Team-BHP > Team-BHP Advice > On owning a car

Old 13th August 2023, 10:42   #1156

Re: ARTICLE: YOUR 5 year old car : Keep, Upgrade or Swap?

Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
The other aspect is the current resale value and the future depreciation.

Stocking spares is not an easy job. In that case I would stock parts based on two aspects, one being how specific it is to the car with no commonality, and two how probable its replacement would be and a bonus being its cost.
Thanks, Audioholic. Was expecting some more responses before I replied.

Bought for 14L back then, about 6 years back Tata offered only 5L as exchange price. Prices of Stormes in classifieds are generally in the 5L range even now, though Dicor's that are older are listed for 3L or so. So I dont really lose much even if I hold it longer. Hence my query.

The critieria for stocking spares that you mentioned, is what I am looking at too. I will also be talking to my TASS mechanic about this.

The Storme doesnt have bells and whistles. But it offers a comfort level that we have gotten familiar with. It does its job, and gives me a highway FE of 14-15kmpl. IMO, a SX-4 to a better sedan is an easier question than from Storme to what. The only alternative I can think of is a Crysta 2.4 BS4 (price and emission norm, + reliability). Have not been a fan of Mahindra's, and definitely not the XUV's.
Old 27th August 2023, 08:37   #1157

Hello TeamBhpian's ,

Premise:

We own a 2020, 36K Tata Harrier automatic which is used by my wife, who is a civil servant (central services), which is registered under the Bhopal RTO, and currently we are going under deputation to our own state, Kerala (expecting to be there for the next 10 years). Currently, we are based in Delhi, and Harrier is sparsely used(only for road trips once in 3-4 months) as I work from home and she has her official vehicle. In Kerala, we have a 5-year-old, 40k-driven Jazz for city runs. We are a family of 2, and we chose the Harrier for road trips because there are fewer automatic options on the market in 2020. I am happy with the Harrier, other than its sheer size and diesel engine clatter.

Problem Definition

For re-registration, we have to shell out close to 2.5 lakh in Kerala. What is inferred from the internet is that it is very difficult to get a refund, and crores of rupees are pending under the Indore RTO. Is it a wise choice to sell the car and take a new car under the BH series from Delhi (Kerala is not supporting BH as of now) rather than invest 2.5 lakhs on an aging car?

Kindly give your advice. Thanks for reading a lost post.
@Mods I will be very grateful if this can be made into a separate post.

Last edited by Sheel : 22nd September 2023 at 09:13. Reason: Grammatical errors. Please proof read before submitting your post. Thanks.
Old 27th August 2023, 12:09   #1158

Originally Posted by greyhound82 View Post
Kindly give your advice.
I strongly suggest to sell the car and buy a new one in new state, not only for money factor but also other notorious RTO things. I have a severely bitter experience of transferring my Santro from Bangalore to Mumbai RTO back in 2011 where a lot of agents were involved and the rules were overwhelming that you need to start by getting an NOC at source RTO and start the transfer process within 15 days etc. That whole thing took more than 3 months and I was blaming myself for not selling the car. Yes, it cost me around 60K and additional non measurable headaches.
Others may have different opinion but I will hold my ground on selling the car based on my story
rajivtelang is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th August 2023, 10:30   #1159

Originally Posted by greyhound82 View Post
For re-registration, we have to shell out close to 2.5 lakh in Kerala. What is inferred from the internet is that it is very difficult to get a refund, and crores of rupees are pending under the Indore RTO. Is it a wise choice to sell the car and take a new car under the BH series from Delhi (Kerala is not supporting BH as of now) rather than invest 2.5 lakhs on an aging car?
While Kerala MVD are very strict about sunFilms, extra lights/horns and other modifications, unlike other states, non-KL registration cars aren't harassed here. We have used Assam/TN cars here for years without even being stopped once for the plates. I would suggest you just use your MP car here as-is. Just ensure the car doesn't have any MVA violating modifications like sunfilms, etc.
supremeBaleno is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th August 2023, 10:50   #1160

Originally Posted by 4wheeldrive View Post
I have a classic "head vs heart" problem on a similar topic.

