Old 10th July 2009, 16:33   #541

Hyundai have launched i20 in India just for the heck of launching a new product. The pricing indicates they aren't interested in selling it here in huge numbers, and I hope Indians do repay their gesture as well.
Old 10th July 2009, 16:58   #542

Originally Posted by TeddyBear View Post
In Bangalore On road price.
Magna diesel with ABS = 7.36 L
Asta diesel = 8.11 L
Asta diesel with sunroof = 8.54 L
Asta AT (Petrol) with Sunroof = 9.5 L
It is expensive
Nope. It is not. It is bang into the Jazz territory. So, the fight for the high end hatch warms up.

The GP sales would not be much affected by this I guess.
I had a limited budget of 7.5 max. Hence, if I am getting a E+ at that price, its all game.
Old 10th July 2009, 17:30   #543

Originally Posted by Gilead View Post
Can you imagine the talk Hyundai must have had with the dealer for this error. Wont be surprised if the dealer is still walking funny.
Hard to believe that it was an error. Could have been a strategy to get people into the showrooms....and fall in love with the car....then give them the bad news about the price.
Old 10th July 2009, 19:24   #544

Test Drove I20 CRDI Asta today.
it was driven by me and Shreshtha(another member).
I am floored.the pull around 1.8K to 2K RPM is amazing and i feel its better than what is experienced in swift.
I some how find pricing to be decent,neither cheap nor too overpriced.

~7L OTR For Asta
and ~7.4 for Asta(O)
not a bad deal in chandigarh at least

Detailed review will be up by shreshtha soon

Last edited by akshay4587 : 10th July 2009 at 19:28.
Old 10th July 2009, 19:53   #545

Originally Posted by Mpower View Post
Hard to believe that it was an error. Could have been a strategy to get people into the showrooms....and fall in love with the car....then give them the bad news about the price.
I guess it serves it right for us, I was just seeing the Ritz and thinking when we wanted a premium hatch back with diesel we got choices Ritz, Swift Diesel, Punto, Fabia and the i20.
Fabia: I agree that its noisy and expensive not to mention A.S.S.
Punto: We'll simply not buy because its a Fiat
Choices: the trusted Maruti and second best Hyundai
Maruti I personally feel has failed all of us by giving The Ritz. The guy seating in the rear seat made me realise, the rear seat space is cramped not to mention the tiny boot for a premium hatch.
I dont understand why Maruti couldnt give a slightly bigger hatch atleast the more rear space and boot ?
This gives all the right to Hyundai and Honda to price as they want.

Last edited by kavesh55 : 10th July 2009 at 19:54. Reason: words changed
Old 10th July 2009, 19:59   #546

Originally Posted by muneemmk View Post
Why not ? Hyundai has better build quality than Tata or Maruti, has better resale value than Ford,Chevy or Fiat, has a competent A S S (not as good as Maruti,but it's good enough),yes they can charge a premium and get away with it,if Honda and Toyota can why can't Hyundai ?
Agree on most of it except one thing: Hyundai can charge a premium. Yes. Doubtful, if they have gotten away with it in any major competitive market for a sustained period. As to why Honda and Toyota can charge a premium and get away with it, my bias is known. Perhaps premium as defined by entry price is misleading. What should be considered is premium as defined by entry price compared with cost of ownership.
Old 10th July 2009, 21:51   #547

Originally Posted by lurker View Post
Hyundai have launched i20 in India just for the heck of launching a new product. The pricing indicates they aren't interested in selling it here in huge numbers, and I hope Indians do repay their gesture as well.
How does that make any sense whatsoever? Speak for yourself and not for "the country".
Old 10th July 2009, 23:09   #548

Originally Posted by flyingspur View Post
How does that make any sense whatsoever? Speak for yourself and not for "the country".

I guess that it is ok to speak in a forum .. atleast thinking about the "country" in a forum is fine .. otherwise we wouldnt have something like team-bhp .. everyone would be speaking to themselves in their bathrooms
Old 10th July 2009, 23:28   #549

Went to the showroom today to check out i20 1.4L Petrol Automatic. Disappointingly it's not in showrooms or for TD yet. But checked out an i20 asta anyway. Didn't take a test-drive.

8.65L OTR price in Bangalore for Asta (2 airbags only).
9.16L for Asta with 6 airbags and sunroof.

few things my wife and I liked (in random order) -
electric foldable and adjusting mirrors
climate control
2 airbags (6 airbags in Asta (o))
ABS
alloy wheels
tubeless tires
in-built CD/MP3 player with USB/Aux sockets
audio player controls on steering wheel
spacious boot for a hatch
60/40 folding rear seats
3-way seat adjustment - front-to-back, height and back-incline
tilt and push front-back wheel (pardon my ignorance of proper terminology)
the key with remote

as far as I am concerned with all the above features, i20 is a fully loaded hatch. 1.4L Petrol engine for a hatch - it's icing on the cake...

when you compare the above with other cars, like sx4, linea, etc, keep in mind that automatic option alone increases the price by 75k to 1L.

a sedan is not a option for us because we have 2 cars - Santro AT and Reva and both are parked in a single parking spot bumper to bumper... i20 1.4L AT will be replacing Santro AT. with a sedan, we'll need another parking lot, and that will cost us 1.5-2L more in Bangalore.
Old 10th July 2009, 23:38   #550

Originally Posted by greatmana2000 View Post
I guess that it is ok to speak in a forum .. atleast thinking about the "country" in a forum is fine .. otherwise we wouldnt have something like team-bhp .. everyone would be speaking to themselves in their bathrooms
@greatmana, I don't think anyone would launch a new product just for the heck of it. Just clarifying my point.
Old 11th July 2009, 02:28   #551

IMHO its good that its priced like that ,at least every tom dick or harry wont end up getting one.
First it was the swift and now we all know which car is gonna swarm the roads.

Chalo iv had enough.
Enjoy the brand war guys.
Old 11th July 2009, 20:44   #552

Concept Hyundai dropped the following email by us:

>
> With reference to below mentioned link posted in your website. We would
> like to clarify that the price of i20 diesel given in the ad dated 9th
> July 2009 in Times of India,Ahmedabad edition is wrongly printed .
> The correct price of the base model of i20 diesel starts at Rs.6.39 Lacs
> ex-showroom. The inconvience caused is deeply regretted.
> We request you to publish the same immediately on your forum.
>
> http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...unched-34.html
>

Old 11th July 2009, 20:47   #553

Concept Hyundai dropped the following email by us:
I'm glad most of them are watching now. Atleast they'll get as close to genuine feedback as they possibly can, and hopefully implement suggestions.
Old 11th July 2009, 21:19   #554

Shouldnt the name of the thread be changed to incorporate the petrol i20. I feel that car is getting a step motherly treatment and not being talked about!

Last edited by aseem : 11th July 2009 at 21:21.
Old 12th July 2009, 01:13   #555

Any Tbhpian booked this car yet?