![]() | #1 |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2019 Location: Chennai
| Ownership Review | KTM Adventure 250 Hi BHPians. Here's a quick review of my ADV 250 which may help you with your purchase decisions if you're looking for a multi-purpose vehicle under 3 lakhs on-road ![]() Purchase analysis - team-bhp.com - (Want to replace my R15 v3 to a more comfortable motorcycle) What I like
What I dislike
Some neutral opinions
Buying and D'day experience
Price as of 23/12/2021 - 271141 (team-bhp - (Want to replace my R15 v3 to a more comfortable motorcycle)) Design, Styling and some distinguishing factors over it's sibling duke The engineering idea of the motorcycle is very simple 3 point story.
![]() Dark galvano vs Electronic orange
My Experience Engine
Braking
Clutch and Gearbox
Efficiency
![]() ![]() ![]() some fuelio logs for reference Suspension & GC A boon or a bain on how you see it. Can tackle indian roads at ease at the expense of very high seating position.
Riding Posture & Comfort
Riding Dynamics
![]() A twin with a camel hump seat for better cushion and other with a diaper to not hit me back with all the slush from the rear tyres Some unique features
Problems faced
Toyota Fortuner of motorcycles! ![]() Favourite Angle showing it's butch looks Need an offroader? himalayan 450 Need a cruiser? Royal enfield J350/Interceptor 650 Need a power cruiser? Dominar 400 Need a street sport motorcycle? Duke 250 Need a commuter? CB300F/pulsar F250 But need a simple no-nonsense street sport motorcycle that is agile, nimble for your fun filled daily commute and weekend mountain twisties but can also handle our great Indian roads and it's gigantic speed breakers, potholes and what not with its jacked up suspensions and high ground clearance and also cruise the butter smooth National Highways at 100kmph all day along with your better half enjoying our scenic beauties while comfortably seated in the huge pillion seat? Probably a KTM Adventure 250/390 will fit the bill just fine!! The famous quote 'Jack of all trades, master of none!' suits this KTM perfectly! It may not be as adventurous as a Himalayan off-road, but it sure is better on-road. Likewise, it sure can't cruise like a meteor/Interceptor on-road, but sure it can tacke speedbrakers and potholes at speeds and take you to places where an Interceptor may not. P.S. For people who say why not save some money and get the duke 250 instead of the adventure 250 as it has much better styling, LED headlights, fatter tyres etc, I'd say the premium over the duke with it's tradeoffs are worth it if you're looking for function over form. My first bike was a KTM Duke 200, and this KTM Adventure 250 felt just the right updates wherever I wanted
Who should not consider this motorcycle If you're looking for city usage primarily If you want nice cushiony/bouncy super soft suspension at city speeds If you're on the shorter side and average built, you may want to check the height and weight Finally, the riding gear - RE Streetwind v1 jacket, RE Rambler gloves and a MT helmet for optimum protection while maintaining the air flow and comfort ![]() Please comment your thoughts and let me know if there's anything to clarify with respect to the motorcycle and I will be more than happy to assist (if I am aware of it) ![]() Last edited by Aditya : 24th August 2022 at 20:03. Reason: As requested |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 52 BHPians Thank shravansp24 for this useful post: | abhi_tjet, Akshay6988, anivy, ast.ggn, AutoIndian, batterylow, bf1983, brownkaiser, chinmaypillay, CptSlow, CrAzY dRiVeR, Cyborg, deerhunter, dkaile, drrajasaravanan, gharika, Grimlock, GTO, hiren.mistry, hmansari, Jabberwocky, JithinR, Jnani, karanddd, KarthikK, LongDrive lover, LordSharan, M-Roc, MadRasTan4986, Malliketh, mugen_pinaki27, neil.jericho, Piston_head, pugram, ram1kv, Redline6800, saitvsk23, Sarvodaya, Scarlet_Rider, SchumiFan, shiv11bhargava, shyamg28, silverado, skarface, Skidrow, SoumenD, surjaonwheelz, The Great, VijayAnand1, Vinodh_Gowda, WishNone, Xaos636 |
|
![]() | #2 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Nov 2015 Location: Bengaluru
| Re: Ownership Review | KTM Adventure 250 Quote:
I got myself a KTM 390 Adventure 2 weeks back and can relate to your observations regarding the quality of parts. The ones around the fuel tank are great and leave no room for complaint, but things like the keyhole to remove the rear seat is of questionable quality. I feel as if it's going to come out. The windscreen that comes as standard is definitely not at all usable above 80kmph and needs an upgrade. Are you searching for any aftermarket ones in this regard? Do let me know the brand and how you procured the rear tyre hugger aka diaper as per your words. My ride below, Just like the 250 ADV, 390 ADV too suffers from bad low-end grunt. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 8 BHPians Thank Vinodh_Gowda for this useful post: | ast.ggn, Cyborg, hiren.mistry, hmansari, neil.jericho, shiv11bhargava, shravansp24, silverado |