I have a late 2018 VW Polo 1.2 GT TSI with 36,000 kms
Thoughts?
More than a year to this post. I am interested to know what option did you finally chose and what is your current garage looking like. Its an interesting mix of cars you have, so it makes a lot interesting to know your decision. If you havent sold any, then I suggest to stick to it. Owning a Polo GT 1.2 TSI is a priviledge now and there will not be any car which could replace it.
Old 1st November 2023, 13:15   #1161

Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to Team BHP although I have been following it regularly over the last few years.
I have recently booked the new facelift Nexon EV and already am a happy owner of the 2018 Nexon ZX+ diesel.
My query is that I intend on keeping the older Nexon as a third car ( my dad drives the XUV700), what should I do to increase the life of the older Nexon? I had recently gotten the clutch plate changed as the clutch pedal had become much harder.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you ��
Old 9th November 2023, 15:59   #1162

Heart vs mind: Get the Polo GT TDI or retain S-Cross

My admiration for VW Polo has been a long-standing affair, particularly the GT variant for added performance. So, when I set out to purchase a used car this year, I test-drove few Polo diesel(curtesy of the low-end torque and the added advantage of fuel efficiency) cars. Avoided GT TSI for throttle sensitive fuel efficiency and I couldn’t find a decent example of GT TDI.

When I almost finalized a 2017 Polo Highline diesel, priced at 7.75L, I came across a December 2017 S-Cross quoted at 8.25L. Given the slight price difference compared to polo, the brain kicked into action and started weighing variables like parts availability, servicing costs, space and performance. S-cross won in all departments except for the performance.

At the end, though not so willingly, I bought the S-Cross keeping in mind all the above-mentioned points. I purchased the car from Maruti Suzuki TrueValue, the car was "TrueValue certified", and the salesperson assured me of a hassle-free vehicle. Given that TrueValue offers very short test drive, in the test drive, I could only notice jerky brakes and the rear stepping out on rumble strips. In the excitement of owning a cross-over, I brushed these issues off, thinking a 10K-15K investment would resolve these issues.

Enter the first free service/inspection offered for for cars purchased from TrueValue which we can avail across Maruti or Nexa service centers. I visited a Nexa service center and handed over the car for inspection. The Inspection revealed that the car was last service 15K kms ago and the all fluid levels are at alarmingly low level. I told them to perform general service and address the issue with suspension and breaks. The next day, I got a call from service advisor and was informed the need to replace strut mounts, disks, and brake pads, along with scheduled parts replacement based on the mileage of car. The estimated bill was 23K. I said OK and got it done.

Fast forward 9K kilometers, with a looming long trip, I sought a general service, noting the persisting rear stepping out on rumble strips and stiff suspension along with newfound issues i.e., steering not re-centering on U-turns and hard gear shifts. A subsequent call from the service center suggested replacing rear struts, steering column, and clutch to address all the issues. Now, I started to regret my decision of buying this car and contemplating to sell it (Though doesn’t seem to be a wise decision to sell a car under 9 months from buying) and may be get a new car under 10 Lakhs.

While all this going through my mind, I received a curveball. An ex-colleague is planning to sell his 2017 Polo GT TDI, that’s driven 56K km. The car is single handedly driven, well-maintained, serviced a month ago, and 5K run new set of Michelin tires. The quoted price is 6L. My first thought. Let’s cell S-cross and get the Polo.

Now, in this dilemma, I reach out to fellow BHPians collective wisdom that could guide me in the tricky decision making process. Specially to those who've faced similar situation or have experience with either car. How would S-Cross perform after above-mentioned repairs? Polo GT TDI owners, what's your ownership experience, especially in terms of maintenance after 56K kilometers?
Old 21st December 2023, 23:35   #1163

Should I sell my old car now or keep for another 5 years ?

Hello Friends,

This my first thread - so please accept my apologies if I have missed adhering to any well known conventions.

Here is the situation:

I have a 2008 Hyundai Santro Xing GLS in Bangalore.

If I have to get the FC done - I need to spend around 50k (small dents all over + paint lost at some places + rust removal at few spots) and may be another 10-15k for rest of the insurance + RTO process.

The car would also be gone for around 20-25 days while this process completes. We can manage without that as we have one more car - but it will be a bit of a struggle for us.

The car has clocked 58k kms - and other than mentioned defects it is in a great condition. Still drives well - zero complaints. It has always been serviced at ASC with regular service intervals

Following are my options now, please comment what is the best way forward.

1. I exchange this with a new car at showroom. Saves me all the hassle of FC renewal. I will probably get 50-60k for this car (?). But I end up spending close to 15lakhs for a new car (which is my budget)

2. I walk the whole length. I spend around 60k and I have a new (looking) car with me for another 5 years. I don't know if this car will last longer than that. So it most likely gets scrapped. This is 2029 and I most likely end up spending 18-20lakhs on the same spec car.

