Old 18th January 2023, 14:58   #31

re: Next-gen BMW X1, now launched at 45.90 lakhs!

Suddenly 2018 model M-Sport 2.0 TDI AWD with 8 speed TC is looking attractive. Will be interesting to wait and watch the per-owned X1 prices going up with increase in demand. ��
Chethan B G is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 18th January 2023, 15:11   #32

I can totally envision the VW Taigun 1.5 TSI DSG owner, with his 150 hp and 250 NM engine leaving the owner of the spanking new BMW X1 18i, (with only a measly 136 hp/230NM), in the dust as he accelerates away into the distance. What is more, the X1 would have cost the surprised BMW owner almost thrice as much as the Taigun

Then he will be passed by the Seltos 1.4, Creta 1.4, Carens 1.4, the Kushaq 1.4, the XUV700 and several other mid-size SUVs as he helplessly floors the throttle and look on!

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 18th January 2023 at 15:13.
84.monsoon is online now   (24) Thanks
Old 18th January 2023, 15:41   #33

Originally Posted by CEF_Beasts View Post
This new gen U11 X1 looks so good, only if it had more powerful engines to back those stylish looks. Would’ve been one killer package and it is just as big on space as a X3.
And perhaps that's exactly the reason why they shoved a puny engine in this, not to cannibalise X3 sales?

But boy, it does look GOOD!
inwester is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th January 2023, 20:19   #34

Originally Posted by Chethan B G View Post
Suddenly 2018 model M-Sport 2.0 TDI AWD with 8 speed TC is looking attractive. Will be interesting to wait and watch the per-owned X1 prices going up with increase in demand. ��
Off-course F48 is a better deal, this new U11 without any iDrive control and narrower rear seats is going to be a disaster. Don't think of selling since these new ones are technically a downgrade.
adi58 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st January 2023, 11:00   #35

Folks, I have created an analysis of the upcoming CAFE 2 norms and the implications for BMW, that may explain the rationale behind the apparently bizarre choice of engines and variants that BMW is putting out in the Indian market - e.g. Launching the X1 only in the 118d/118i guise and 3 series LCI only in LWB varints. This is on the 3 series LWB thread, cross-referencing here as it may be relevant to those looking at the new X1.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...ml#post5479969 (BMW 3 Series Gran Limousine facelift launched at Rs 57.90 lakh)
84.monsoon is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 21st January 2023, 22:46   #36

Given the GLA is the hottest selling car in its segment, maybe it is guiding others to follow suit. While enthusiasts such as on this forum scoff at the “puny” 150 hp petrol, if this is what the average luxury buyers cares for (luxury feel over power/performance) then I guess others will take notice. This logic obviously assumes that the GLA numbers have a fair representation from the petrol model and not just the awesome diesel one. At this rate, if Q3 follows up with CKD, it will likely be their 1.5 TFSI model! Though I personally think that over a long run, losing performance edge in the cars over non luxury rivals will degrade the luxury badge value, and is a wrong direction for this segment.
Lux_Noob is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 28th January 2023, 12:51   #37

BMW X1 is being launched now. Live.

https://www.youtube.com/live/1pxaYToEjkE?feature=share

As expected X1 is powered by 1.5 L 3 cylinder petrol and 2 L diesel producing "134hp" and "148hp" respectively (in the presenter's own words) and can do a 0-100 kmph in 9.2 seconds and 8.9 seconds respectively. Now, for comparison, a Rs 19 lakh Mahindra EV does that in 8.3 seconds.

The body language of the presenter betrays it all. He seems very nervous and seems to be in a hurry to finish this off an get away rather than answering uncomfortable questions about the engine downgrade compared to the previous generation.

So they have priced it right between Audi Q3 and Mercedes GLA @ Rs 45.95 lacs for the petrol version. The diesel variant is priced at Rs 47.90 lacs ex showroom.

https://www.autocarindia.com/car-new...95-lakh-427007

Hyundai Ioniq5 and Volvo XC40 recharge make more sense now than ever!

Last edited by Geta : 28th January 2023 at 13:20.
Geta is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th January 2023, 12:56   #38

BMW India has launched the all new X1. Introductory prices for petrol start from Rs 45.95 lakh. Diesel has been priced at Rs 47.90 lakh.