![]() | #3 | |
I looked up initially for an bigger and functional aftermarket visor but the pricing turned me off. Later on, I stopped looking for it as I felt the stock visor with the newer helmet that I own now is good enough The rear tyre hugger is straight from the Duke/RC series. You can get the hugger along with the adventure specific bolts(Adventure needs bigger bolts) directly from the KTM service center. The bolt holes of the hugger needs be widened, which the svc mechanic did it on my behalf during his off-work hours. The dark shade of your 390 with the orange stickering looks amazing though! Cheers to the happy miles ahead ![]() Last edited by shravansp24 : 24th August 2022 at 14:19. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks shravansp24 for this useful post: | hmansari |
![]() | #4 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Feb 2013 Location: India
| Re: Ownership Review | KTM Adventure 250 Congratulations Shravan on the purchase. Wish you many happy miles with it ![]() Quote:
![]() Last edited by SoumenD : 24th August 2022 at 14:49. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks SoumenD for this useful post: | shravansp24 |
![]() | #5 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jan 2021 Location: Madras
| Re: Ownership Review | KTM Adventure 250 Congrats for your new ride and it was a great review ![]() ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Piston_head for this useful post: | shravansp24 |
![]() | #6 | ||
The weight didn't bother me much as I was able to handle it without much effort(but a lean/lightly built person may find it difficult to push it around or while getting it out of a parking space which is further compounded by the height) The width of the handlebar and mirrors took sometime to get used to while ridding in traffic as my previous bike was very narrow and mirrors were so low that it can filter anywhere With respect to the seats, I've felt the firmness to be just as expected(I would've preffered a little softer seat cover though which got resolved by the nylon mesh which brings in a springy action of few mm). It has decent padding to absorb some light-medium jolts from the suspension but hard enough that it won't cave in. When spending long time in the seat, a softer seat gives very less ventilation(you'll start feeling the heat) and after it caves in, the seat is just as firm as a hard seat. Also, it makes the rider difficult to move around compared to a harder seat. However, softer seats gives a better sensation during very very short rides Adding the ventilated seat mesh didn't increase the height much(probably few negligible millimeters). I added them mainly for better ventilation as I'm a very sweaty person(this reduced my sweatiness from 100% to 0%) while also being little springy when running over bumps and potholes. I have ridden close to 500km recently on a one day trip to Jawadhu hills and felt the seat+the ventilated mesh to be perfect enough. Didn't feel any bum nor back pain after the ride. Last edited by shravansp24 : 24th August 2022 at 19:25. | ||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 6 BHPians Thank shravansp24 for this useful post: | Cyborg, hmansari, Piston_head, ram1kv, SchumiFan, shiv11bhargava |
![]() | #7 |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Sep 2019 Location: Bengaluru
| Re: Ownership Review | KTM Adventure 250 Glad I was able to help in the decision making process all those months ago (on your other thread). I’ve noticed one thing though - you seem to want to wring out the throttle in a higher gear every time and expect instant judder-free acceleration. That’s really not possible with a KTM. You might want something more torquey for that, like an INT 650 or something. A high revving single cylinder is the wrong place to have such expectations. Treat it right, and the 250s are brilliant machines! I found the 250 to be much better to ride than the 390 in low speed traffic scenarios. Do a sprocket change if the relatively lower grunt still affects you. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank TheHelix0202 for this useful post: | neil.jericho, rahul4321, shravansp24 |
![]() | #8 |
Newbie Join Date: Jun 2021 Location: Kolkata
| Re: Ownership Review | KTM Adventure 250 [My motorcycle is veering very very slightly to the right when I let my hands go off the handlebar.] I'm not an expert on motorcycles, heck ive only ridden a bike on my own twice, but a friend of mine had a similar issue. Granted it was a completely different bike, a Bajaj Avenger to be precise, but his bike would also veer very slightly to the left when not holding on to the bars. He tried everything you mentioned, but nothing really worked. He just learnt to live with it until he changed his tires. Not quite sure if it was the new tire or the spoke adjustment done by the tire guy but the bike stayed straight from then on. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank Jabberwocky for this useful post: | neil.jericho, shravansp24 |
