20s 628 64.28%
30s 302 30.91%
40s 23 2.35%
50s 2 0.20%
60+ 1 0.10%
Voters: 977. You may not vote on this poll

Old 10th March 2022, 13:59   #136

Re: How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?

My beloved Kabini. I got it about an year ago, at 25.

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-20201221_17302101.jpeg
svartpilen is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 10th March 2022, 14:03   #137

First car bought without family support was a Humble Daewoo Matiz of MY 1999 bought on 10.10.10, i.e. on 10th October of 2010.

At the age of 25 year it was becoming difficult to travel via public transportation because of my Ankylosing spondylitis . Auto rickshaw drivers in Pune have been notorious to fleece you for every Paisa in your pocket. The only remaining option was to buy a car. And I did buy it after a thorough search on OLX or Sulekha.com. Can't remember which was it.
Price quoted was Rs. 83k and seller came down to a meagre Rs. 58k. I was super happy to buy it.

One interesting incident: just few days after buying it, I took my then girlfriend ( &now wife ) to a treat , celebrating the first car feeling. However the Automotive god wanted to teach me a lesson right in front of her. Car broke down at a signal and refused to start. After embarassing 20-30 mins I had to say my girlfriend goodnight and called the mechanic suggested by previous owner. He came with a car and towed the Matiz to his garage.

Issue later came to be a failed alternator which was repaired or replaced. Mechanic also gave a good service to car and a valuable and very basic lesson learnt - get your car serviced on time and keep it tip top to avoid any unpleasant situation.
How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-img_2_1646900196618.jpg

A 25 year young me with my first car.
Strider24 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 10th March 2022, 14:09   #138

While we had three cars in the family through the 80s and 90s, starting with the humble Fiat 1100D and then moving on to a Matiz and Indica V2 with the Indica coexisting with the Matiz, it is only in the noughties and my mid thirties that I could finally afford to buy my own car. All the above cars were purchased by my father although he had transferred the ownership of the Matiz to me when he got the Indica.

The first car I bought with my own money was the Green Goblin or in other words the Chevrolet Beat LT LPG which I got in May 2011. Went for Chevy because of the free three year service and maintenance guarantee (worth its weight in gold as multiple things conked off within the first 3 years and I never had to pay a penny for anything including regular service) plus the availability of the LPG option.

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-10.jpg

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-dscn3465.jpg

Have not regretted the decision despite the fact that Chevy has left India and maintaining the car now is neither easy nor cheap. Unfortunately, the car has never been trouble free unlike my other car the Vista. Even now, the AC is not working for the umpteenth time and another visit to the FNG is due to fix that. On the positive side, the car is spacious and comfortable for 4 people (has negligible boot space though), drives well and has a soft plush ride (upgrading the tyres improved the body roll issue) and it is extremely cheap to run in LPG mode (less than Rs. 5 per km fuel cost as on date).

We use it as the beater car these days and for that it perfectly serves our purpose. It has done over a lakh kms and considering that we will get almost zilch resale value, getting rid of it is not on the agenda unless it becomes really difficult or costly to maintain or we get a cheap and comfortable EV option with good range to use as the beater car. (Tata are you listening? Please launch a Tiago EV with 200 kms real world range at less than 10L OTR)
Neversaygbye is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 10th March 2022, 14:23   #139

My first car was a pre-owned Swift VXI 2007 model. Bought it in 2013 when I was 33.

Name:  Car.jpg
Views: 366
Size:  43.5 KB
autohead666 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th March 2022, 14:25   #140

The humble Maruti zen estilo, my first car. I bought when I was 26. It served me good 10 years and then got sold at more than half of the original cost. . I had no reason to sell it but with bigger family I needed a bigger car.

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-gridart_20220310_141707775.jpg
sushantk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th March 2022, 14:25   #141

Bought my dream car back then when I was 25, used 2003 Zen lxi.
I still have very fond memories of her and it is still in good hands, sold to a close friend of mine, I still get to see/drive her
How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-54053_451089094984_8237520_o.jpg  

skyliner34 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th March 2022, 14:31   #142

All the cars we owned in India are either fully or partially owned by my father.

