Old 20th September 2008, 11:44   #46

Horrendous attitude

Check this today what happened with me in chennai, the person in front of me in bike slammed brakes in the signal and you see what is in his bike
Must we call it Manners or the lack of it!-20092008081.jpg  

Old 20th September 2008, 11:58   #47

The most amusing event on our roads is a heavily overloaded truck / trailer taking an X-point U-turn (X is directly proportional to the number of wheels on the truck).

After holding up traffic on both sides of the road for at least 200m, the good driver will finally make the U-turn and park on the side of the road for a tea / smoke
Old 22nd September 2008, 00:10   #48

Originally Posted by johnda View Post
I have this aunty who lives on my building and she's just learning to drive, and when she's backing up, Oh brother, i think it'll become christmas. she take approx 10mins to finish and but then I can see it snowing in my apartment.
Hey guys, i mentioned to the aunty on my building, that i told my friends in cyberspace, that her Jingle bells Sucks... She got a freelance mechanic to stop by this evening to re-set her 'whatever' and Now.. Hurray at a much lower vol its 'Fur-Elise' and she mentioned that it has a switch too.. thanks guys.
Now this is called amendments!!!
Old 22nd September 2008, 15:51   #49

Originally Posted by johnda View Post
Hey guys, i mentioned to the aunty on my building, that i told my friends in cyberspace, that her Jingle bells Sucks... She got a freelance mechanic to stop by this evening to re-set her 'whatever' and Now.. Hurray at a much lower vol its 'Fur-Elise' and she mentioned that it has a switch too.. thanks guys.
Now this is called amendments!!!
So this thread helped in solving one headache for you
Old 9th October 2008, 11:45   #50

Check this one out.

The other day I was driving 2 people and a lil into the journey, One of them said that the FE on the OHC was low coz of the AC and so on. Then he asked what if we drove with the windows down to see if there was more mileage, soon it went to good breeze out side.., Then the true reason for this discussion - He farted - it was the silent but violent type. The windows came down, the blower unit went on full, and we idiots didn't catch the riddles that my dear friend was asking!
Any of you had folks asking for FE with windows down?
Old 10th October 2008, 10:52   #51

aaggoswami,

No offense intended, but I was little surprised to read this. Nothing gives you ever the legal or moral authority to ram into another's vehicle deliberately. I can understand the frustration with the driving behavior but does that justify the act of ramming into the car. Your behavior in this specific case seems to be worse than just bad driving manners. I would ashamed and plagued with guilt if I ever did it, even in the rush of the moment.

No legal expert, but this act of yours is probably even a criminial offence. Urge you to think about it.

Vignesh

Originally Posted by aaggoswami View Post
Once I rammed into a Lancer deliberately so that he wont brake just to look around and see where he is supposed to turn. If he wanted to seek directions to reach his destination, he must park properly, get down and ask.
My Maruti 800 did not suffer much damage as the Lancer just came off a high bump and I just entered. I had just a cracked grille. He had broken tail lights. People must move to left side of the road if empty to let others pass by. And if the left side is not empty then they must move at reasonable pace. I have observed that people wont move fast specially if the left lane is occupied. So others have to face inconveinence.
Old 10th October 2008, 14:47   #52

Some More Goes here :
1. Parking sense on the ROAD. Don't think about other how they will park/take out the car from park/ Drive on the narrow road.
2. Musical Horn/Reverse Horn @ mid of the night.
3. Call Center Cab Comes near to your Aptm and Honking @ mid night. (Trying to call the Emp)
4. Biker overtakes your car from Left and Immediate he comes to right to Overtake the front car from the right.
5. Biker drives on the Foothpath.
6. Overtaking opposite side Car crossing the Yellow line and you need to stop or move to the left though you are in your lane.
7. Lane Cutter, Driving in middle of a traffic lane. Wanted to move which ever lane is moving.
8. A Scorpio (Mostly owned by Bhai Log) driving Zig Zag. Trying to overtake everyone. As id some one SPL is waiting.
9. Stopping the Car/Bike at Max Near to the Signal Overtaking all the right lane vehicle. Block the whole traffic.
10. Bus/Cab/Lorry ... Crossing the Middle Divider to save some amount of Petrol.

