Old 23rd October 2023, 19:04   #1246

Re: Toyota Urban Cruiser Hyryder Review

Originally Posted by PRIMA View Post
Unfortunately, the whole bumper needs to be taken off. I initially thought about that to make the horn sound a bit better (was looking to replace with a Bosch/Roots/Hella). However, since i came to know from the installer that it can't be replaced without removing the front bumper, I dropped the idea
Nothing unfortunate about it, most of the vehicles require the same process. It's hardly a 30-minute job. You should get it done. Bosch Symphony are very reliable and super cheap (under 700 right now on Amazon) and sound great.
Old 24th October 2023, 23:22   #1247

Originally Posted by Amrit@wheels View Post
Nothing unfortunate about it, most of the vehicles require the same process. It's hardly a 30-minute job. You should get it done. Bosch Symphony are very reliable and super cheap (under 700 right now on Amazon) and sound great.
I think you did not get the context there! Anyhow, nothing surprising about Bosch Symphony's reliability.
Old 25th October 2023, 17:21   #1248

Re: 2023 Toyota Hyryder S Hybrid: Initial Ownership Review (10,000km)

Originally Posted by KurianMathoor View Post
Introduction:-
I have been using Hyryder for the past 4 months and covered 11,500km. These are my few observations after driving through various conditions. I have also attached few pictures as there are very few posts reviewing the Base Hybrid variant.
Colour: Cafe White
Variant: S hybrid
Current ODO reading: 11500 km

Upgrades:-
1. Graphene Coating
2. Body colour side claddings (Toyota Service Centre Paint Job)
3. 3M Antiglare Front Windshield
4. Garware side Tint
5. 16inch Infinity Alloy Wheels in stock tires (Better Stance)
6. LED Bulb Upgrade for headlamps
7. 3D Floor mats
Hi, great choice of upgrades.

had a query about the LED bulb replacement. Was it only a bulb replacement or entire casing? From what I read LED bulbs do not fit in the Halogen casing and S variants come with halogen bulbs // Did the Toyota Service center do this bulb upgrade for you?

Last edited by suhaas307 : 25th October 2023 at 17:28. Reason: formatting and proofing post
FindinNewWheels is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th October 2023, 18:17   #1249

Originally Posted by FindinNewWheels View Post
Hi, great choice of upgrades.

had a query about the LED bulb replacement. Was it only a bulb replacement or entire casing? From what I read LED bulbs do not fit in the Halogen casing and S variants come with halogen bulbs // Did the Toyota Service center do this bulb upgrade for you?
I did the bulb upgrade at a Car Accessory shop.
Old 26th October 2023, 02:04   #1250

Originally Posted by aks812 View Post
How do you know that Suzuki is manufacturing the cars? Did SA tell you? All Hyryder and GV are made in Toyota plant near Bangalore.
I did some digging and found out that Toyota Bidadi plant 2 which produces Grand Vitara/ Hyryder has a capacity of manufacturing 210,000 vehicles per annum. In August, the total sales and export of GV/Hyryder is 20,042 vehicles and in September it's 18,934. On extrapolating for a year it's roughly calculates to 230k to 240k GV/Hyryder sales and export per annum. This is more than the capacity of Bidadi plant 2. So Maruti must be manufacturing GV somewhere other than Bidadi plant to keep enough supply.

All the part suppliers for both cars are same

Some parts of the same cars can have more than one supplier based on varient or volume. It won't be a stretch to assume GV and Hyryder having different supplier parts.

3 year warranty is Toyota policy and Maruti have their own policy, the reason of price difference between both the cars.
Toyota also provides 1lakh kilometres more warranty than Maruti.

There cannot be any heft or weight added to any part of car till there is a facelift or update on car
This I agree with. I smelled bull when the SA said more heft has been added to door and bonnet. If there is more heft, then it would have changed the kerb weight of the car. And I assume, any structural changes would need approval again. I checked with another SA in different showroom and he partially confirmed the changes. He said the bonnet and C and D pillars have been strengthened to withstand side impact testing. Maybe, experts in the forum can clarify, on how vehicle shell can be strengthened without adding weight or new approvals.

Last edited by RedMaw : 26th October 2023 at 02:04. Reason: spelling
Old 6th November 2023, 20:30   #1251

A relative of mine just got home a top end Toyota Hyryder hybrid and I took it for a short spin. I usually drive a Wagon R 1.2 AMT these days in Delhi and my observations are more or less based on that.

- As soon as I sat in the driver sear I found my head touching the roof. Got the seat height down and it was better. Overall frontal visibility was fine when seat height was up but not when it was reduced. Cabin didn't feel as airy as the Wagon R and overall visibility was also not as good.

- While my relative was reversing the car out from garage I could hear the car whine and grine a lot. Didn't sound like a silent electric motor.

- Window switches and ORVM control panel was same as my Wagon R. Was not expecting in a 20lakh rupee car.

- Space was just ok. Was expecting more from a "Grand" Vitara's twin.

