(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
- -
Honda Elevate Review
(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/268661-honda-elevate-review-144.html)
Originally Posted by Glyphrace1909
(Post 5873131)
In fact, I've sometimes got more mileage when I've pushed to car than when I have driven conservatively. I am not sure if this has something to do with the i-VTec system. Would love to know more about this if anyone can help. |
With my limited driving experience of 2500km on Elevate manual, what I have observed is, it gives best mileage at 2200-2500rpm, if the rpm levels are lesser or higher the mileage drops a bit. But the variance is not too high.
To keep the rpm levels at 2200-2500, delay the upshift a bit, that ways you also get performance on demand and makes the overtaking also far easier
@autonow : Congratulations on your new Honda Apex Edition! Coming from Honda it should serve you and your family a long time ahead.
I own currently a Honda Jazz and typically what I have observed is when the RPM is around 2000 to 2200 and if the speed is around 60 to 70 - the mileage goes higher. You need to find that sweet spot for Elevate. It takes sometime for this to happen. About 2 weeks when I had to go out of Indore to meet a client, even in the short distance on Highway, the mileage on the instrument panel came to 20 kms to a litre.
You will enjoy driving a Honda and it takes sometime to get used to all the features. As you rightly mentioned, using the paddle shifters to maintain speed is a very good option.
Wishing you miles of safe drives !
It is with immense pleasure I am making this first ever post here. Been a great fan of Team BHP for more than a decade. I have made my car purchases after spending a considerable amount of time here going through all the experiences share by enthusiasts.
We recently brought home a Honda Elevate CVT ZX R edition. I went through a great deal of dilemma going through all the reviews. At one point I put behind the NVH factor and made up mind to go ahead.
Made a booking in Sundaram Honda, Chennai and took the delivery in a week. The dealer was very cooperative for PDI and I had a prior relationship whenI purchased a Honda city back in 2021.
I have pre ordered Bosch clear advantage wipers as suggested by a fellow Team Bhpian here and changed the stock tyres MRF to Michelin Primacy on day 1. I had enough of the noise that I went the next day and did damping on all doors and upgraded the speakers to Infinity primus. After that I am in love with this beauty - Snow Leopard.
This is my first automatic car and still getting used to the driving dynamics. I am getting a mileage from 9-10 KMS for the whole 300 odd kms I entirely drive in the city. Many thanks to all those great reviewers who helped me pick this beauty.
I am an owner of the Honda Elevate and have been eagerly waiting for NCAP results to confirm its safety and build quality.
Recently, I noticed several cars being tested by BNCAP and GNCAP. However, there are no leaks or updates about the Elevate being evaluated.
During the launch, Honda discussed their internal crash tests and shared images. At that time, I expected we would receive BNCAP or GNCAP ratings soon. It's been over a year, and there are still no updates. Does anyone in this forum know whether Honda is pursuing crash test ratings for the Elevate?
Hi Everyone,
I have a white Honda Elevate V CVT purchased in December 2023. I never wanted a sunroof and ADAS so opted for this model instead of the top one. Missed out on quite a few features due to this. I needed the car urgently as I had sold my Wagon R on OLX in Mumbai and had shifted to Patna. Had driven the car for almost 1 lakh kms in 10 years in Gujarat and Maharashtra. Never gave me any trouble in the whole 10 years except for a exploding tire on the highway at 90 km/hr. Opted for the automatic instead of the manual as both my wife and father can drive it super comfortably. It has done 7k so far with 95% city and 5% highway. Average speed has been 30 km/hr with a mileage of close to 11 kmpl in AC all the time. Daily running is 25 km per day.
The delivery experience was horrible by Vaishali Honda, Patna with tons of missed delivery deadlines in addition to mis-selling. I had paid for 2+3 years extended warranty for Rs. 15000 but on the day of delivery, they instead installed the Rs. 12000 kit. Since we were busy being happy, invoices were not checked. It was only after 3 days my wife checked the invoices and enlightened me with lots of love. The Honda email and helpline was useless. Everything was redirected to the dealers who kept on forcing me to accept the 12k kit. Finally I got in touch with the owner of the showroom with all the screenshots that they relented and issued the warranty after 3 months.
Now in between all this, I delayed certain installations in the car like floor mat, seat covers, roof rails, dash cam etc. Now I need your guidance for the items mentioned below.
1. Floor mats - Purchased PVC mats of GFX following the recommendation given in the thread including boot. Perfect fit
2. Seat cover -15 to 20 k budget
3. Roof Rails - No idea about the cost
4. Dash Cam - 15 to 20k, 4k, 3 channel, without display if possible
5. Fog lamps - Should be very bright, Again no idea about the cost
6. Speakers - Good ones
7. Any other accessory suggestion is welcome except something to protect the exterior. It has already been kissed and hugged and grazed on a 360 degree basis by the bikes, autos, cars, tractor, bicycles etc.
Please advise considering me a complete novice. I will be relying solely on your suggestions and details of any trustworthy garage in Patna will really help.
Thank you all in advance.
Varun
Originally Posted by Darshi
(Post 5879017)
Now in between all this, I delayed certain installations in the car like floor mat, seat covers, roof rails, dash cam etc. Now I need your guidance for the items mentioned below.
…
Please advise considering me a complete novice. I will be relying solely on your suggestions and details of any trustworthy garage in Patna will really help.
Thank you all in advance. |
I can suggest a few that I also took:
1. I got fog lamps installed by Honda itself. I don't want any aftermarket guy installing wiring in the car. Honda will install their white fog lamps and provide a switch on the console to the right hand side of the steering wheel.
