Old 27th December 2024, 01:08   #1291

Re: 2024 Mahindra XUV 3XO Review

Originally Posted by Ruibash View Post
I am sorry guys, I went overboard by seeing my 3XO not able to drive more than 10kmph.

Anyways, update from my end: Contacted Mahindra RSA on Monday. They allocated it to TVS Auto Assist. Promised to tow the vehicle at 2pm, did not arrive. Mahindra RSA followed up with them and promised for 3pm. No show. Another agreement for 5pm. No show. Ultimately, came in at 6:30pm. Tow person was kind. He drove and loaded the vehicle on the platform. Reached authorized service center at 7:30pm. Few service colleagues were going home, they saw my car and kindly offered a quick inspection help. Within a minute of opening the engine bonnet and the engine lid, they found the wire to turbo-charger (and to one of the cylinder) was bitten by rodents.
I couldn't believe & was shocked because my FIL's Skoda Rapid was parked at the exact parking space for 7 years where I parked my 3XO. These rodents have probably not liked the taste of Skoda plastics and wires, and Mahindra has probably sugar coated these
Attachment 2662749

On Tuesday, the service personnel have taken a look and has quoted about 16k for the wiring harness, 5k labor for fitting + GST. The wiring harness comes as a single unit and hence has to be replaced as a whole. He has ordered it and recons 8-10 working days to get the part delivered.

Today, have triggered claim at Kotak motor insurance and the assessor was at the service station to confirm and approve the case.

All in all, a tiring & time-consuming process.

Next steps: How to avoid another rodent bite?
Options that I could research:
  1. Anti rodent spray from Amazon - 3M and few other companies
  2. Rat repellent ultrasonic device
  3. SS mesh underneath the car
I want to do all of these. I am just worried about the warranty if I install the repellent device myself and also the SS mesh.
People who might have undergone similar issue, can you please suggest what you did to overcome rodent menace?
Thank you.

Sorry about your loss!!

I used to face similar issues in my garage where the vermin had built a safehouse between the battery and it's carrying case.

While I have never used 3M rodent repellent, but what I did is put bleaching and black phenyl on the garage floor on regular basis and around the car park.
Also used to carefully drop very few drops of chlorpyrifos on selected area such as engine cover battery holder etc and away from electrical and intake systems( which is basically an insecticide and used to eradicate termites and comes in various percentages. We have 50 percent concentration).

This has a strong odor and remains for long and I have not faced rodent issue for long. And please be very careful with this insecticide as it is quite strong and poisonous.

Also recently during periodic service at VW they used some sort of engine bay cleaner which as per them has some rodent repellent abilities, although I am not fully sure as the technician was not able to confirm if it was the 3M one. But I will try to check with them.

Wishing you all the luck
The_Apex is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th December 2024, 15:19   #1292

I'm about to receive my 3XO AX7L Petrol AT in 1st Week of January. The showroom people are trying to force me of doing PPF coating to maintain my Car's body paint and protect it from scratches. However the PPF coast is around 1L INR which is too much. I'm not finding it comfortable to spend another 1 Lakh on PPF as it doesn't seems to be having that kind of ROI.
What do you guys suggest ? Has anyone has gone for PPF with their 3XO and if not PPF how do you guys maintain you car's exterior. I'm thinking of going with Ceramic coating instead as it is much cheaper which will not protect it from scratches but will protect from UV and fading of paint etc. Please suggest.

Mod Note : Please proof read your post for any typo errors before submitting. Request you to go through Posting Etiquette for better post construction.

Last edited by Sheel : 27th December 2024 at 15:44. Reason: Mod note attached.
Old 27th December 2024, 17:01   #1293

Originally Posted by sanz1112 View Post
I'm about to receive my 3XO AX7L Petrol AT in 1st Week of January. The showroom people are trying to force me of doing PPF coating to maintain my Car's body paint and protect it from scratches. However, the PPF coast is around 1L INR which is too much. I'm not finding it comfortable to spend another 1 Lakh on PPF as it doesn't seem to be having that kind of ROI.
What do you guys suggest?
Congrats on getting so close to acquiring your 3XO AX7L P AT.

₹1 lakh PPF for sub 4m car like 3XO is too much. You can ask for PPF quote from detailing shop to gauge if the dealer quote is too high or not.