And many more. I really don't understand why we people are in that hurry. It hardly matters of 5/10 min late/early. And we put our live in danger. Don't we have value for the Only one Life that we got ? Or we are hurry to get the Life Insurance amount ?
Old 10th October 2008, 17:33   #53

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Anyone ever noticed the tendency of vehicles to honk if you pass them without honking or acknowledging their presence in any other way? I mean, you're doing 120kmph, there's this chap doing probably 40 kmph on the inside lane, you go about overtaking him without "requesting" permission and the rest of the road is free for you to do so without bothering anyone.

Yet you get honked at when you overtake!
never had this particular thing since i don't use horns at all during overtaking. Where do you notice this? Kerala? Just curious.
Old 10th October 2008, 17:47   #54

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Anyone ever noticed the tendency of vehicles to honk if you pass them without honking or acknowledging their presence in any other way? I mean, you're doing 120kmph, there's this chap doing probably 40 kmph on the inside lane, you go about overtaking him without "requesting" permission and the rest of the road is free for you to do so without bothering anyone.

Yet you get honked at when you overtake!
I've experienced this many times, especially in NH-47 and 45. i have no idea about why they do it.
Old 10th October 2008, 22:16   #55

Originally Posted by badboyscad View Post
I've experienced this many times, especially in NH-47 and 45. i have no idea about why they do it.
It's the element of surprise that's causing them to react in a way that'll let you know that you've been of help to their nervous system
But you know what? on the Ooty - madumalai route, its mandatory to honk (one time / one syllable - poom) when you pass a vehicle. Its a single lane road and most of the time us (out o state) cars give way to the bigger locals and they say 'Thank you' and by returning the honk you are saying 'no mention' hilarious ! I know -
Old 10th October 2008, 22:20   #56

Originally Posted by badboyscad View Post

Maybe: they are shaken awake??
Old 13th October 2008, 18:05   #57

Check this.

Mumbai signals have got these Countdown Timers. I'm sure their purpose is to help people relax, knowing that there's some time before their signal is 'go'. Instead, what happens is that as soon as the countdown reaches around 20, the vehicles at the front start inching forward and often end up blocking the oncoming lane.

What's worse is that when it is time to go, everybody's stuck up so bad, they end up losing minutes where they were out to save seconds
Old 21st October 2008, 12:57   #58

Guys, a friend of mine related this incident he saw at a traffic light.
There is a car with sliver tint in front and by its side there is a bike with 2 fellows, the pillion turns to the car, and seeing his reflection starts adjusting his hair, pulls out a mini comb and starts combing, he soon checks his nose.. and ALAS! the window is rolled down and there a couple of girls inside who said 'Madhi, Madhi sunnara' means 'enough, enough handsome' the guy became so red and blue that folks thought he died LOL ! sad guy huh? he's never gonna do that again.
Moral of the story - comb your hair at home and not at the signal & never look do it with a reflection from a car window.

Last edited by johnda : 21st October 2008 at 13:01.
Old 21st October 2008, 13:34   #59

^^ Opportunity knocked his door. Too bad no one was home.
Old 21st October 2008, 14:20   #60

A couple of weeks back I was filling petrol in my SX4 at the IOC pump at Sector-17, Vashi, Navi Mumbai. A Wagon R comes into the pump and parks behind me. He finishes before me, pays up and is ready to go. Probably when he drove in, he came too close to my car so now he has to back up before he can go past me.

All this while my car is still being filled up.

So, what does he do? He Honks at me!

I look at him with an expression that says "Huh"? The pump attendant filling up my car is confused too. Thankfully, better sense prevailed and he backs up, takes the extra hard effort to turn his wheels using the Wagon R EPS and drives off comfortably past me. Why do people do this?!

Last edited by amit : 21st October 2008 at 14:23.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com