51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 6th June 2020, 00:17   #4291
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by RahuKetu View Post
Alok Industries which was acquired by Reliance industries is gaining 5% daily for nearly past 12-15 days. Doubled in less than a month. I bought it nearly 10 years ago for 21 Rs. It went down to 3-4 Rs. One month ago it was trading for 6 Rs., Today trading at 23 Rs.

Finally, I have reached breakeven position after 10 years.

You are extremely lucky to have these in today's market conditions. I have been trying to get AlokInd for a few days now but have not been successful. Meanwhile my Vodafone stocks have gone up by 40%.
Pancham is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 6th June 2020, 08:03   #4292
BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmartCat View Post
Can you let us know which God you pray to? What Puja needs to be performed to achieve such an outcome?
I am a recently joined member who has been following smart cat for years now. You have been very enlightening and is a good teacher.

My present question is this. Stock markets are totally diverged from the real economy now. I understand that there are multiple factors for this including but not limited to
1. Stock markets are forward looking and are reflecting the economic conditions 12-18 months from now 2. Lots of businesses are becoming mono or dipolistic. Classic example in India being telecom sector.

What should a non professional market man like I do. I found out that my so called internet search and research of companies is turning out to be a lemon and that even so called clever sectoral funds can leave you in the red. My UTI transportation and logistics fund will not see light anytime soon.
Is it just wiser to invest in a couple of index and gold funds and forget about it. My time horizon is around 15-20 years.