What is color of your car? My suggestion is to go for ceramic coating if it is black or a dark shade. If the car will see lot of highways running, then my suggestion is to put self-healing PPF on front bonnet and front bumper to prevent chipping from flying stones.
Old 27th December 2024, 17:50   #1294

Originally Posted by sanz1112 View Post
I'm about to receive my 3XO AX7L Petrol AT in 1st Week of January. The showroom people are trying to force me of doing PPF coating to maintain my Car's body paint and protect it from scratches. However the PPF coast is around 1L INR which is too much. I'm not finding it comfortable to spend another 1 Lakh on PPF as it doesn't seems to be having that kind of ROI.
What do you guys suggest ? Has anyone has gone for PPF with their 3XO and if not PPF how do you guys maintain you car's exterior. I'm thinking of going with Ceramic coating instead as it is much cheaper which will not protect it from scratches but will protect from UV and fading of paint etc. Please suggest.
The car will run on public road / space and exposed to various weather/ climate elements and also subject to other interferences.

The car that's delivered by the manufacturer has gone through all necessary under coatings, paintings as per their laid down standards and very well suffices your day to day regular usage

I have owned cars since over 3 decades and never ever have I resorted to any coatings. I take care of the car with regular wash/ cleaning and that's it.

Scratches, small minor dents, abrasions etc are bound to happen to the car when you use it in public space. It's unavoidable.

Now, coming to your point about getting PPF done. If you personally desire to get it done, then please go ahead. If you are coaxed into it, then flatly refuse. PPF doesn't matter.

My principle is run the car in stock condition for a few months / couple of services and see how it goes. By that time, you will have a clear picture of the pros and cons in your car, what needs to be done, the drawbacks etc. Once you determine the real necessities, then take your call. Never jump onto the accessories bandwagon as soon as you take delivery of the car. A few days /week/ month and you will get a clear picture in this regard. Go ahead then with changes you want.
ashkamath is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th December 2024, 20:02   #1295

Originally Posted by blogslogger View Post
But the cost saved due to year-end discounts almost make up the differential when it comes to sell the car.

Not in 3XO. Had inquired about AX7 Petrol & Oct Manufactured model is being offered at sticker price. No discounts whatsoever. Maybe in other brands there might be some offers running.

On AX7L Diesel Auto I was offered 50k discount but this variant was older then Oct 2024 & comes with AMT. So it also depends upon the inventory a dealer is carrying forward. May be next month after price increase they may offer some discounts but highly unlikely.

If I have to pay sticker price then I will wait couple of months more for a variant manufactured in 2025. In my case I can wait since I am going with no finance & money is already invested for short term generating some return.
Old 29th December 2024, 09:01   #1296

I did PDI for my 3XO AX5L AT yesterday. Few points we found concerning -

1. The white interiors already caught minor dirt while the odo read just 20 km. SA says it will be cleaned before delivery. He says they didn't get a chance to clean vehicle completely as they received them just a day before. My thought is why would the vehicle get dirty and will they be able to clean it 100% before delivery?

2. Wheels - only 1 of the 4 Ceat securadrive suv wheels had week-year of mfg mentioned. My understanding was that each tyre would have it. Attaching image here for inputs.

3. Very minor scratches on cladding which the SA said would go away post buffing.

4. Touch screen had 1 scratch. SA says they will check it and change screen guard if it's just on that or change the glass on screen if it's on that.

Please let me know if these are okay. They did not allow a 3rd party PDI (no obd scanner or paint measurement tools).

Wheel with mfg week - I believe 51 is mfg week and 24 is mfg year. So last week of December 2024?
2024 Mahindra XUV 3XO Review-20241228_172012.jpg  

Last edited by lightfootdriver : 29th December 2024 at 09:03.
Old 30th December 2024, 10:09   #1297

Guys I completed 1000 kM on my AX7L Petrol AT. Few observations from my side -

1.) The 360 deg Camera system is kaput and it displays, black / blue/ multicolor screen. Service Centre did a soft and hard reset and yet the problem remains. As per them it is a software glitch and they need 1.5 days to figure this out. Will go to service center on 2nd of Jan.

2.) There is a loud noise (thud) from front suspension when I go over speed bumps or craters. The more the speed more the noise. It is most likely coming when the suspension returns back. Will get that checked too.

3.) The white seats and other bits are getting dirty very quickly and car needs very frequent cleaning. Will be visiting often to car detailing shops. The apartment car cleaner guy makes swirl marks on car due to dirty cloth, so he is out of equation.

4.) Music system is pathetic - just some bass and no clarity. Will go with sound deadening first and will see from there. I have my Kenwood XDC 996 and will see if that can be plugged in.

5.) The Auto start stop function is pathetic- stopping the engine when not needed and then completely wasting fuel over long signals. I disable it and switch off with the start-stop button but that disconnects android auto. Is their any way of not switching off the ACC while turning the engine off manually.

6.) Drive modes - Zoom is the best of the lot (although still lacking) but every time I have select is manually, wish there was a permanent option.

