Old 21st November 2009, 19:22   #16

Originally Posted by Raccoon View Post
^^^ What?! Wont they at least match the vehicle number?? If they don't then I can just get one PUC certificate for all my vehicles...
Nopes they don't even check the vehicle number.They might at the max check whether the model is same as the vehicle they just asked to park besides while asking for papers.The last time I was caught was some 6 months ago and the cops were catching all the two wheeler guys and asking them to park nearby and go to the main inspector, with the papers,who was sitting under a shade,near a gutka shop.I bet he could not even see which vehicle I was driving from the place where he was sitting.He just looked at my face and then a fast glance at the PUC and just shooed me away.Simple thats it
Old 23rd November 2009, 08:39   #17

^^^ What?! Wont they at least match the vehicle number?? If they don't then I can just get one PUC certificate for all my vehicles...
On this I remember a funny incident. My brother had come to Pune from Mumbai and he took my bike to E-square theatre - where a traffic cop caught him and asked him to show the PUC certifcate. He didnt knew where was the PUC certificate for my bike (tucked in below the seat of pulsar)- instead he showed the one which was in his wallet(certificate for bike in Mumbai)!!!! Surprisingly the cop just saw the green paper and let him go !! This is the state of affairs.
Old 23rd November 2009, 16:09   #18

Tales of Kolkata

There is a lot to improve in Kolkata. My observations:

- Taxis (Ambys) run on diesel and relentlessly emit smoke like there is no tomorrow
- Old buses try to outdo each other fighting for waiting passengers, who are doubly choked by these poisonous entities
- There are very few LPG / CNG stations.
- The traffic police walas in white-turned-black uniforms and helmets look sad with breathing mask
- Sumos, matadors, 407s all contribute in making air pollution a success!

I doubt if the general mass knows about PUC and its importance in the city. It's black smoke everywhere!
aroop is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th November 2009, 15:12   #19

PUC for new vehicle

IIRC new vehicles are expempt from PUC check for 1 year from the date of invoice . however cops insist that the exemption for 6 months only , can anyone clarify this pls.
Old 24th November 2009, 16:49   #20

Originally Posted by rm_arjuna View Post
IIRC new vehicles are expempt from PUC check for 1 year from the date of invoice . however cops insist that the exemption for 6 months only , can anyone clarify this pls.
Technically speaking - 1 year is the period. But the cops wont listen. They just know that PUC certificate expires in 6 months - old/new car. No matter how much you argue with them - they don't budge . I personally had this experience with my new Pulsar. Instead get PUC done and have peace of mind.
Old 24th November 2009, 17:35   #21

^^^Well, if it is indeed 1 year, and you don't want to budge yourself, you can ask to speak to his superior or go higher up. Anybody has any idea where this might be written?

Btw, does anybodyknow what are the current rates for getting a PUC certificate for 2 wheelers and cars in Pune/Maharashtra? I paid Rs. 30 for my bike... and for car he quoted something like Rs. 90, if I recall correctly. Is this correct?
Old 25th November 2009, 09:02   #22

^^^Well, if it is indeed 1 year, and you don't want to budge yourself, you can ask to speak to his superior or go higher up. Anybody has any idea where this might be written?

Please see attached snapshot from the website.
Source: Pollution Control

I got this by googling. I don't know when was this site last updated.
PUC - Pollution Under Control ?-puc_query_delhi.jpg  

Old 25th November 2009, 15:12   #23

Hmm... worth a try to get a print out of this and wave it in the cop's face. The last point is interesting - you can call and complain about polluting vehicles. Would be interesting to report some smoke belching ricks by calling that number. Lol!!
Old 22nd December 2009, 10:41   #24

Yesterday I got my PUC done at Marthalli HP Pump for my bike (Unicorn) the readings were as follows CO- 0.001%, HC -10 ppm.
I was quite amazed to see such low figures.

FYI this is the limit mentioned for current 4-stroke 2 wheelers -
CO - 3.5%
HC - 4,500 ppm

I am sure that gas analyzer readings are flawed and definitely the instrument needs calibration.