- The gear lever was hard and rigid. Also didn't give a good feel of slotting. I was just not able to figure out whether it has slotted into P, R, D or N unless I kept a watch on the info display. Very unlike my AMT which is very sure slotting and require almost no effort. I have not driven much TQs, CVTs or DCTs except for test drives so not aware how their lever's behave.

- The drive of EVT is buttery smooth!!! Zero gear changes are felt and the transition from electric to ICE is not felt at all. Infact there is no change of sound also when these transitions happen. This is an area the car just shines!!!

- NVH is not great. Despite of car being driven in electric mode for most of my drive there is this constant whine. Much better than than my Wagon R though. Not like a Hyundai or Ford.

- The top up display is not neat. Looks crude with the big hole.

- Ride was slightly boucy and I guess it was due to over inflated tyres. Inquired from relative and he had not got the air pressure checked since taking delivery a week back.

- Could already notice a squeak from front dashboard while going over uneven surfaces.

Overall, I didn't come back much impressed keeping in mind that this machine costs 20 lakhs on road(but I guess that's the premium we'll have to pay for the sweet and seamless hybrid technology). For daily commutes this can be a no nonsense car with added advantage of saving on petrol costs. Right now giving 25 kmpl for daily Dwarka to Gurgaon drive which is just phenomenal!

Last edited by Maverick Avi : 6th November 2023 at 20:34.
Maverick Avi is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 6th November 2023, 20:56   #1252

Originally Posted by FindinNewWheels View Post
You can get 50W OSRAM LED bulbs that are replacement for Halogen bulbs and can be used on reflector setups (doesnt well on projector setups though). I had purchased the 4300K variants online for Honda City on planet car care site and they have been a boon at night. Amazon only sells 25W variants of these bulbs, not the 50W ones. Hope that helps!
outdoorlover is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th November 2023, 09:58   #1253

Electric Whine
- This is common with all electric cars. Since you haven't driven one you noticed it.

Window switches
- Yes, it's a bummer. At least they should have had backlights and all auto up/down function

- Space was just ok. Was expecting more from a "Grand" Vitara's twin.
It's exactly same as GV. Only cosmetic changes and different software.

- The gear lever was hard and rigid.

This smoothens over time. You need to press the brake hard to release it properly. You get used to PRND instinctively though it would have been nice for the alphabets to to light up.

- The savings in fuel is just phenomenal. When I switched from Yaris to Hybrid, I have saved about 95 K in 9 months over the 18500 Kms that I have driven. Averaging about 24 including driving in Mumbai traffic.

Question to Hyryder owners - Are the windows with anti-pinch feature? How about the sun roof?
Palio_2005 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 8th November 2023, 15:04   #1254

Has anyone got their PUC certificate for the car? (Hybrid/Neo Drive)
The place I went to in Bangalore, they didn't have the car's name in their database. I ended up entering the car name as Urban Cruiser (MT) which was the closest one in the list (couldn't find an AT in the list). ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Wondering if anyone else faced a similar issue.
Er_Who is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th November 2023, 09:44   #1255

Hi. My car is nearing 1 year and will have to get the PUC done as well. How does one get PUC for a hybrid car, since it starts only in electric mode. Even when you press the accelerator in N mode, the car doesn't start. I tried looking at the manual but there are no instructions.
Old 9th November 2023, 09:56   #1256

Originally Posted by Palio_2005 View Post
Hi. My car is nearing 1 year and will have to get the PUC done as well. How does one get PUC for a hybrid car, since it starts only in electric mode. Even when you press the accelerator in N mode, the car doesn't start. I tried looking at the manual but there are no instructions.
You'll have to activate maintenance mode for emission testing. Please see the below link for step by step instructions.

Er_Who is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 9th November 2023, 10:02   #1257

Originally Posted by Er_Who View Post
Has anyone got their PUC certificate for the car? (Hybrid/Neo Drive)
The place I went to in Bangalore, they didn't have the car's name in their database. I ended up entering the car name as Urban Cruiser (MT) which was the closest one in the list (couldn't find an AT in the list). ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Wondering if anyone else faced a similar issue.
The below thread discusses the same on what to do.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techn...ml#post5583303 (Hybrid cars run mostly on battery when idling | How then is their PUC done?)
DicKy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th November 2023, 10:04   #1258

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techn...ml#post5583859 (Hybrid cars run mostly on battery when idling | How then is their PUC done?)

I have detailed the same for Grand Vitara in my post above, kindly refer the same !
nirmaljusdoit is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th November 2023, 10:24   #1259

While i do not have an answer, is this not the role of someone like the RTO/ministry of transport to release some sort of guideline on how to get PUC done for a Hybrid car? Given that Hybrid cars are new in India and am sure the manufacturers would have already worked with the government on this.
NFS2024 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th November 2023, 10:29   #1260

Originally Posted by Er_Who View Post
You'll have to activate maintenance mode for emission testing. Please see the below link for step by step instructions.

https://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=Iljxgpj0F74
Thanks a lot. This is a very useful video.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com