For further context: the usage isnt particularly high for this car - may be 500kms a month. But it is used everyday.

As you might have rightly guessed by now, I am biased towards option 1. I still want to ask this question here as I may be missing some important nuance here.

So: Good people of team bhp - please do share your views. And again - my apologies if I am missing sharing some important detail which may be relevant for question to be answered. Please let me know if so.

Thank you,
TusharP is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2023, 09:54   #1164

Re: Should I sell my old car now or keep for another 5 years ?

Originally Posted by TusharP View Post
So: Good people of team bhp - please do share your views. And again - my apologies if I am missing sharing some important detail which may be relevant for question to be answered. Please let me know if so.

Thank you,
Since this is a small car, go for exchange and buy another small car since you are not using this extensively. That way you will get rid of FC headache and can save a handsome amount in your 15 lakh budget by buying another small car, my 2 cents of thoughts. Go for some popularly running small car.
I had owned two santros in past and know well how good that car is and how difficult to sell it off, some emotional matter
rajivtelang is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2023, 10:24   #1165

If you are confident the Santro will keep running and nothing materially wrong with it, put the 15 lakh in a fd or mutual fund etc for the next few years and withdraw it when it becomes time to sell or scrap the Santro. Why should it take a whole month for fc related tasks?
hserus is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2023, 10:33   #1166

Originally Posted by hserus View Post
Why should it take a whole month for fc related tasks?
The workshop I visited for paint work mentioned he needs 20 days to get the whole work completed. The FC itself may be few visits to RTO. I moved places so the RTO is almost 30-35 kms from where I stay now. That's another turn off for me.
Old 22nd December 2023, 10:45   #1167

Originally Posted by rajivtelang View Post
I had owned two santros in past and know well how good that car is and how difficult to sell it off, some emotional matter
Indeed! Both me and my wife learned to drive with this car. Thought of parting with the car - is a little bit distressing. But I have to face this decision now or later.

Also, the hassle of refurbishing and RTO visits has a bit higher distress value
Old 22nd December 2023, 11:02   #1168

If I have to get the FC done - I need to spend around 50k (small dents all over + paint lost at some places + rust removal at few spots) and may be another 10-15k for rest of the insurance + RTO process.

The car would also be gone for around 20-25 days while this process completes. We can manage without that as we have one more car - but it will be a bit of a struggle for us.

The car has clocked 58k kms - and other than mentioned defects it is in a great condition. Still drives well - zero complaints. It has always been serviced at ASC with regular service intervals

Following are my options now, please comment what is the best way forward.

1. I exchange this with a new car at showroom. Saves me all the hassle of FC renewal. I will probably get 50-60k for this car (?). But I end up spending close to 15lakhs for a new car (which is my budget)

2. I walk the whole length. I spend around 60k and I have a new (looking) car with me for another 5 years. I don't know if this car will last longer than that. So it most likely gets scrapped. This is 2029 and I most likely end up spending 18-20lakhs on the same spec car.
Minor dents and nicks do not affect the FC inspection at the RTO. Only major ones like ripped panels, visible rust areas, cracked bumpers/headlamps/taillamps will cause trouble. If your car is in decent condition, it should pass the FC test without any issues.

Apart from physical appearance, is the car mechanically sound for another 5 years? If so, it makes sense to retain the car since the running is too low to spend 15L on a new car. The overall FC process is online now and is very smooth. You need to spare a couple of days to get it done.
sagarpadaki is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2023, 14:17   #1169

The workshop I visited for paint work mentioned he needs 20 days to get the whole work completed. The FC itself may be few visits to RTO. I moved places so the RTO is almost 30-35 kms from where I stay now. That's another turn off for me.
What are you going to, some fancy detailing place? Unless you have major rust patches, torn panels / bumpers etc then it shouldn’t matter all you need at the most is a touch up.

The car must be mechanically sound and pass a pollution test that is more important.
hserus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2023, 20:43   #1170

Originally Posted by hserus View Post
What are you going to, some fancy detailing place? Unless you have major rust patches, torn panels / bumpers etc then it shouldn’t matter all you need at the most is a touch up.
Not really a fancy place - but I can't discount being taken for a ride. That said : there is some rust - so I do expect it to cost a bit - but may be the amount I quoted is on higher side.

To all: Any recommendations for places around North Bangalore who can do this normal / simpler touch up work ?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com