Old 9th August 2012, 11:16   #5296

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

As a point of reference:
- 2010 Linea Emotion MJD
- 1st owner
- Maroon
- 41K Kms

Owner quoted 4.5 and eventually got 4.15 for it.

Many others of similar specifications (mileage upto 60K kms) were also seen in the price band of 4.2-4.7. I know because I was in the market till July.

Petrol Lineas go for 3.5-3.7 barely.
Deeps is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th August 2012, 11:35   #5297

Originally Posted by shashank.nk View Post
If i manage to get those figures, it'll be awesome! How much is the loss in terms of OTR paid, if a car is sold within a year of purchase. Is it 10% of OTR paid or one should expect to lose more say 15-20% range ?
shashank, You would lose around 15% quite easily, if you sell it to a dealer in exchange for another car (like we were discussing on the what car thread ). European cars aren't known for resale value, so I doubt you would even get 8L on it. Be prepared for some heart attacks, but I wouldn't be surprised to see quotes of 7L or so. From what I have seen at a friend's used car showroom, there is no fixed slab for depreciation. It depends on the brand demand, age of the vehicle, and bargaining power of seller/buyer.

Your best bet would be to avoid dealers and go for direct sale via team-bhp ads or some other classifieds where the dealer/broker's commission can be avoided.

Last edited by KarthikK : 9th August 2012 at 11:36.
KarthikK is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th August 2012, 14:06   #5298

Originally Posted by KarthikK View Post
shashank, You would lose around 15% quite easily, if you sell it to a dealer in exchange for another car (like we were discussing on the what car thread ). European cars aren't known for resale value, so I doubt you would even get 8L on it. Be prepared for some heart attacks, but I wouldn't be surprised to see quotes of 7L or so. From what I have seen at a friend's used car showroom, there is no fixed slab for depreciation. It depends on the brand demand, age of the vehicle, and bargaining power of seller/buyer.
You're right. I called a *reputed* second hand dealer and he quoted 7l at the most! That's straight 15% loss and i'll have to invest another 1.5 lakh to buy a new one. I guess i'll stick around with my Polo for until thw warranty expires and then upgrade
shashank.nk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th August 2012, 14:14   #5299

Originally Posted by Deeps View Post
As a point of reference:
- 2010 Linea Emotion MJD
- 1st owner
- Maroon
- 41K Kms

Owner quoted 4.5 and eventually got 4.15 for it.

Many others of similar specifications (mileage upto 60K kms) were also seen in the price band of 4.2-4.7. I know because I was in the market till July.

Petrol Lineas go for 3.5-3.7 barely.
i agree to that. i spent two months (june/july) looking for a used Linea/Punto90 and saw numerous linea mjd being sold in price range of 5.0-5.5 lac in mumbai. yesterday i came across someone (while looking for a used car for my sister) trying to sell his 10 months old punto (diesel) with asking price of 3.9 lac and the car is still unsold (been 1.5 months since he posted the AD).
Old 9th August 2012, 14:15   #5300

What is the best price for the following car? Detail as follows

Model: Wagon-R LXi
Year: 2004
Owner: 2nd
Insurance upto: May2013
ODO:45000
Recently changed Continental tyres
100/90 Headlamps with relay
Old 9th August 2012, 14:40   #5301

2006 Ford Fiesta Exi
1.4 petrol
Single Owner
54k on the odo
Asking price : 3.25lac

The car appears well maintained. Have to drive it. Is the Fiesta a scary car to fix as a Ford Ikon? Are parts reasonably priced for the Fiesta?

What should I pay?
Old 9th August 2012, 16:57   #5302

Originally Posted by infotech58 View Post
i agree to that. i spent two months (june/july) looking for a used Linea/Punto90 and saw numerous linea mjd being sold in price range of 5.0-5.5 lac in mumbai. yesterday i came across someone (while looking for a used car for my sister) trying to sell his 10 months old punto (diesel) with asking price of 3.9 lac and the car is still unsold (been 1.5 months since he posted the AD).
Please inform contact details of this person trying to sell 10 months old punto (diesel) with asking price of 3.9 lac and if the car is still unsold please.
Old 9th August 2012, 17:31   #5303

Originally Posted by ritz3645 View Post
Please inform contact details of this person trying to sell 10 months old punto (diesel) with asking price of 3.9 lac and if the car is still unsold please.
that car is in Punjab (Amritsar registered), that guy has been trying to sell it for almost 1.5 month now and I got a feeling that he'd give it away for around 3.5-3.6 easily. if you are interested, i'll PM you the details.
infotech58 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th August 2012, 18:40   #5304

Originally Posted by Jebs View Post
What is the best price for the following car? Detail as follows

Model: Wagon-R LXi
Year: 2004
Owner: 2nd
Insurance upto: May2013
ODO:45000
Recently changed Continental tyres
100/90 Headlamps with relay
In your city 1.4-1.6 lacs should be a decent value for the car.

