Old 13th October 2024, 23:42   #391
Oxy

Re: Citroen C3 Review

Originally Posted by AmGu View Post
Another aspect is the relatively poor fuel efficiency - a combination of a turbo engine and city traffic means that it is difficult to do better than 8 kpl in the city. To further compound this, the fuel tank is absolutely tiny and requires a refill a bit too often.
The manual transmission giving a mere 8 kmpl is abysmal. The newly launched Torque converter automatic variant is then likely to offer 5 or 6 kmpl. This is going to be a deal breaker for many.

Considering the strong "Kitna Deti Hai" sentiment in India, I do not see this selling much, especially the automatic.
Oxy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th October 2024, 09:52   #392

Upgraded the entire audio system on my C3 including full door and rear wheel well damping ( the subwoofer sits neatly integrated on the boot side). Total cost came to around 1.5 lakhs. Installation done at Car park Trivandrum. The job took 2 days, out of which the majority of the time was spent on damping sheet installation.

New Kit:

Focal speakers
Alpine subwoofer
Musimo pro DSP
Xcelsus Audio Definio 4 4 channel amplifier
Ousail damping

Positives:

The sound is crisp and there is no distortion even at concert hall volumes. The only catch is that to properly enjoy music from your mobile, only HD songs will give the expected clarity. Everything else will sound crap.

More of a benefit for me is thanks to the damping, the car feels much more quite, especially at highway speeds ( it was already quite before) and the door heft has increased a lot. The car feels more European now what with its plush ride and quiter cabin.

Negatives:

To truly enjoy this system, the music has to be at above average volume, which can tax your ears after sometime.

P.S : The stock speakers were so light, you can literally pick it up with one finger. Nippon branded. Now I understand where OEMs save money.
Citroen C3 Review-damping_2.jpg  

Citroen C3 Review-amp_dsp-1.jpg  

Nanolover is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 30th October 2024, 13:49   #393

Originally Posted by Nanolover View Post
Upgraded the entire audio system on my C3 including full door and rear wheel well damping ( the subwoofer sits neatly integrated on the boot side). Total cost came to around 1.5 lakhs. Installation done at Car park Trivandrum. The job took 2 days, out of which the majority of the time was spent on damping sheet installation.
Solely run music from Apple Music. The speakers will be in their burn in period. If the issue persists in terms of SQ get the DSP retuned after 2 months. Then the tweeters would have set in and youll have a proper tune.

I'm also using Ousail damping sheets. Great ones.

Can you specify which series Focal speakers and which Alpine amp? Also please provide a breakup.
Also which is this Musimo Pro DSP. Please introduce.

Last edited by graaja : 30th October 2024 at 14:03. Reason: Trimming quoted text. Please quote only a small or relevant part of a post
Sbk__Audiophile is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th October 2024, 20:41   #394

Our Citroën C3 Turbo Automatic: First Impressions (200 km in!)

A massive thank you to fellow BHPian @SRISRI_90 for the in-depth review of the manual C3 Turbo! It helped seal the deal on our decision to bring home the automatic version, and so far, we’re loving every bit of it.

The Backstory
The decision came after reading about another BHPian who was on the verge of buying a Virtus GT but was advised to wait for the facelift expected in 2025. This struck a chord because we were facing a similar dilemma. I had already booked the Virtus GT in August, but delivery kept getting delayed due to various reasons. To make matters trickier, my wife wasn’t keen on continuing to drive our 8-year-old manual Hyundai i10, and it was definitely showing its age.

In the end, we decided to sell off the i10 and shift gears—literally—to the Citroën C3 Turbo Automatic. What made the decision easier was my brother-in-law selling his 2017 Octavia (which had clocked over 1.2 lakh kilometers). This gave us the perfect balance: the Octavia for long road trips and the C3 for our everyday drives.

What We Love So Far (After 200 km)
Silky Smooth Transmission: The automatic gearbox shifts seamlessly, making driving in city traffic much easier.
Great Ground Clearance & Comfortable Ride: The high GC combined with Citroën’s famous suspension setup makes for a super smooth ride. We haven’t pushed it too hard yet, but city bumps are a breeze.
AC Performance: While we haven’t tested the AC in peak summer (it’s winter here already), it’s already proving efficient enough for our current needs.
City Car Vibes: Its compact size, excellent handling, and tight turning radius make it ideal for navigating through busy streets.
New Features: The updated window button placements (no more awkward locations!), LED headlamps, and digital console give the car a modern, practical touch.
That Engine!: Even in just 200 km, the turbocharged engine’s performance stands out—it’s got ample grunt and is incredibly fun to drive.

Mileage Reality Check
We’re still early in the ownership phase, but the current mileage stands at around 8.4 kmpl. My wife wasn’t too happy seeing that, so I quickly switched the console to show the eco bar instead and reassured her that things will improve as we put more kilometers on it.

We’re still getting to know our new ride, but so far, the Citroën C3 Turbo Automatic has been a fantastic addition to our garage. Here’s to many more kilometers!
Citroen C3 Review-whatsapp-image-20241030-8.16.55-pm.jpeg  

Razzmatazz is offline   (46) Thanks
Old 30th October 2024, 23:20   #395

New Kit:

Focal speakers
Alpine subwoofer
Musimo pro DSP
Xcelsus Audio Definio 4 4 channel amplifier
Ousail damping

Positives:

The sound is crisp and there is no distortion even at concert hall volumes. The only catch is that to properly enjoy music from your mobile, only HD songs will give the expected clarity. Everything else will sound crap.

