Old 6th October 2014, 15:23   #46

Re: Maruti Ciaz : Official Review

I wanted to upgrade to a comfortable and economical three boxer. Since most of my stable is from Maruti, what better choice. I knew that this would be weakest of all oil burners in competition but this car is for wifey and I'm not looking for a fire snorter anyway. I've booked the car and the dealer informs that the waiting period is 3 months (maybe a strategy, who knows).

I've booked the ZDi (O) version and will update as I progress to the delivery phase.
Old 6th October 2014, 15:25   #47

Very detailed and honest review from TBHP as usual.

I like the look of the car, It is simple yet functional and proportionate, unlike the Sunny/Scala that this is being compared to.

The dashboard looks strikingly 'similar' to an extent with the Dzire, with some minor changes like the aircon vents, and the central waterfall console. And Maruti, what is with these damn BEIGE carpets, they are a real mess to maintain
dass is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th October 2014, 15:26   #48

Team,

We didn't get a chance to drive the petrol at the event. A request has been made to Maruti and hopefully, the 1.4L is available for our test soon.
GTO is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 6th October 2014, 15:26   #49

Originally Posted by sourabhzen View Post
If looks and segment (and interiors) aren't the criteria then it becomes extremely difficult to decide, IMO. However, I think Vento, Rapid and New Fiesta ATs are far superior than Maruti's, Honda's or Hyundai's autoboxes.
But then the Vento, Rapid AT's come in the same price range as the Ciaz with a lot of baggage (Read: Unreliable DSG's). I was comparing the Japs/Koreans. Even though a generation old but generally peace of mind.
anilkalvani is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th October 2014, 15:31   #50
RGK

Mod Note : There are several spelling & grammatical errors in your posts. This negatively affects the forum experience for other readers.

Kindly ensure that you proof-read your posts prior to submission. Also, it would be a good idea to use spell-checkers.

Last edited by GTO : 10th October 2014 at 16:51.
RGK is offline   Received Infraction
Old 6th October 2014, 15:33   #51

The Ciaz seems to be the best foot forward for Maruti in the mid segment sedan space and ticks almost all the boxes including the very important box called Maruti.

However competing with its key rivals such as City and Verna, it does lose out on the power front but again if a Toyota can sell its Corollas with a puny D4D motor banking almost on its badge then why not a Maruti

Also the fact that all the cars in this space are not perfect either

Verna - has a rocket of a diesel motor but with average ride and handling
City - is great in terms of a petrol but loses on the smaller diesel power
Sunny - a very competent product plagued by issues that are beyond the car itself (read company / dealer related)
Vento - good overall package but now have been showing their age in the market

Coming to the pricing from Ciaz seems to have really kicked up a storm and taken its competition head on and even undercutting them.

Overall Ciaz is a Maruti - it will sell well (at least this time). Is it the best of the lot, thats something which IMO would still tilt towards the Verna both in terms the package and power.
girishglg is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th October 2014, 15:34   #52

Aditya, nice detailed review!

Have one query - does the top end model have Cruise control?
Old 6th October 2014, 15:37   #53

Originally Posted by finneyp View Post
Have one query - does the top end model have Cruise control?
Nope.

The complete feature-wise breakup of all variants from the official brochure:

Maruti Ciaz : Official Review-untitled.gif
RavenAvi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th October 2014, 15:46   #54

Nice review!

I have one thing to say about the pricing. If the Vento costs 9.9Lacs, 9.8Lacs for the ZDi+ is too optimistic. But yeah, VXi pricing is good.

The dash looks too much like Swift. Not sure if someone who pays 12 Lacs for ZDi+ will be happy about it.

The engines are too mediocre for a car of this class.

The cabbies might be happy with a VDi. Best application of this car is to be used as an airport taxi.

I feel that this is more like a next gen Dzire than next gen SX4.
blue_pulsar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th October 2014, 15:50   #55
PPS

Zxi+ & Zdi+ will only be available next year!

http://www.motortrend.in/autonews/06...early-2015.htm
PPS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th October 2014, 15:50   #56

Pros for me:
1. Clean looks
Not overdone like the fluidic theme. I also like the bonnet-bumper separation at the grill level unlike most other cars where it is higher

2. Suzuki badge
For people who want nothing else than a Maruti Suzuki. Initially it may work in their favour but I'm interested to see how it will work in the lng run

3. Competitive Pricing
Good pricing to challenge City and others but will have to see how soon the price revision comes in-The new year or at the maimum the new financial year IMO

4. Right side positioning of the start-stop button
I somehow feel it is safer there than on the passenger side.

Cons for me:
1. No DRLs-Should have been present in the zdi+ atleast. But I'm also happy that they have not given it around the fog lamps
2. No Boot lining-Looks cheap (City looks cheap too)
3. No Rear Fog Lamp-A safety omission IMO
4. No Reach adjustment steering wheel
5. Weak Engine-90hp. Yaaaawn!
6. Low weight-1010kg Petrol and 1030kg Diesel for such a big car-Unless it is not evident while driving

In an over-a-million rupees car, I would've also wanted:
1. Boot access through the rear seat armrest
2. Cruise control
3. Foldable rear seat

Overall nothing in it to Wow me, its just another decent package.
The biggest question for me is "Can Maruti break the million rupee jinx?"

Last edited by hemanth.anand : 6th October 2014 at 16:03.
hemanth.anand is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th October 2014, 16:16   #57

Very good and Detailed review as usual, but I think the Ciaz is a tad too expensive for a car of this segment, People are not willing to spend for a Maruti Badge.

Team,

We didn't get a chance to drive the petrol at the event. A request has been made to Maruti and hopefully, the 1.4L is available for our test soon.
GTO,
Does the Diesel get full engine Dampening carpet?
In this Picture of the engine bay, I can see some screws missing on one side. Is this normal?

Also why a Torsion beam suspension ? The age old Esteem/Baleno has an Independent rear Suspension.
Maruti Ciaz : Official Review-team-1.jpg  

Captain Slow is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th October 2014, 16:22   #58

So far, no information on the "procedure" to be followed by those who have booked a Maruti Ciaz, beginning to feel like the good old days of Maruti-800 ration shop approach?

Thing is, even ration shops are now careful about how they deal with prospective customers, and Maruti-Suzuki may need to consider that aspect very very soon.

Mine was one of the earliest bookings at that particular dealer. Let us see how things progress. Shall keep readers in the loop.
Old 6th October 2014, 16:28   #59

The diesel is overpriced as far as I am concerned. I would not pick this over Honda City or the Verna or even the new Ford Fiesta.
Old 6th October 2014, 16:50   #60

Did something for myself. Might help prospective buyers, hence sharing.

Maruti Ciaz : Official Review-ciaz.jpg
abhisheksircar is offline   (14) Thanks