv range. However the engine noise was a bit more. May be it was due to the brand new vehicle which had done only 12 kms.
The Storme now cruises very easily at 110 kmph in the sixth gear at 2000 rpms. The torque keeps pulling the car smoothly. I bet the mileage on the highways will be better due to this."

Dont bang your head its already ready with a ZF six speed auto. Hold on to the horses.
Appreciate the quick review.

Are you saying work is already on for 6 speed AT for STORME ? If so, do you know anything about the launch date ?

Prem.
Old 9th December 2015, 19:25   #13
M35

This is what I had posted on the Storme thread dated 2nd May 2014.
  • A front facing third row
  • A redesigned central console with a neatly integrated Harmon + a couple of new tech thrown in
  • 150 PS and 320Nm of torque, a bonus
  • An optional 4x4 Lx
  • An aggressive marketing to let people/mass at the ground level know the changes incorporated
And see how this very capable SUV start taking off from showrooms and achieving the numbers it deserves.
Not sure what the marketing folks at TaMo continue to smoke, I am definitely convinced. The additional power at your disposal + that 6-speed stick are good enough to make the pricing just right for me now. let's call a spade a spade.

Yes, I am a proud owner of a 2009 Scorpio M-hawk and a Storme 400 VX is right up there, as I am contemplating an 'upgrade'.

Last edited by M35 : 9th December 2015 at 19:27.
M35 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2015, 19:42   #14

Originally Posted by M35 View Post
This is what I had posted on the Storme thread dated 2nd May 2014.

Yes, I am a proud owner of a 2009 Scorpio M-hawk and a Storme 400 VX is right up there, as I am contemplating an 'upgrade'.
Don't. wait for 6 months, with the GST coming in, the engine bedded and niggles (if any) sorted out, may be an auto box plonked in, it would be the right time to upgrade to a Storme, may be a Hexa or something like the new Endevour.
apachelongbow is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 9th December 2015, 22:42   #15

Originally Posted by apachelongbow View Post
...wait for 6 months, ...
Yeah, that's true but (Link) Apparently there's a price hike of ~30,000/- across car makers post January.