2. I got autoform seat covers. They have a tight fit. I also got the same material to replace the fabric in the door panels.
3. I got Infiniti reference series speakers. They are the highest efficiency speakers in the market and work very well with the stock head unit.
IMHO, I would recommend against aftermarket roof rails. They would not have the factory finish. And chances of the install failing in a few years is high.
Originally Posted by hondadriver
(Post 5881162)
I can suggest a few that I also took:
1. I got fog lamps installed by Honda itself. I don't want any aftermarket guy installing wiring in the car. Honda will install their white fog lamps and provide a switch on the console to the right hand side of the steering wheel. |
How much do they charge for a fog lamp installation? And what's the power of honda's white fog lamp?
I installed a fog lamp projector (35+35 = 70W) from outside directly connected through the battery, and nothing is connected to car wiring directly!
Originally Posted by yogesh498
(Post 5881556)
How much do they charge for a fog lamp installation? And what's the power of honda's white fog lamp?
I installed a fog lamp projector (35+35 = 70W) from outside directly connected through the battery, and nothing is connected to car wiring directly! |
The Fog Lamp install was around 11k. The wattage is not that high. I didn't want to get high wattage lamps since the battery and wiring is closely designed to support the OEM spec and not an inch more in this segment. For example: Just look at the speaker magnets of the OEM speakers in the Elevate.
Per Team BHP Monthly Compact SUV sales is 0.5 Lac out of which Elevate does 2500 ie 5%
Reasons for lower sales mentioned across platforms are lack of diesel, hybrid, & turbo.
Can anyone clarify % contribution of above 3 on total sales.
Have a few questions for Elevate MT owners -
What's the performance like at lower RPMs? Dad usually shifts at 2000-2300 rpm (holdover from Indica Petrol that runs out of steam beyond 3000) and he's concerned from reading spec sheets that Elevate has lower peak torque figures than the turbocharged competitors.
What's the fuel economy like in the city/highway? Not looking to cruise at any speed higher than 100 km/h.
How's the AC like during the summers?
Hoping to convince Dad to consider the Elevate more seriously :D
Originally Posted by carhead
(Post 5886219)
Per Team BHP Monthly Compact SUV sales is 0.5 Lac out of which Elevate does 2500 ie 5%
Reasons for lower sales mentioned across platforms are lack of diesel, hybrid, & turbo.
Can anyone clarify % contribution of above 3 on total sales. |
That's a weird question if you are looking to buy a car. To me, the decision depends on an individuals own needs, e.g. if your monthly run is above 1500km, diesel is a preferred option. If FE is a big factor in the decision making, go with hybrid and if you are looking for performance and fun to drive, go with Turbo. NA engines are preferred for their reliability and fuss free ownership and petrol is preferred over diesel if your running is less than 1000km a month or if you intend to keep your car in NCR for more than 10 years.
Anyways, I guess if we only look at NA petrol engine cars in this segment without the hybrid engines, More than 50% Creta and Seltos sold are diesel, another 5% would be turbos for Creta and Seltos, both Grand Vitara and Hyryder are hybrids and Kushaq and Taigun are Turbos.
Only lower trims of Creta and Seltos are NA petrol along with Astor and Elevate.
So, the overall market would be around 12-15k out of which Elevate has approx 15-20% share.
Sorry if the query came across as 'weird'.
Query/ objectives, as mentioned in line 2 was to quantify missed sales opportunity against non NA engines. Thanks for the sizing - 0.15 /0.2 lac per month is less than I thought. 50% diesel share is huge.
I guess Honda is OK with current nos- clearly they'll play safe and avoid cash burn.
Hyryder-Grand Vitara too offer NA ìn lower trims. Their combined sales is 0.15Lac
NA would be at least 50% (my uneducated guess).
This adds another 7,500 to the total NA CSUV market size. Hence taken as approx 0.2L
Originally Posted by carhead
(Post 5887396)
Hyryder-Grand Vitara too offer NA ìn lower trims. Their combined sales is 0.15Lac
NA would be at least 50% (my uneducated guess).
This adds another 7,500 to the total NA CSUV market size. Hence taken as approx 0.2L |
Hyryder-Grand Vitara are mild hybrid in lower trims and full hybrid in upper trims. You can compare mild hybrid to NA as they have a very small battery and it does not compromise on boot space. The mild hybrids would be more like 80% of their sales. If you want to count them in, add 15k rather than 7.5k as overall sales of both these cars is around 20k.
Honda is clearly not chasing the market share in India and are happy with selling 2k Elevates as they are focusing more on exports. Even this month sales figures have 40% decline in domestic market and 32% increase in exports and the exports are largely of Elevate sold as WR-V in Japan.
Originally Posted by ryzen7@5800u
(Post 5887018)
What's the performance like at lower RPMs? Dad usually shifts at 2000-2300 rpm (holdover from Indica Petrol that runs out of steam beyond 3000) and he's concerned from reading spec sheets that Elevate has lower peak torque figures than the turbocharged competitors.
What's the fuel economy like in the city/highway? Not looking to cruise at any speed higher than 100 km/h.
How's the AC like during the summers? |
2000-2300 rpm is the perfect band for Elevate to get good power and its a rev happy engine which can go on to deliver linear power till 8k rpm. For performance at lower RPMs, its better to take a test ride and see if it suits your dad. If you are not looking to cruise higher than 100kmph, there won't be much difference in performance even if compared with turbocharged competitors.
FE is around 10-12 in city and 16-18 on highway for a manual.
No complaints for AC and it cools the cabin efficiently during summers.