Petrol (sDrive 18i)

1.5-litre, three-cylinder

136hp and 230Nm

0-100kph in 9.2sec

FE : 15.03kpl
Diesel (sDrive 18d)

2.0-litre, four-cylinder

150hp and 360Nm

0-100kph 8.9sec

FE : 19.23kpl
Both engines come mated to a 7-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox, with power being sent to the front wheels only.
Next-gen BMW X1, now launched at 45.90 lakhs!-fb_img_1674891820214.jpg

Next-gen BMW X1, now launched at 45.90 lakhs!-fb_img_1674891822934.jpg

Next-gen BMW X1, now launched at 45.90 lakhs!-fb_img_1674891825542.jpg

Name:  20230128125820_Untitled.jpg
Views: 1418
Size:  71.2 KB

Name:  20230128010123_Untitled_2_.jpg
Views: 1430
Size:  74.0 KB

Next-gen BMW X1, now launched at 45.90 lakhs!-20230128_125541.jpg

Next-gen BMW X1, now launched at 45.90 lakhs!-20230128_125544.jpg

Next-gen BMW X1, now launched at 45.90 lakhs!-20230128_130612.jpg

Next-gen BMW X1, now launched at 45.90 lakhs!-20230128_130614.jpg

Next-gen BMW X1, now launched at 45.90 lakhs!-20230128_130617.jpg

Next-gen BMW X1, now launched at 45.90 lakhs!-20230128_130621.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 28th January 2023 at 13:20.
Venkatesh is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 28th January 2023, 13:26   #39

I guess with this smaller engine, bmw has lost its final armour. Cars in 15 to 25 lakhs bracket now offer more powerful petrol engine compared to bmw X1 and that too at 50% price! Also give standard 4 cylinders and not bargain for 3!

Maybe bmw is expecting people to pay 30 lakhs for brand name and better build quality (assuming! Not sure how much better than cheaper alts!!)
manpreetsj is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 28th January 2023, 14:04   #40

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
BMW India has launched the all new X1 in India. Introductory prices for petrol start from Rs 45.95 lakh. Diesel has been priced at Rs 47.90 lakh.
So the prices have gone up by almost 11 lakhs when comparing current Xline versions to the newer starting range compared to what we had spent in 2016. If we consider the 2016 Expedition the difference is almost 17 lakhs. That's too much when the power has gone down and conventional AT replaced by DCT.

BMW seems to have addressed one of the major drawbacks with the current X1 being the lack of bling features. But while doing that they have traded off the strong powertrains that make a BMW what it is. The 2.0 litre diesel with Aisin AT is a very good combo offering good performance while being smooth too. DCT should shift faster and I'm hoping they have smoothened out the city driving experience.

Even I used to be unhappy with the relatively less gadgetry in the X1 but after living with the car for 6 years, I've started appreciating the core fundamentals of this car. The novelty of all those electronic wizardry wears off soon, but the strong mechanicals & engineering keeps rewarding when you are behind the wheel. Despite being a FWD it offers plenty of power, decent fun while being very practical both for our roads and varied usage in terms of cargo space. In 2016 I would've loved large screens, now it's so common I actually want to see a well designed analog instrument cluster rather than looking at a screen while driving (priorities change)

Most buyers may not be enthusiasts in this segment so it should sell I guess. Looks good and the interiors look really modern.
SUPERSPORT is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 28th January 2023, 14:22   #41

First, I was very disappointed with what is on offer with this massive price increase. But, looking at the competition, like Q3 or GLA, the exterior design is superb (I have the F48). Very modern, chiseled look, matching high tech looking interior and leather seats etc. The only area of disappointment really is the internals. The engine gearbox combo is not worth 60 lakhs on road for sure. Especially the 3 potter is a no go thus all the potential buyers will not touch it, when we talk about 60 lakhs budget. So, BMW knows that. 3 potter many not be a slouch as well but still it will loose its steam on highways with 4 inside for sure. Then the DSG! I do not know why they still insist on this with all the reliability issues. F48 is the golden era of X1 I humbly believe, the matured design, sweet combo of TC Auto & 2 liter oil burner, great weight to bhp ratio at a reasonable price point (thanks to Fortuner). But people will buy this over MB or Audi as this is a looker inside out. I had a thought of selling my 2000 kms old X1 (before the price announcement) and go for this even if I loose 3-4 lakhs but DSG is a no-go for me and I want either a TC or worse a CVT. I am going to be happily over taking the 60 lakhs X1 comfortably saving 10 lakhs in that process.
sgmuser is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th January 2023, 14:48   #42