It looks like lot of auto fellows are getting PUC done at the pump, so there instruments are calibrated to pass the Auto wallas with flying colours (smoke)

As a concerned citizen where can I complain about such malpractices and to save our environment?
Old 22nd December 2009, 11:04   #25

I read that in Bengaluru, the drive to convert all auto ricks to green ones involves changing the engines to 4 stroke (or buying new 4 stroke engine autos). I think the governments are too slow reacting to the enormous problems that pollution is causing on people's health.

Its also disgusting that transport vehicles and diesel ones are not being regulated strongly. Hope its not some lobbies that are preventing it.

Our country recently fought at Copenhagen summit to not have any legal binding pollution cuts. We can understand why. With no will and confidence to do anything, how could they?

Last edited by srishiva : 22nd December 2009 at 11:05.
Old 22nd December 2009, 11:16   #26

They do pollution checks and issue PUC certificates at my MASS (MSM). I was under the impression that a new car need not be tested for one year as the mfr's certificate is valid for this period. But the guy there told me that for MPFI cars it holds good for two years and I need not check for this duration. Is this correct?
Old 22nd December 2009, 12:02   #27

PUC for New cars is valid for 12 months from the date of invoice. Please make sure that you get the certificates renewed after 12 months and every 6 months thereafter.
Old 22nd December 2009, 14:45   #28

PUC!!!!!!!!

One incident.
march2009,
I was on the way from baramati to lonawala for team-bhp meet.
Stopped at dehuroad bypass junction at old nh4 after pune.
My alto's puc was expired.
Saw a puc vendor on other side of highway.
Walked toward him.
Me: puc chahiye. kya rate hai?
Vendor: gaadi kounsi hai?
me: alto
vendor: 80 rupiye me milega.
me: dusara puc wala 60 me deta hai.
vendor: saab, mahangai hai, 70 rupiye dedo.
me: nahi
vendor: thik hai. gaadi ka number kya hai?

I handed him rs 60 and got puc.
Wrong practice by me and him.:
I had mentioned this incident in the sunny-da-dhaaba meet report.

Last edited by ASHISHPALLOD : 22nd December 2009 at 14:54.
Old 22nd December 2009, 15:37   #29

Originally Posted by tj123 View Post
Yesterday I got my PUC done at Marthalli HP Pump for my bike (Unicorn) the readings were as follows CO- 0.001%, HC -10 ppm.
I was quite amazed to see such low figures.

FYI this is the limit mentioned for current 4-stroke 2 wheelers -
CO - 3.5%
HC - 4,500 ppm

I am sure that gas analyzer readings are flawed and definitely the instrument needs calibration.

It looks like lot of auto fellows are getting PUC done at the pump, so there instruments are calibrated to pass the Auto wallas with flying colours (smoke)

As a concerned citizen where can I complain about such malpractices and to save our environment?
Those readings are definitely suspicious. How old is your bike?

I got a PUC done for my CBZ-X recently. Bike has done barely 4,000 km till now. The readings are -

CO = 0.05 %
HC = 86 ppm

As you know, Unicorn and CBZ-X have a similar engine. Can't believe the difference can be this large.

On my PUC certificate, it is mentioned that any complaints can be brought to the notice of the RTO, Pune. You could try the same. Maybe you can even take the RTI route to see what action is taken?
PUC - Pollution Under Control ?-puc-cbz.jpg  

Last edited by Raccoon : 22nd December 2009 at 15:50.
Old 22nd December 2009, 15:51   #30

Exactly same story everywhere,

I had a Bullet , went to one PUC shop, he straight away said sir ratings are coming too high will take 20 rs extra. I was stunned, it was just serviced & i could not see any smoke etc.
I asked him show me the reading where it is coming. Now it was his turn to be shocked. He said ok i will give you without charging extra
Later or realised even the machine was not switched on :O

Last edited by SamtheLeo : 22nd December 2009 at 15:52.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com