Old 8th July 2010, 11:36   #136

Originally Posted by mkh View Post
The second month of Figo numbers clearly established my point in the last month:
  • Figo has eaten sales of Fiesta and Ikon more than ANY competition. Swift is unfazed, so is the i20, which means that a buyer who wants to go in for an ikon is going for the Figo more than any other car buyer.
Swift does not seem to be unfazed. Many (aware buyers) seem to be postponing the decision in favour of the 2011 swift. Kindly see the reduction in numbers for both swift and dezire. Once this is launched, a huge surge in the numbers can be expected.
Old 8th July 2010, 11:45   #137

I feel that till the time new Swift (+Dzire) is launched, Tata & Ford will keep Suzuki running for cover. I understand that this is temporary phenomena, but, guess Suzuki will have to announce discounts in the short run.

This is what I had expressed in another post, Suzuki is going to have sleepless nights for 2-3 months, for this is their bread & butter these days. The SX4 upgrade (VVT) hasn't worked wonders even. Probably Suzuki does not have a big car image & their Marketing team is happy collecting the bonuses for small cars sold.

However, the #2 Tata have stiff task in the UV/MUV/SUV segment, where it is the lagging to Mahindra by miles & even costlier vehicles (read Captiva, Fortuner, Innova, etc) are selling more than the Safari. Guess the pricing of Safari has to be at par with Scorpio. Also, the Grande should have ABS, Airbags, Bluetooth Connectivity, Alloys, etc on the options list.
Old 8th July 2010, 12:10   #138

Polo only : 1600 odd and Figo is completely outselling the Polo. Proves that the indian customer is just not mad after brand. he wants to see value in the car.

i personally prefer the figo over the polo.

ambasaddors sold 650 of those ? wonder whom they are selling to.

and not a single Octavia sold ? wonder why is that happening ? people waiting for the diesel altis or the vento ?

the new eclass completely outselling out classing the 5 series. but in the larger game, the s series / 7 series they are neck in neck.

the prado is a surprise package, outselling the q 7 and all others.

cheers,
ac
Old 8th July 2010, 14:08   #139

Have Maruti models started seeing the competition effect?

I did a quick analysis to see the impact of newer models/brands on the bread and butter cars of Maruti, since most in the forum have commented that Swift and Dzire are facing heat from competition. I have considered only 4 models (best sellers) i.e. Alto, Wagon R, Swift and Dzire for the analysis. The analysis is tabulated below:

What is clear is that june sales over may in 2009 and 2010 have seen a dip. This is probably because of the weekly shut down Maruti has in the month of June (Not sure if the weekly shutdown was in June last year).
However, the % drop in 2010 of June over May is more than the previous year. This probably explains partially, the impact of models like Figo, Manza and others on the Maruti. I am saying partially as Alto has seen a huge dip in june over may 10 also because the huge spurt in May (after changeover to BS 4) and New Wagon R was launched in end April 10 making May numbers high.

However, all these models have shown decent YOY growths except for Wagon R. That is due to the fact that the new wagon R does not have the LPG version.

In summary, the competition has started affecting these models, however not significant as yet. Surely maruti knows this and are planning to protect their shares to the maximum.
June 2010 Sales Figures-maruti-sales-comparison_may-june.jpg  

Old 8th July 2010, 14:31   #140

Lot of people saying Manza winning the battle against Dzire. But its not true. 7.5 k number is Manza + Indigo CS, which is also selling well. Does anybody has exact numbers of Manza?

I will also be happy if Manza alone win battle against Dzire
Old 8th July 2010, 19:29   #141

Originally Posted by SkyWalker View Post
+1. Ford better bring new Fiesta. 600 Fiesta's a month is just too painful.

SX4 cuts a pathetic figure ~1100 odd cars. Its glaringly obvious this car's a big failure for Maruti (ok, maybe not as bad a failure as Baleno which it replaced ).

i20 comfortably beats Ritz!

Toyota rocks! Triple bonanza with LC ousting segment leader Q7 in the luxury SUV segment. Altis is not the segment leader anymore, but i am sure Toyota will be only limited the delivery capability when it launches the diesel.
I am not sure whether you can say that about SX4 since they don't have a diesel variant.
How do we reason about Ford Fiesta? Just 665 , that too with both petrol and diesel.
And if we look at Verna figures of 1818, it is really bad since they too have both variants.
Maybe the new Verna will invigorate the dwindling image. What I think is how Dzire is screwing SX4, Hyundai is showing they also can do that. i20 jacking up Verna nice and proper

Tata Indigo has figures of 7502 . This would be a summation of Indigo Manzo,Indigo CS and XL and don't they have both diesel and petrol variants.

City, undoubtedly is the leader here. (No, I am an SX4 owner, how I wish I could own a City or a Civic, bit cash-strapped )
I feel City owners will be really feeling insulted to be comparing with cars like dzire, all the sick indigos,accents, ikons etc.

