View Poll Results: How would you spend your 30 lakhs?
Brand new C Class, 3 Series or A4 58 17.26%
Pre-worshipped E Class, 5 Series or A6 36 10.71%
An assortment of cars and / or bikes 214 63.69%
Other (please specify in your post) 28 8.33%
Voters: 336. You may not vote on this poll

Old 25th October 2010, 23:24   #91

Option C for me.
1. New Ford Figo TDCI Titanium : 6 Lacs
2. New Mitsubishi Pajero SFX : 21 Lacs
3. Used Honda Accord 2.3 : 3 Lacs - just to use up the money. 1 & 2 are the ones I really want.
Old 25th October 2010, 23:59   #92

Option - C
1. Brand new Cruze or Laura (Diesel) - For long trips and highways.
2. A used ANHC (A.T) - Preferably for City drives
3. A pre worshipped R1 or CBR 600RR
4. VDI or 90BHP Punto (For modifications)
Old 26th October 2010, 00:26   #93

Option C:

1. Chevy Cruze: Fast / Comfortable / Mile-munching sedan for good roads. 15 L.
2. Mitsubishi Pajero (Used): for the hinterlands. 10 L?
3. Fully restored early 80s Bullet: For getting one's hands dirty on weekends.1 L?
4. Kawasaki Ninja 250: Fast urban streetbike, good for short tours as well. 3 L?

Alternatively, can replace 3 & 4 with a KTM for 6 Lakhs if I can get that Pajero cheaper. Probably the best combination of urban / highway / bad road bike.
Old 26th October 2010, 02:06   #94

I would personally get
1. A Used Vrs - Some 7L
2. A New Safari 4x4 - Some 12L
3. A nice Super Bike - Some 13L (2L of my own)
Old 26th October 2010, 03:23   #95

Option C ofcourse

I think following would be part of my garage

1) Honda Accord V6 (~10L)
2) New Figo D or i20 D (~6L or ~8L)
3) Used SBK (~6-7L)
4) Bullet Classic 500 (~1.5L)
5) Yamaha R15 (~1.1L)
6) RTR/P220/ZMA for normal usage (~80k )

Whatever remains would be used for ICE
Old 26th October 2010, 04:45   #96

Great one: My combo will be:

1. Used CIVIC=7 lacs: For smooth sailing and petrol fun.
2. Used CAPTIVA= 12 lacs: I am such an SUV fan.
3. New PUNTO= 6 lacs. Diesel economy and great looks.
4. New Kawasaki Ninja= 3 lacs. I can't leave my bikes in cold!

I'll spend the rest of 2 lacs on modding Captiva and Civic.

Another combo could be:

1. Used A4/3 Series Diesel versions= 17 lacs. I am such a sucked for the German trio./ Mainly for brand!
2. Used CiVIC= 8lacs.The Civic has to be used. Rip it to no end.
3. New Maruti Swift K series= 5 lacs. Reliable and fun.
Old 26th October 2010, 05:00   #97

There are a few possible combinations:
As a family:
- Used Accord V6 (10L)
- Used Outlander (12L)
- Used Cedia (6L)
- Well maintained Palio 1.6 GTX (2L)

As a bachelor:
- Used Outlander (Highways) (13L)
- Ford Fiesta 1.6 S (city drive) (8L)
- Used Cedia (tuner) (6L)
Rest of the money can be spent customizing the cars as to my liking with the ICE.

Surprisingly, most of the cars listed here are Petrols, even though we have an all diesel garage at present. Guess there is a lack of new high performance, driver oriented diesels (those which can shame the fastest petrol in their class) in the sub-30L category.
Old 26th October 2010, 06:55   #98

Good thread GTO. Option C for me.

An assortment of Pre-worshipped and Brand new cars.

1. Swift K Series (5 lakhs).
2. Fabia/Punto (4-5 lakhs).
3. SX4 (6-7 lakhs).
4. Civic (Pre) / Vento (New) (7-8 lakhs).
5. Alto k Series (4 lakhs).

Remaining amount for accessories .
Old 26th October 2010, 07:50   #99

A Yamaha R1 or Ducati 848
A Fiesta 1.6s
A Hyundai I20
Old 26th October 2010, 08:15   #100

My List would include the following cars.

