Skoda Superb 40 3.78%
Mercedes Benz E Class 6 0.57%
Voters: 1058. You may not vote on this poll

Old 23rd December 2009, 17:14   #31
xPK

For me Nano it is.

But that doesn't make any of the rest look smaller. I look at it as AUS scored 434, however SA came up scoring 439 to win the match.

I would share runner-up trophy among i20, ritz, punto, linea, jazz, cruze, xylo, fortuner, manza and superb for setting new benchmarks in engineering intelligence. Though these have some issues like performance, ***, aesthetics or pricing issues, but each of these are engineering wonders.

Hats off to all of those!
Old 23rd December 2009, 17:22   #32

Simple answer - Tata Nano.

Why?
It has changed the way the world looked at cars. It has changed the way they looked at India. Working with automotive clients across continents I have a first hand experience on the respect this vehicle commands even in teams that work on cars 80 times expensive!

Now, haven't you noticed? Any launch here including the Manza gets reported across the world.

This is once in a life time car. They believed in themselves when everybody made fun (even thp - check some rickshaw comments on the thread) and proved all wrong.
Old 23rd December 2009, 17:23   #33

Has to be the best Thread .
Old 23rd December 2009, 17:25   #34

The obvious choice is nano and agree with all, but we finally have a replacment of the trusted esteem in Manza (hopefully). you would not believe it now but try buying a car which appeals to your heart and mind both in the budget of 5 lacs and you will see.

My vote Manza.
Old 23rd December 2009, 17:25   #35

Tata Nano for "A Promise is a Promise" and no other car made an impact on so may car manufacturers as this one did.

What I liked in it?
The quality of the thing at the price it is offered and can comfortably accommodate 4 adults.

C'mon just think of it, TATA has just 10 years experience in building cars.
Old 23rd December 2009, 17:30   #36

I am a Proud owner of the TATA NANO. A Salute to Mr. Ratan Tata. He has delivered what he promised. This will go down in History. Wish someone could help me take snaps of my car and upload here.
Old 23rd December 2009, 17:33   #37

My vote goes to Nano for the revolution in Indian market.
Runner up goes to I20 and Punto .
Old 23rd December 2009, 17:35   #38

A segment - The nano. You know why.
B segment - i20. Fantastic car. Good Space, reliability, killer looks, loaded to the brim with features, etc No negatives! (for those who think it is underpowered, you have a 1.4 engine..)
C segment - Manza. Not really an out and out winner like the other segments, but still one of the best sedans launched this year. Definitely VFM.
D segment - Superb. The room in this car can put any other <50 lac car to shame. Crazy amount of features (6.5 inch touchscreen, supersmooth 7 speed gearbox, dual boot, heck even an umbrella in the door). 1.8 TSI engine is a scorcher. VFM at 20 lacs(hard to believe isnt it).
Old 23rd December 2009, 17:36   #39

TATA NANO for me.

Looks trendy and has a "cool" factor about it. It has a great image in people's minds! Though cheap, people are happy to be seen in it! Some how Tata has pulled out that image.

Hats off.
Old 23rd December 2009, 17:38   #40

@dippy, The i20 was launched last year and not this year. So it cannot be a contender.
Old 23rd December 2009, 17:39   #41

Tata Nano.

Along with all that is said, this car is going to Japan. To sell something Made in India in the World's centre of perfection is an achievement none has ever dreamt of. In this respect Nao would not only be Car of the Year, but also Car of Indian Automotive Histroy.
Old 23rd December 2009, 17:48   #42
JVH

In 2009, the whole world saw what VALUE engineering is all about with the NANO.

Its cute looks, 'proper car' feel and the very fact that it is desi clinches the whole deal.

In fact 2009, saw some great car launches. It's a pity that all were launched in the same year as the NANO.
Old 23rd December 2009, 17:49   #43

Tata Nano!! Like GTO said, this car has character to it and makes everyone from the entry level car buyer to the luxury car buyer to buy one and show off!!
Old 23rd December 2009, 17:51   #44

For me, it's got to be the Chevrolet Cruze. The power, the looks, the cool interiors, the equipment and the service package at under 15 lakhs. Handling and clutch are its weak points.
Old 23rd December 2009, 17:55   #45

Its NANO for me without a doubt. Its not just the car of the year but car of the decade for me! It has brought great respect to Tata and Indian Engineering prowess.