7.) Fuel efficiency or the lack of it. small petrol engine is efficient but slapped with a turbo to make it inefficient. It is not at all favoring the car and coupled to that - is the Automatic. While having higher BHP is good but highway speeds are limited so bigger BHP is of no use. With BHP also comes torque which gives acceleration and the thrill at traffic lights but that turbo lag and the transmission ensure that it takes eternity to march ahead in the meantime a slow autorickshaw has taken the spot in traffic.

So bottom line you neither enjoy the Power and torque and you do not get the efficiency as well.

I wish we get the good old Naturally aspirated engines with more of real usable power.

My efficiency so far has been 9 kmpl. This is a mix of 75% city and 25% Highway.
manishalive is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st December 2024, 08:30   #1298

Originally Posted by manishalive View Post

5.) The Auto start stop function is pathetic- stopping the engine when not needed and then completely wasting fuel over long signals. I disable it and switch off with the start-stop button but that disconnects android auto. Is their any way of not switching off the ACC while turning the engine off manually.
Sorry to hear of the issues you have had. Agree that the auto start-stop function is not very useful. However I routinely switch off the function using the start-stop button and Android Auto never got disconnected. You might want to get it checked with SA.
TwinBishop is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st December 2024, 08:38   #1299

Originally Posted by TwinBishop View Post
Sorry to hear of the issues you have had. Agree that the auto start-stop function is not very useful. However I routinely switch off the function using the start-stop button and Android Auto never got disconnected. You might want to get it checked with SA.
I meant to switch off the engine without disconnecting the power to the accesories. The Auto start stop is for that but us useless so we turn it off. But 2 issues are there -

1.) you have turn off at every restart
2.) after turning off the only option to switch off the engine is via start stop button which takes out the power to accesories as well. We need to push the button one more time to turn the power back up.
Old 31st December 2024, 11:57   #1300

2.) There is a loud noise (thud) from front suspension when I go over speed bumps or craters. The more the speed more the noise. It is most likely coming when the suspension returns back. Will get that checked too.

2. I have exact same problem. thud comes at slow speed only over the bump when break is pressed to reduce speed. Sent car twice to service station they didnt solve it but it is reduce.

5. Yes every time I start the car from left button and toggle auto start stop from right and I have AX7 AT petrol so I need to toggle front parking sensors which are too sensitive. but now I am used to this. Hopefully they make it as permanent.
ksavai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st January 2025, 07:49   #1301

Originally Posted by ksavai View Post
2. I have exact same problem. thud comes at slow speed only over the bump when break is pressed to reduce speed. Sent car twice to service station they didnt solve it but it is reduce.

5. Yes every time I start the car from left button and toggle auto start stop from right and I have AX7 AT petrol so I need to toggle front parking sensors which are too sensitive. but now I am used to this. Hopefully they make it as permanent.
Oh ok. The front suspension noise makes you uncomfortable. Mine is for sure not from the brakes but from suspension landing back.

For your second point I could not get head and tail but yes their logic is skewed for sure 😄.
Old 1st January 2025, 18:15   #1302

I meant to switch off the engine without disconnecting the power to the accesories. The Auto start stop is for that but us useless so we turn it off. But 2 issues are there -

1.) you have turn off at every restart
2.) after turning off the only option to switch off the engine is via start stop button which takes out the power to accesories as well. We need to push the button one more time to turn the power back up.
Okay. I get it now. You do have to press the button once more. There is no way around it.
TwinBishop is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st January 2025, 23:07   #1303

For people who are looking to disable Auto start/stop feature - found this DIY hack that works on XUV 700

Hope this works on 3XO as well.
im_revhead is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 14:53   #1304

Originally Posted by im_revhead View Post
For people who are looking to disable Auto start/stop feature - found this DIY hack that works on XUV 700
https://Youtu.be/DVDuJ0QVO0o?feature=shared

Hope this works on 3XO as well.
Yes this the hack also discussed on the XUV700 thread and also done by some foreign guys on their Scorpio.

I hope Mahindra comes up with an update on this which has better logic built on to it. Cause I do not want to disable this feature.
Old 2nd January 2025, 18:08   #1305
lrs

Hi Everyone

Happy New Year 2025.

I got an update from the showroom person about my booking of 3XO which I did in Nov 2024. I have requested the delivery of 3XO (MX2 Pro, petrol, manual variant) in the first week of Feb 2025. They are charging me approx. INR 35k for insurance and around 22k for extended warranty. I have checked Acko and it's approx. 18k for Zero Depreciation plan (Bumper to bumper). Are there any pros of going with the insurance that is provided by the agency via the showroom or should I consider Acko? Also, should I consider the extended warranty?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com