What a shame. Such a fine looking car, with great interiors totally let down by engines.
And the pricing doesn’t help too. Between this and Q3, I will happily pick the latter only for its engine, even after being such a big fan of BMW.

Last edited by sunikkat : 28th January 2023 at 14:51.
sunikkat is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 28th January 2023, 15:02   #43

BMW has launched such a good looking SUV and given it such weak engines! I think they were left with no choice, as this is a volume model and will impact the Corporate Average Fuel Efficiency & Emissions quite significantly due to the sheer number of units that will be sold - being the entry level SUV for the group in India. It is not that they want to trade off more features for less power and torque, they have to do the latter anyway due to the fact missions regulations.

Take a look at the comparative figures of power, torque, FE and CO2 emissions of the previous X1 versus the new one. While diluting the power output, BMW has achieved significant savings in CO2 emissions on the new petrol motor, bringing down CO2 from 160 gm/KM on the previous generation X1 20i to 145 gm/KM on the current 18i. On the diesel, the CO2 savings are more modest, with a reduction of only 5 gm/KM. They have also managed to improve FE by 1.5kmpl on the petrol and 0.8 kmpl on the Diesel.

With the CAFE 2 norms going into effect from April, BMW is constrained to compromise on the engines. they provide in their popular models, as explained in detail in my post last week (link below)

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...ml#post5479969 (Understanding BMW's bizarre choice of engines & variants for India)

One thing I noticed, there is no badging distinguishing the petrol and diesel at the back anymore. With the dials also moving to full digital ones, one can’t even peep I. To see the markings on the rpm meter to tell the two apart.
Next-gen BMW X1, now launched at 45.90 lakhs!-screenshot-20230128-3.01.12-pm.png  

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 28th January 2023 at 15:21.
84.monsoon is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 28th January 2023, 15:28   #44

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
I think they were left with no choice, as this is a volume model and will impact the Corporate Average Fuel Efficiency & Emissions quite significantly due to the sheer number of units that will be sold - being the entry level SUV for the group in India.

Take a look at the comparative figures of power, torque, FE and CO2 emissions of the previous X1 versus the new one. While diluting the power output, BMW has achieved significant savings in CO2 emissions on the new petrol motor, bringing down CO2 from 160 gm/KM on the previous generation X1 20i to 145 gm/KM on the current 18i. On the diesel, the CO2 savings are more modest, with a reduction of only 5 gm/KM. They have also managed to improve FE by 1.5kmpl on the petrol and 0.8 kmpl on the Diesel.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...ml#post5479969 (Understanding BMW's bizarre choice of engines & variants for India)
I beg to disagree, again.

From the table, it is clear that both the petrol engines are high on emissions. So BMW could have just launched the X1 with the diesel and EV versions alone. There was not much difference in the emissions between the 2 diesel variants (190 PS vs 150 PS), and hence they could have just launched the 190 PS diesel variants and I guarantee they would have outsold the combined volumes all the other competitors, every month!

Or worst case, they could have launched the X1 with the 136 and 150 PS engines, but priced about 5-6 lakhs lower (Rs 40.9 lacs for petrol and Rs. 41.90 lakhs for the diesel).
Audi offers Q3 with a 188 PS engine forRs 44 lakhs ex showroom which is a full 2 seconds faster (7.2 seconds) compared to the X1 petrol, for a 0-100 kmph.

The reality is that BMW got greedy and they deserve the bashing they get here. No amount of justifications will suffice.

Last edited by Geta : 28th January 2023 at 15:43.
Geta is offline   (22) Thanks
Old 28th January 2023, 15:35   #45

Those alloys look very much like something Hyundai would churn out. For a second I had to go look at the Venues alloys to confirm its not the same.
Nithesh_M is online now   (2) Thanks