There's atleast a difference of 3-5 lacs beween City and the above mentioned cars. I do agree it's a bit over priced for the "H" tag

I remember someone (Not sure whether it was GTO) mentioning in one thread City = 90% CIVIC.
It's a class apart. Please don't put it along with dzire, SX4, Linea, Ford etc. Maybe in the next month's sales sheet.

Old 8th July 2010, 20:46   #142

We see the rising numbers of Indica (Read as Vista) and Indigo (Read as Manza). Is it that people are indeed showing confidence in Tata products (Atleast Vista/Manza) ?
We all know, those two are by far the best ones from Tata. Is their dealership and A.S.S improving too? Usually these sales trends are quite reflective of these facts. Or is it that more taxis are rolling out?
Old 8th July 2010, 20:50   #143

Originally Posted by aniketi View Post
Lot of people saying Manza winning the battle against Dzire. But its not true. 7.5 k number is Manza + Indigo CS, which is also selling well. Does anybody has exact numbers of Manza?

I will also be happy if Manza alone win battle against Dzire
Why should one be picky about splitting sales of two variants of a car? IMO common person may not even realize difference between Manza and CS or care about it. It is expected that their sales will be shown combined when no other manufacturer splits their variants.

Cruze numbers are excellent.

Indica is closer to swift numbers. Might be start of a trend, might be an aberration. I don't buy the argument that people are postponing their decision to buy swift in anticipation of NEW Swift. As it is, very few people know about new Swift and even Maruti is yet to give any hint of plans to bring in the new model to India.

Last edited by SunilM : 8th July 2010 at 20:51.
Old 8th July 2010, 21:21   #144

With the Swift and Swift Dzire raking a waiting period of around 6-7 months, I dont think we would see any effect at all.

I mean if you actually take this into factor, what is being delivered now is for bookings done 6 months ago. Which would mean this would not take into account the new launches i.e. Figo and Polo's impact on the Suzuki's sales.

Actual effect of these new launches will only be reflected by Aug/ Sept sales. Till then Maruti would surely see good figures. But Ritz since it doesnt have that big a waiting period is taking a hit.

This is my assumption, thats why I am not going to judge the impact of new launches until I see the August sales figures.
Old 9th July 2010, 12:50   #145

Originally Posted by SunilM View Post
people are postponing their decision to buy swift in anticipation of NEW Swift. As it is, very few people know about new Swift and even Maruti is yet to give any hint of plans to bring in the new model to India.
Even my friend who is Dt. Manager of Suzuki Sales, Western India Region is not aware of new swift globally. Forget about all common people.
Old 9th July 2010, 13:03   #146

Why should one be picky about splitting sales of two variants of a car? IMO common person may not even realize difference between Manza and CS or care about it. It is expected that their sales will be shown combined when no other manufacturer splits their variants.
I dont agree here Manza and CS are entirely different cars. One is made to avail the tax benefits and in its own segment and another is entry level sedan. Just by putting same name you cant say it is same car it is marketing stratergy of Tata to show that indigo has crossed sales by combining Indigo CS, XL and Manza. And I think almost every common man can tell the difference between cs and manza you dont need to be techy enough to tell the difference.
Be it looks, length, platform, interior, engine, features. Nothing is same bet. CS and Manza.
If this is the case then one must see all Merc as one car and all Bmws as one car (In car section) and then same is with SUV.
Old 9th July 2010, 13:03   #147

Because two cars are totally different. You cant say Manza & old Indigo are same. There is hell lot of difference. If you dont agree, ask GTO about that.
So i guess both should be considered as 2 diff cars.
Old 9th July 2010, 14:44   #148
VMG

it is good to see that atleast Outlander is doing good in Mitsu;
40 to 111; it is a big jump.
Good Mitsu.. Keep moving/growing.
Old 9th July 2010, 14:49   #149

Originally Posted by lalitk25 View Post
And I think almost every common man can tell the difference between cs and manza you dont need to be techy enough to tell the difference.
Be it looks, length, platform, interior, engine, features. Nothing is same bet. CS and Manza.
And the price difference too is huge between 2 to 3 Lakhs depending on the variant of Manza. I think TATA should give figures seperately for a fair assesment.

Murthy
Old 9th July 2010, 15:50   #150

Originally Posted by lalitk25 View Post
I dont agree here Manza and CS are entirely different cars. One is made to avail the tax benefits and in its own segment and another is entry level sedan. Just by putting same name you cant say it is same car it is marketing stratergy of Tata to show that indigo has crossed sales by combining Indigo CS, XL and Manza. And I think almost every common man can tell the difference between cs and manza you dont need to be techy enough to tell the difference.
If this is the case then one must see all Merc as one car and all Bmws as one car (In car section) and then same is with SUV.
Unfortunately this trend started from Maruti, when they started reporting combined sales of Swift and SX4 and Now Tata, Maruti and Hyundai all do this. Not many manufactures report the individual sales of carlines.

Another issue for market analysts is that no one reports the diesel and Petrol models numbers separately. All the numbers, including the one posted in May sales, looks like someone's best guesses.