Originally Posted by sandeepmohan View Post
2006 Ford Fiesta Exi
1.4 petrol
Single Owner
54k on the odo

The car appears well maintained. Have to drive it. Is the Fiesta a scary car to fix as a Ford Ikon? Are parts reasonably priced for the Fiesta?

What should I pay?
Assuming this is not the Durasport model, 2.1 - 2.5 lacs is what you should pay for it.
3.25 looks off the hook to me.

Yes, the maintenance will be a little more expensive than its immediate competition.
that car is in Punjab (Amritsar registered), that guy has been trying to sell it for almost 1.5 month now and I got a feeling that he'd give it away for around 3.5-3.6 easily. if you are interested, i'll PM you the details.
Can you pm me this persons details? Let me see if I can strike a deal with him.

Note from Team-bhp support: Please use the EDIT or MULTI-QUOTE buttons instead of typing one post after another on the same thread!

Last edited by moralfibre : 10th August 2012 at 08:09.
prashant316 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th August 2012, 18:55   #5305

2006 Ford Fiesta Exi
1.4 petrol
Single Owner
54k on the odo

What should I pay?
Nothing more than 2.5 lacs sandeep. Reasons :

1. Petrol Fiestas don't go for much from what I've seen. Petrol Fords don't boast of good resale value. Perhaps the only ford with good resale is the Fiesta 1.4 Duratorq diesel.
2. Petrol costs today

No clue about Ford Fiesta's maintenance costs, but I've heard that Fiesta is a relatively better car to maintain than the previous gen ikons.

P.S - will this be giving the Jet some company in the garage?

Last edited by KarthikK : 9th August 2012 at 18:58.
KarthikK is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th August 2012, 19:02   #5306

Dear infotech 58,

Thank you for your reply.
If It was Mumbai/Pune would have just grabbed this MJD.
Otherwise as well its a decent offer like 50% off.

This may be my 25 post so will be eligible for PM, lets see.

Thanks for everything.
Old 9th August 2012, 19:19   #5307

Hyundai Accent 1.6 GLS ABS
August/2003
2nd Owner
100700 kms
Insurance valid till July/2013
All services at Trident Hyundai
Service history available
Pretty decent and well maintained with typical Bangalore scratches on the bumpers and lower part of the body.

What can I except for this car?

Rex
Old 9th August 2012, 19:36   #5308

Originally Posted by rex_varghese View Post
Hyundai Accent 1.6 GLS ABS
August/2003
2nd Owner
100700 kms
Insurance valid till July/2013
All services at Trident Hyundai
Service history available
Pretty decent and well maintained with typical Bangalore scratches on the bumpers and lower part of the body.

What can I except for this car?

Rex
i would reckon anything between 1.25 to 1.5L
Old 9th August 2012, 20:55   #5309

Are parts reasonably priced for the Fiesta?
Sandeep, You shouldnt pay anything more than 2.25 for this. 1.4 engines were sold IIRC only during the 05-06, and they dont command a good resale.

The parts of Fiesta Petrols are very reasonably priced, and Its a big myth that Fiesta maintenance is expensive, they are very reasonable and very much easier on the pocket.
I know because, i have been driving one (09 1.6 SXI) for the past 2 years.
ToroRosso is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th August 2012, 22:30   #5310

Hello All,

Please suggest how much I should pay for

Make : Chevrolet Aveo UVA
Year : 2008
Variant : LS
Owner : 1 (This is My colleagues car)
Odometer : 7200 ( It is lightly used car as apparent but used regularly)
Service history : He has serviced the car twice from dealer till date.
Insurance : Till March 2013.
Exterior Color : Red. In Very Good condition.
Interior : Grey. In 2008 an upgradation happened in UVA. This one is pre-refreshed.