Team-BHP > The International Automotive Scene

Old 24th August 2016, 01:00   #5446

Re: Buying, Owning, Driving and Maintaining a car in North America

I think the sales tax in Canada would offset the exchange rate !
Old 24th August 2016, 01:20   #5447

Escort Passport 9500ix is on sale at Bestbuy for $279. Lowest I've seen! Was considering Max 360 but I feel its too expensive with mixed reviews. Ordered one for pickup!
VIPER_SRT is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th August 2016, 01:46   #5448

Originally Posted by VIPER_SRT View Post
Escort Passport 9500ix is on sale at Bestbuy for $279. Lowest I've seen! Was considering Max 360 but I feel its too expensive with mixed reviews. Ordered one for pickup!
Viper: Recommend a good windshield mount for the detector. The one that comes with the package is flimsy and does not stick on frequent usage. You could get a sturdy mount similar to the garmin GPS or even a RVM mount. The choice of detector is the best. I bought mine at 450 so its a very good deal and will return your investment within a week

Maddy
Old 24th August 2016, 02:10   #5449

Originally Posted by maddy42 View Post
Viper: Recommend a good windshield mount for the detector. The one that comes with the package is flimsy and does not stick on frequent usage. You could get a sturdy mount similar to the garmin GPS or even a RVM mount. The choice of detector is the best. I bought mine at 450 so its a very good deal and will return your investment within a week

Maddy
Maddy, I was looking into Blendmount but not sure about wiretapping! But Escort's suction cup might be a good option. Here's one that I might go for:
https://www.amazon.com/Escort-001004.../dp/B00CYSHUG8
VIPER_SRT is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th August 2016, 03:11   #5450

not always, like the one I mentioned - LX570 , it comes fully loaded here at 108 K and with the same spec's in the US it's over 100 K. Factor the exchange rate and it will be about 15 % Cheaper here
Isn't that the 2016 which is available in canada. US prices are for the 2017.
Given that there are not much differences , I guess I would agree that the Lx prices are similar
Old 24th August 2016, 03:15   #5451

Isn't that the 2016 which is available in canada. US prices are for the 2017
Yes, they are probably making 21-inch standard on 2017, prices are not announced yet but I doubt they can increase much. But Lexus dealers are committing 5-6 month deliveries for Lease only. If you have to buy in cash more like 8-10 months. There have been cases of this particular model being exported to China, Russia and elsewhere.

I think the sales tax in Canada would offset the exchange rate !
Not really, we have 5 % here in Alberta
Old 24th August 2016, 18:51   #5452

not always, like the one I mentioned - LX570 , it comes fully loaded here at 108 K and with the same spec's in the US it's over 100 K. Factor the exchange rate and it will be about 15 % Cheaper here
Does it really make sense for a person living in the US to make a trip to Canada just to buy a car & bring it to the US?

Especially if the same model is available for sale in dealerships here?

Import Duty, paper-work, warranty.

I think it's daft idea.
Old 24th August 2016, 22:02   #5453

Does it really make sense for a person living in the US to make a trip to Canada just to buy a car & bring it to the US?
I am not aware if someone actually does, but when CAD was stronger, a lot of Canadians will shop across from the USA. Manufacturers normally honour warranties across North America and there is no duty on Canadian/ US manufactured cars. For other COO it's something like 2.5 % . But as per Lexus dealership, most of LX are being exported to China where the price of this car is high. This was a common statement from sales guys at both of dealerships here in Calgary.
Old 25th August 2016, 01:38   #5454

Maddy, I was looking into Blendmount but not sure about wiretapping! But Escort's suction cup might be a good option. Here's one that I might go for:
https://www.amazon.com/Escort-001004.../dp/B00CYSHUG8
I have almost the same one. Works like a charm most of the time. I stopped removing it from the glass when i am not using the detector and that seems to work. I have seen people hardwire the detector but am not willing to do that.

Maddy
Old 25th August 2016, 01:53   #5455

Guys, I think my uncle is a tough nut to crack when it comes to comfort. He didn't like any of the cars at all.

Current list of cars he has rejected (reasons including lack of comfort/looks)

- Tesla Model X - Not comfy
- Mercedes GLS - Not comfy
- Audi Q7 - Not comfy
- Volvo XC90 - Looks weird
- BMW X5 - Not comfy
- Range Rover - "Kya bekaar gaadi hai"
- Lexus LX - "Average bada kharab hai"
- Escalade - Not comfy
- Porsche Cayenne - Not comfy

I've absolutely given up on helping him. He will be completing a purchase in the next few weeks since he has to return to India after that and I am extremely curious as to what he ends up picking.
Old 25th August 2016, 04:50   #5456

Originally Posted by jalajprakash View Post
Guys, I think my uncle is a tough nut to crack when it comes to comfort. He didn't like any of the cars at all.

Current list of cars he ......
Range Rover - "Kya bekaar gaadi hai"

- Lexus LX - "Average bada kharab hai"

- Escalade - Not comfy

- Porsche Cayenne - Not comfy

I've absolutely given up on helping him. He will be completing a purchase in the next few weeks since he has to return to India after that and I am extremely curious as to what he ends up picking.

Hahahhahahaha ! Ask him to test drive Toyota Sienna limited with ottoman seats .
On a serious note, have you considered full size luxury sedans, S550, LS460L/600h, A8L, XJL, 750iL etc. How about Eqqus ultimate?
Old 25th August 2016, 18:43   #5457

Lincoln's, Suburban, Tahoe, MDX ??

Last edited by Technocrat : 1st September 2016 at 22:54. Reason: Please quote selectively as a large quoted text causes inconvenience to our mobile readers, thanks
Old 25th August 2016, 20:54   #5458

What does he drive now? Did you ask him what exactly his priorities are? Comfortable could be many things and sometimes just few! Could be plush leather feel, comfort 18-way adjustable seats, smooth buttery ride, minimal body roll, overall look of the car.

As Dr. Abhijeet suggested, maybe he's not comfortable in SUV's but cars. He should be specific about what he wants and then set the priorities. Good luck!
Old 26th August 2016, 00:19   #5459

Here's another place to hang out for petrolheads - Amazon Vehicles
Everything about vehicles, except actual purchase!

Hopefully the reviews will be as informative as they are about other products on Amazon.
Old 26th August 2016, 00:20   #5460

What does he drive now? Did you ask him what exactly his priorities are? Comfortable could be many things and sometimes just few! Could be plush leather feel, comfort 18-way adjustable seats, smooth buttery ride, minimal body roll, overall look of the car.

As Dr. Abhijeet suggested, maybe he's not comfortable in SUV's but cars. He should be specific about what he wants and then set the priorities. Good luck!
He actually lives in India but he is buying a vehicle for his wife's parents who are situated in the US. In India he owns a lot of luxury cars since he lives in a joint family, but his personal ride is a Jaguar XF. He is looking for a smooth buttery ride and a nice looking SUV. I know cars won't suffice since he initially started his search with 7 seater SUVs and only was considering 5 seater SUVs since none the 7 seater options satisfied him.

I recently conducted an internal review of products and sales for a luxury vehicle brand in Delhi and I feel he was expecting a similar analysis from me for himself. The problem is that I've never even considered a vehicle that expensive and don't have a clue about the products on offer and what are the USPs of each product. He essentially wanted a definitive answer from me about the most comfortable vehicle in his budget period but I presented him with his best options after some basic internet research. Since he's turned down the options that the internet and TBHP members consider most comfortable, I think I'm just going to let him try out all the products and find out from him what he considered the most comfortable in the end.