1. My favourite MPFI Zen for city commute - 2 lakhs.
2. Preowned and souped Up Cedia (Rally Spec) for the track days and for pure petrol headed madness - 10 Lakhs
3. Tata Safari GX 4x4 (for the unplanned and uncharted journeys) - 13 lakhs
4. Preowned Rally prepared Maruti Gypsy - ('coz my list will never be complete without one) - 5 lakhs
Old 26th October 2010, 09:08   #101

Option C for me.

There are atleast 2 distinct "transportation" requirements for me. One, "within the city and short distances" and another "outside and over many days".

For within the city a small car suits the need best; easy to manoeuvre, does not pinch pocket on correcting the many dents and scratches that are part of city driving and easy to park. Maybe have 2 of them. i10 and Etios.

For outside the city a crossover seems ideal for a family of 4 like mine - good to drive on large flat stretches as well on kuchha roads. You can pack as many things as you want and take as long a break as you want to be on the road. Outlander 2010

German cars are out of reckoning for me simply because of the fear of lack of reliability. Trading off badge value and driving pleasure / comfort for superior reliability and A*S*S is an easy choice for me.

Last edited by diffsoft : 26th October 2010 at 09:13.
Old 26th October 2010, 09:47   #102

Obviously a cocktail. Would go for -

- A used TLC (~10L)...always loved these monsters
- A harley (~10L) for the touring urge
- A hatch for city runs like a Punto or Polo or maybe a Jazz (~7-8L)
- A Apache RTR or RE C5 for a quick dash in the city

err, 30 is a bit less, can I get some more cash, I haven't even included a 4X4 Jeep / Gypsy, a litre class sports bike, Bull 500, yam RX100

BTW I am assuming I keep the vehicles I already own - my prized Bull CI 350

Good thread

Last edited by rrahul_2778 : 26th October 2010 at 09:48.
Old 26th October 2010, 10:34   #103

Time to indulge & day-dream :D

C and see--

1) A New BMW S1000RR. (I want one)
http://www.insideline.com/bugatti/ve...s-1000-rr.html

2) Rest of the money on a Car which will do all the other duties, yesterday drove a new Pajero TD Car, due to jam I drove up on the divider and got on the other side--priceless was the expression on fellow motorist's face. Or something like a Yeti? But want to bully others too. Want to see them at the receiving end. Outlander? CR-V?

3) A Fiesta 1.6S or Linea T-Jet or a used 1.8TSI

4) A Honda Jazz (A Honda should be in my garage)

whoops! already crossed 30L and gunning for more. This is what would happen if you let a petrol-head indulge.

^@GTO--do you ride regularly? or would the 1000bhp/tonne be just for kicks? Nice to see many riders around

Last edited by bblost : 26th October 2010 at 12:43. Reason: As requested.
Old 26th October 2010, 11:06   #104

Originally Posted by vinaydas View Post
pure performance ?
Then a pre worshiped A6 3.2TFSI and soup it up by remaps/turbo upgrades and bring it close to 500 hp !!
It will one of the fastest cars in India.
No no no! That would be the A4 3.2 FSI. Lighter and immensely more chuckable!

Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
3) Used SBK (~6-7L)
4) Bullet Classic 500 (~1.5L)
5) Yamaha R15 (~1.1L)
6) RTR/P220/ZMA for normal usage (~80k )
4 bikes out of a 6 vehicle garage. Once a biker, always a biker, eh?

Originally Posted by Sheel View Post
@GTO--do you ride regularly? or would the 1000bhp/tonne be just for kicks? Nice to see many riders around
Nope. The last bike I owned was a humble RX100, but I have a couple of rides 5 - 6 times a year on friend's superbikes. Would prefer a 600, though finding clean imports are difficult. Hence the liter class.
Old 26th October 2010, 11:41   #105

A new toyota for hassle free ownership and daily duties (Like Innova/Corolla ) - 12-13L
and a pre owned Accord(8L)/Octavia VRs for the petrolhead in me
a pre owned Low mileage safari 4x4 for the really long distances (inspired from tsk's travelogues) 8L
Anything left of the 30L will go into the repairs for the safari after the warranty gets over and also for the repairs of Octavia VRs if any

Last edited by himavanth_m : 26th October 2010 at 11:43.