Old 14th March 2017, 11:39   #91

Re: 2017 KTM 390 Duke, 250 Duke and 200 Duke launched in India

I tried contacting the Navi Mumbai showroom but they are not providing test rides as of now. I want to test this motorcycle for comfort. I know KTM is not known for it, but considering the roads we ride on, that is a major consideration in my books.

People who have taken a test ride, kindly comment on the comfort levels as compared to its predecessor.
Old 14th March 2017, 12:05   #92

For Delhi - bikes should be available for display on the 19th, Moti bagh showroom. Status of test ride bikes not available
Old 14th March 2017, 15:29   #93

Originally Posted by Pratzgh1 View Post
People who have taken a test ride, kindly comment on the comfort levels as compared to its predecessor.
I had a very short ride but the suspension definitely felt more composed and comfortable than the earlier bike. The hard edge seems to be gone. The seat also was more comfortable and there was room to move around. Longer time on the saddle is required to really know how much better it is.

May have a go at it again this Saturday and will post my observations.

The Xbhp review:
http://www.xbhp.com/talkies/bike-rev...w-rioters.html

Last edited by Cyborg : 14th March 2017 at 15:54. Reason: Added text
Cyborg is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th March 2017, 20:32   #94

The Autocar India review.

Not much to add on except maybe a running shot of the adjustable levers. The video does end abruptly at a totally different note from the other videos. I am confused.
rohitoasis is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th March 2017, 13:53   #95

I absolutely agree rohitoasis. He ends the video saying the 2017 D390 has lost the raw power delivery of the previous version.

I am eagerly looking for a drag race between the Old vs New. I feel the previous version is going to perform better. If the previous version's performance is better than the current, then I feel we are heading to RD 350 HT and LT era?? If yes, I am going to add one to my garage now itself.

All Gurus, Please throw your thoughts.
PISTONS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th March 2017, 15:28   #96

Bikes in KA to cost more from next year. I don't know how they came to the understanding that bikes above 1L are high end bikes :(

High end motorbikes, above Rs 1 lakh, to become expensive as MVT increased to 18 per cent from 12 per cent.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/c...w/57643749.cms
SchumiFan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th March 2017, 16:06   #97

Originally Posted by SchumiFan View Post
Bikes in KA to cost more from next year. I don't know how they came to the understanding that bikes above 1L are high end bikes :(

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/c...w/57643749.cms
I guess it will come in to effect from 1-Apr-17. Current road tax of 12% will be hiked to 18%, and then add 10% cess/HE/SHE/SB cess on top of it making it almost 20%. A buyer has to shell out 20K as road tax on 1L bike and 200,000 on a 10L bike
Old 16th March 2017, 14:43   #98

This is disturbing, to say the least. Those bikes belong to their rightful owners and it's the dealers moral obligation to ensure that these reach the owners in their most pristine condition. This has made me wary. It might be better to let the initial euphoria dial down before jumping the bandwagon (booking the bike)

Source : https://www.rushlane.com/ktm-duke-39...-12237596.html
tabrez is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 17th March 2017, 11:16   #99

Originally Posted by tabrez View Post
This has made me wary. It might be better to let the initial euphoria dial down before jumping the bandwagon (booking the bike)
That is exactly what i am planning. To hold on booking it for a couple of months. I did this unknowingly in 2012 with D200 and somehow feel that was for good(might be just luck) as i didn't face any of the issues like shocks leakage, rim and all those initial batch issues.

Did anybody get delivery of new D390. How is the heat management in traffic. Any change in bikes behavior while launching in stop and go traffic. None of the reviews so far concentrate on these points.
saurabh041086 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th March 2017, 15:38   #100

Originally Posted by saurabh041086 View Post
Did anybody get delivery of new D390. How is the heat management in traffic. Any change in bikes behavior while launching in stop and go traffic. None of the reviews so far concentrate on these points.
None of the reviews thusfar have been performed on the street. All the magazines and blogs have tested the Duke 390 on the Bajaj Test Track at Chakan.

I am keenly looking for reviews from guys who have got deliveries of their bike.
Old 17th March 2017, 17:05   #101

Originally Posted by saurabh041086 View Post
How is the heat management in traffic. Any change in bikes behavior while launching in stop and go traffic. None of the reviews so far concentrate on these points.
I don't think there is any unkown regarding heat management. That was fixed way back in 2015 and several constant updates have been made since. My RC390 has never gone above the last two temperature bars even in heavy traffic in the summer or ever shut of due to heat. Bike's behavior in stop and go traffic is different in that it is more controllable at lower speeds due to the throttle by wire system. A point that has been made in several reviews already if I am not mistaken. I think we can safely infer that it means the bike is not going to be jerky in stop and go traffic like the older one was.
IshaanIan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th March 2017, 15:34   #102

If you can look past the rather rash riding, this vlog touches up on the heating.
As per this reviewer the heating is considerably reduced as compared to the older bike.
He also compares the 390 with the 250, of course the 390 is a much better product.

Old 18th March 2017, 16:56   #103

Originally Posted by hiren.mistry View Post
If you can look past the rather rash riding, this vlog touches up on the heating.
Why does that vlogger take so long to shift? Don't the revs drop too low each time? Am I the only one who finds it disturbing to see how long he grabs the clutch for?
Old 18th March 2017, 17:55   #104

Originally Posted by IshaanIan View Post
Why does that vlogger take so long to shift
Coz he can't ride properly even if u put a gun to his head. But he can pass "expert opinion" though.

Old 21st March 2017, 20:55   #105

Originally Posted by tabrez View Post
This is disturbing, to say the least. Those bikes belong to their rightful owners and it's the dealers moral obligation to ensure that these reach the owners in their most pristine condition. This has made me wary. It might be better to let the initial euphoria dial down before jumping the bandwagon (booking the bike)

Source : https://www.rushlane.com/ktm-duke-39...-12237596.html
A message from ktm India in their Facebook page just now :

Dear KTM Fans,

Over the past week a number of you have brought to our notice a video depicting an incident that occurred inside the premises of a KTM showroom in Nedumangad, Kerala. The video showed staff of the showroom behaving in an unprofessional manner and misusing a brand new 390 Duke and 250 Duke.

In light of this video 5 members of staff who were involved in misusing the motorcycles and filming the act have been dismissed with immediate effect. We would also like to share that the motorcycles seen in the video are exclusively meant for display and demonstration purpose at the Nedumangad showroom. These motorcycles were not and will be not eligible for sale to customers.

We would like to thank all of you who as custodians of KTM shared the incident with us helping us to take prompt action. We also appreciate your understanding that this was in every sense a standalone case and in no way reflects the sincerity with which more than 325 KTM showrooms across the country serve our valued customers.

For 2017 we have an exciting new range of world class motorcycles and we are geared up to provide enthusiasts like yourselves an equally rich ownership experience.

Ready To Race
KTM India
Pretty darn good of you ask me.
Red Liner is offline   (13) Thanks