0 - 25% -- I'm like the most conservative Indians. I love FDs. 396 32.25%
26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 11th November 2013, 17:51   #2206
BHPian

I think it is not the right time to invest now. Markets are high due to FII buy and it will free fall when they sell. Also general election is coming up soon. So better clarity is needed before investing. I will start investing when nifty falls to 5800 only.
Old 11th November 2013, 18:17   #2207
Senior - BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

@ontheroad: For fundamentally strong companies, how does the election affect?
Old 11th November 2013, 19:54   #2208
BHPian

When market crashes, almost all stocks go down, though rate of crash will be less for fundamentally strong companies. Still if we get an opportunity to get into a good counter at lower levels, why should we miss?
Old 11th November 2013, 23:44   #2209
Team-BHP Support

If somebody is just starting off the process of investing in equities (like S_U_N), it doesn't make sense to wait for events like elections or short term corrections in the index - especially if they have a stable source of income (like salary or business income) and is not a retiree. The best way to go about it is to keep investing a part of monthly savings into equities regularly. If the markets go down, GREAT! You get to buy more at lower prices. If the markets go up, GREAT! Because, your portfolio has gone up in value.

But if you are still apprehensive about investing in stocks in these times, you can do the following -

1) Let's say you have Rs. 60,000 cash to invest.

2) Invest 20K in stocks, 20K in Fixed Deposits and 20K in Gold Mutual Funds.