My first own car is a humble pre-worshipped 2005 VW Touran which i bought at the age of 29 in 2018. I have few pictures and memories of this before selling at a mere 6 months of ownership looking for an Automatic Audi.

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-img_7005.jpg

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-img_6573.jpg

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-img_5432.jpg
Parked side by side with the Legend
Herr_Autobahn is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th March 2022, 14:39   #143

First car was a 1984 944, bought in 1994 when I was 25.
Name:  944.jpg
Views: 345
Size:  49.5 KB

Second car (which was what I wanted as first car) was a 1984 911, bought in 1995.
Name:  911.jpg
Views: 351
Size:  21.4 KB
RedOne is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 10th March 2022, 15:06   #144

Just bought it 2 days back. At 25 y and 11 months. A dying breed yet full of life!!

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-inked20220307_152356_li.jpg

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-20220307_144303.jpg

Though my first set of wheels bought from my own money was a pre worshipped RS200 in 2019 -

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motor...sar-rs200.html (Blue and white shades of love! My pre-owned Bajaj Pulsar RS200)

All other cars were bought by my dad before these.

~NA.
na_agrawal is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 10th March 2022, 15:14   #145

I bought my first car when I was 26. It was the Hyundai Accent CRDi.
I also paid some extra money for a Fancy number plate at that time.

Kept the car for close to a decade and clocked 98,000 kms before the 3 Cylinder Diesel started having some issues and I replaced the car.

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-img_1524.jpg

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-img_1710.jpg

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-p1020385.jpg
Old 10th March 2022, 15:23   #146

Originally Posted by na_agrawal View Post
Just bought it 2 days back. At 25 y and 11 months. A dying breed yet full of life!!

~NA.
Congratulation na_agrawal, on this beauty.
I am a bit envious though because I was trying to get the exact same variant & color but in Bangalore since Jan 2022 but dealers here plainly refused to take the booking stating they have no visibility on its availability.
CafeRacer16 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 10th March 2022, 15:30   #147

I purchased Pulsar 180F in 2019 with my own money as I always loved the 220 styling since its launch in 2006.

Now for my first car purchase, I have booked Astor in Style variant. Keeping my fingers crossed that I get its delivery in 2022 itself.
Old 10th March 2022, 15:45   #148

I was 22 and a student pursuing my masters. Bought a used (obviously) 1994 Mazda Protege for $2000 with original KBB value of over $3500. The seller had already moved to another city and entrusted his room mate to sell that off, at throwaway price. Bank rejected my loan application as I had no credit history and had to borrow $2000 from my brother to finance that!

Me with the "newly bought car" in 2001!
How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-mazda4.jpg
A few more that spring
How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-mazda-7.jpg
One in the university parking lot:
How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-mazda6.jpg

Very soon, I also made a my first road trip to California from Indiana in midwest, all solo, took 4 days to reach.

Wyoming looked like a desolated place on moon to the first time:
How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-mazda5.jpg

Somewhere in Wyoming on Interstate-80:Near a gas station in middle of nowhere:
How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-mazda1.jpg

And somewhere on Nevada-California border on I-80.
First time I encountered the snow laden Sierra Nevada range:
How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-mazda2.jpg

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-mazda3.jpg

Most memorable trip yet! Only regret is I was alone.
Most precious car forever!
OffRoadFun is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 10th March 2022, 15:52   #149

As soon as I started working, I wanted a car. It was after all one of the reasons I was waiting to start earning. My dad had a Premier Padmini in which I hardly got a chance to sit, and it was sold off before I even turned 10. After that, we could never afford a car.

Once I began working, I convinced my then girlfriend, now wife, that we can get one within a couple of years. She did. For herself and her family We got the Ford Figo, ever so slightly revamped, 1st gen base model.

Eventually, I waited around 5 years and got the Ford Figo Trend+ 2nd gen Petrol, which would be my first car!

Here's a pic of me taking delivery and a consequent pic with both of us clearly highlighting our preferences

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-20160725_180920.jpg

How old were you when you bought your first car with your own money?-screenshot-20220310-154152.png

Last edited by shyamg28 : 10th March 2022 at 15:54.
shyamg28 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 10th March 2022, 15:58   #150

Nice thread.
I got first bike (Apache RTR 160) when I was 21 & first car (Grand I10) when I was 26.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com