More of a benefit for me is thanks to the damping, the car feels much more quite, especially at highway speeds ( it was already quite before) and the door heft has increased a lot. The car feels more European now what with its plush ride and quiter cabin.

Negatives:

To truly enjoy this system, the music has to be at above average volume, which can tax your ears after sometime.

P.S : The stock speakers were so light, you can literally pick it up with one finger. Nippon branded. Now I understand where OEMs save money.
When you truly want to enjoy the music the bare minimum which you need to do is get a pair of 3inch midrange speakers.
How much ever you spend the money on branded speakers they will not make a difference until you have a 3way front stage.

VizagRider is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 31st October 2024, 01:01   #396

Originally Posted by Razzmatazz View Post

A massive thank you to fellow BHPian @SRISRI_90 for the in-depth review of the manual C3 Turbo! It helped seal the deal on our decision to bring home the automatic version, and so far, we’re loving every bit of it.

We’re still getting to know our new ride, but so far, the Citroën C3 Turbo Automatic has been a fantastic addition to our garage. Here’s to many more kilometers!
That's one hot hatch I would say, Wishing you countless more miles ahead!!
Looking forward to hearing more about your experience with C3 Automatic.
Did you get any discount and how long did they take from booking to delivery?
Highh5 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st November 2024, 07:22   #397

Originally Posted by Razzmatazz View Post

Congratulations on your new purchase!
The car looks beautiful in blue colour. It’s a one hot hatch you have.
Please do update this thread with the progress of your ownership.
Wishing you happy miles ahead!
arvindmanju is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st November 2024, 11:32   #398

Upgraded the entire audio system on my C3 including full door and rear wheel well damping ( the subwoofer sits neatly integrated on the boot side).

That's a great upgrade on your car. I used focal speakers on my previous car and they are excellent for clean audio. BTW, regarding the ear fatigue, focals have bright sound signature and can be harsh. But once the speakers are burnt in and the upper end is tamed, the sound extremely clear and lively. Try toning down the higher frequencies for a pleasant sound. You might lose a bit of clarity but will be pleasing for the ears.
John P Daniel is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 1st November 2024, 16:32   #399

I recently took test of the same model but I ended up being totally unimpressed by what Citroen had to offer. Maruti 800 styled flaps to open the door, rear passenger power window buttons placed near gearbox, no reclining option for rear passenger, key seemed way too outdated etc.

I own 16 years old Corolla Altis along with Nexon EV Max top variant. Seating in that Citroen felt way different compared to modern cars I'm driving right now.

Only 10/10 point was the mechanics. The steering, braking and acceleration for a CVT transmission was quite impressive. But for the price point, I don't think it'll have us Indians into buying these cars from Citroen until they understand Indian customers needs.
kunalkhandagale is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st November 2024, 20:18   #400

Originally Posted by arvindmanju View Post
Congratulations on your new purchase!
The car looks beautiful in blue colour. It’s a one hot hatch you have.
Please do update this thread with the progress of your ownership.
Wishing you happy miles ahead!
Thank you kind Sir! I will do an update post the first service at 2K/2 months.
Razzmatazz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st November 2024, 20:21   #401

Originally Posted by Highh5 View Post
That's one hot hatch I would say, Wishing you countless more miles ahead!!
Looking forward to hearing more about your experience with C3 Automatic.
Did you get any discount and how long did they take from booking to delivery?
I am loving the car so far. In case of discounts I got 25k of the final price, the total OR was 12.63.
I booked on 28th Sept and showroom received the vehicle on the 24th Oct (took delivery on 27th) , the vehicle is a Sept 2024 manufactured one.
Razzmatazz is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2024, 09:49   #402

Originally Posted by kunalkhandagale View Post
The steering, braking and acceleration for a CVT transmission was quite impressive.
The C3 has a 6 speed Aisin torque converter transmission and not a CVT.
superblover is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2024, 12:47   #403

I took delivery of Citroen C3 AT a couple days back. So far, so good. The executive had been great. I was waiting for Citroen to come up with an automatic version as I wanted to change my mother’s almost 15 years old i10 AMT.
Citroen C3 Review-a2d9f95a67e7464aacea9df8865bfcf4.jpeg  

Dreamlifter.07 is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2024, 23:27   #404
KnK

Really happy to see this C3 thread is gaining some momentum after the feature updates and automatic launch.
We also decided to move with the french car maker and go ahead with C3 turbo AT to replace our 12 year old Swift diesel (which had run 1.85 lakh kms).
As far as I am concerned I see C3 as hot hatch and a proper succesor to Polo gt tsi considering the 205 nm of torque and sweet 6 speed torque converter AT.
The car is a fundamentally strong one with basics covered well and extreme value for money proposition - 1.2 litre Turbo with proper 6 speed torque converter and 6 airbags for safety all under 10 lakh ex showroom - genuinely i cant ask more.
KnK is online now   (6) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2024, 04:24   #405

Originally Posted by VizagRider View Post
When you truly want to enjoy the music the bare minimum which you need to do is get a pair of 3inch midrange speakers.
Hi, which 3way front would you recommend?