![]() | #9 | ||
Actually, I agree with you on the torquey interceptor and a high revving motor like this 250 cannot accelerate as easily as an int650 at lower rpms. But, what I'm trying to say is the comfort zone of the engine. If you consider the duke 200 or the R15v3, even at 25kmph @4th gear(mt 15 can even handle 5th gear as low as 30kmph), the engine definitely doesn't pick up pace when you wring the throttle(let's say 40% throttle), but it doesn't judder/knock as much either. Whereas, if you consider the KTM 250s, even at 35kmph @4th gear, if you wring the throttle by 40%, the engine judders and cries to be downshifted. I agree the engine is not meant for low end power, but juddering and struggling at 4000rpm is a little on the higher side and must be noted for people considering a motorcycle with this engine for city-oriented usage And yes, with respect to traffic, in stock form, the 250 feels much better than the 390 Quote:
With respect to tyres, my mechanic too suggested the same, but the probability of the tyres being the cause is on the lower side. This is because, during my voluntary T-stem change, they disassembled and re-assembled the frontend and it reduced the veering issue to an extent(to a live-able limit where it no longer veers post 80kmph)!. If it was the tyres, the reassembly shouldn't have any effect ideally(this was an assumption made by my local mechanic and myself - we may be wrong). But thank you very much for your inputs! I will further research into the tyres and will see if I could make a possible change of tyre Last edited by shravansp24 : 24th August 2022 at 22:20. | ||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank shravansp24 for this useful post: | Jabberwocky, neil.jericho, shiv11bhargava |
![]() | #10 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Mar 2015 Location: Mumbai,Saudi
| Re: Ownership Review | KTM Adventure 250 Hey Shravan, it's a nice review you have put out. I can agree on most of the points, you mentioned as i have ridden the 1st gen 390 and the ADV 390 the ADV soaks up rough patches much better than the Duke. Plus it can be capable off-roader. The area where Duke excels is braking stability and throttle response.All in all its a nice all rounder bike. I have a 1st gen 390. Anyways congratulations on the purchase of the ADV250 and happy Kilometres ahead. Cheers, Dhruv shetty |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Dhruv Shetty for this useful post: | shravansp24 |
![]() | #11 |
| Re: Ownership Review | KTM Adventure 250
Very true! I too owned a first gen Duke 200(2015), the throttle response was instantaneous and the motorcycle was eager and #ReadyToRace always! |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank shravansp24 for this useful post: | Dhruv Shetty, shiv11bhargava |
|
![]() | #12 |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2021 Location: Johannesburg
| Re: Ownership Review | KTM Adventure 250 Thanks for taking the time to pen down your experience with this baby ADV from KTM. I am planning to buy a ~3lac bike by the end of this year and currently torn between VStrom-250SX & Adventure 250. Was searching for ownership reports of the KTM when the TBHP newsletter popped up in my inbox, and there it was, exactly what I was looking for! Please keep the thread alive with updates on servicing experience, spare parts costs etc, I will be keeping a close eye on this one :-) |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank CptSlow for this useful post: | neil.jericho, shravansp24 |
![]() | #13 | |
Last edited by shravansp24 : 30th August 2022 at 12:59. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks shravansp24 for this useful post: | CptSlow |
![]() | #14 |
Newbie Join Date: Sep 2022 Location: Assam
| Re: Ownership Review | KTM Adventure 250 The use of Fuelx pro has reduced the jerking/low rpm issue to a great extent which has made city ride/ slow ride in bad roads/offroad enjoyable. Even I could feel a little bit more smoothness and moreover radiator fan is not starting as much as before. The riding experience has improved a lot. I would say, atleast try it. They have a return policy if you don't like it but can't say how it will work out. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks doley222 for this useful post: | shravansp24 |
![]() | #15 | |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2022 Location: Pune/Bengaluru
Also have you used XP95 fuel? Apart from the slight improvement in NVH it feels like to me it helps the bike not stall in lower speeds. I will love to hear your experience of the same. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks advstreak for this useful post: | shravansp24 |
![]() |