Team-BHP > What Car? > Sedans
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 27th May 2010, 12:30   #1
BHPian

Cedia or ANHC or just settle for the SX4?

Hi folks,

I started researching on a Sedan to buy sometime last month and with the following constraints:
a) Budget: A budget of around 10 lakhs
b) Petrol: My running will be around 700-800 kms a month and I was never really a fan of diesels
c) Usage: The car usage will be mostly in the city with maybe 2 weekend drives per month on highways.
d) Performance: The car should have a strong highway performance (I am a pretty enthusiastic driver) and at the same time not be a laggard in stop-go city traffic. I am looking at something that has a decent throughput at 1000-1500 rpm (for the city) as well as strong 3000+ rpm performance
e) Drivabilty: I think the previous point covers this to an extent. I am looking at a good 20-80 time in the 3rd gear and a strong 40-100 time in the 4th.
f) Handling: Many of my highway sojourns will be to hill stations and usually will entail a lot of curving/winding roads. So I need a car that can corner really well even at 100+ speeds (not that I plan to do a 100 in corners, but if I miss-judge a corner the car shouldn't understeer and through me off the cliff ) Also, a good handler is boon in a city like Bangalore.
g) Comfort: The car will be mostly driven by me and around 80% of the time will have just one co-passenger at the max; so the rear seat comfort/legroom is not much of an issue. The front seats should have ample lumber support and the driver's seat should be adjustable enough to get to a position that can be held comfortably for a 8-9 hour drive at least.
h) Safety: ABS, Airbags must. EBD would be good.
i) Resale: Resale value is NOT a criteria. I will not be selling the car for the next 7-8 years and frankly do not want to buy to sell!