Old 4th January 2014, 12:52   #61

Re: PICS : Tastefully Modified Cars in India

Originally Posted by webblescott View Post
Please advice where can i get installed flexible DRL tube Dual mod, Day time / Turn Signal light in cochin. Like one in Audi and Porsche, For my Skoda Rapid's headlight.Any mod experts ?

Already sourced the product from ebay.in
Kindly adviced
Dear mate, you can check out the automotive lighting thread for the details about installation and facility for the DRL. How much did it cost you including shipping as I too would like to go in for the same for my City Ivtec.

thanks

AD
Old 4th January 2014, 13:02   #62

Originally Posted by ad3952n View Post
Dear mate, you can check out the automotive lighting thread for the details about installation and facility for the DRL. How much did it cost you including shipping as I too would like to go in for the same for my City Ivtec.

thanks

AD
Thanks mate, Product costs including shipping INR 9500, eBay price. Off the ebay you will get it for Rs.600 OFF. His contact number is provided in the listing.

http://www.ebay.in/itm/DRL-TUBE-Day-...#ht_647wt_1271
webblescott is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th January 2014, 18:21   #63

Originally Posted by devilwearsprada View Post
I checked the post again. If you already have the DRL look for some local mechanic who knows the headlight job and self install the DRL if space is their using either superglue/hot glue or a double sided tape. If not, check the directory again. Bangalore has quite a few installers!
Hi devilwearsprada, I am willing to install it myself, but major concern is to open up the Headlight lens by heating up. Just scared to do that myself, by mistake if i over heat the plastics and what if it get melted ?

Regarding the glue and 2 sided stickers, i think there wont be any need of those, unless if i am not using small clips & Screws provided along with the DRL tube to install it on the headlights, which will not be visible outside as well.

As i am in Cochin right now, just need to find out someone who can do the job here.
Old 21st January 2014, 14:26   #64

Originally Posted by webblescott View Post
Please advice where can i get installed flexible DRL tube Dual mod, Day time / Turn Signal light in cochin. Like one in Audi and Porsche, For my Skoda Rapid's headlight.Any mod experts ? Already sourced the product from ebay.in Kindly adviced
Have u installed them on the Rapid?
What size did you buy?
45cm,60cm?
And would appreciate pics .
I am planning to source them from US as they are costing me $50 there.
Old 7th February 2014, 11:08   #65

Re: The DRL Thread: Everything about daytime running lights

I recently bought Xenon White COB LED DRL Daytime Running Lights They are 100% Waterproof and give out 6000K light. Cost is Rs 615/-

The dimensions are 6.8 inches x 0.65 inches x 0.015 inches.

These DRLs are not flexible. The LEds are in a black colored aluminium casing. The casing can be installed using the provided 3M double sided tape.

These DRLs are super bright! I have yet to test them in day light but i am sure they are sufficiently bright for day time. I will post a video of that soon.

Meanwhile enjoy some pics of it. I have not fixed them permanently yet on my indica xeta glx. I am still collecting suggestions for the best possible position.

Check out the pictures and kindly suggest.
The DRL Thread: Everything about daytime running lights-20140206_210520.jpg  

The DRL Thread: Everything about daytime running lights-20140206_211220.jpg  

The DRL Thread: Everything about daytime running lights-20140206_184732.jpg  

The DRL Thread: Everything about daytime running lights-20140206_184930.jpg  

Last edited by BakyaBHP : 7th February 2014 at 11:29. Reason: Added cost
BakyaBHP is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th February 2014, 17:57   #66

Hi guys,

I am looking for DRLs for my VW Polo 1.6 and want them to look as stock as possible. I came across something on Ebay.in which I believe would serve the purpose.

Here is the link

http://www.ebay.in/itm/LED-Daytime-R...item3cdbdd8930

Has anyone used the above product? I like the fact that they dim once the parking lights are switched on.

I also came across a video on You Tube on the functioning of a set of DRLs on the Polo 6R. Check this out -

Old 7th February 2014, 19:55   #67

Originally Posted by BakyaBHP View Post
I recently bought Xenon White COB LED DRL Daytime Running Lights They are 100% Waterproof and give out 6000K light. Cost is Rs 615/-
Would vote for the position in the first pic, on the bumpers.

Where did you source these from? Any idea regarding the reliability n life of the product??
Geo_Ipe is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th February 2014, 21:01   #68

Originally Posted by Geo_Ipe View Post
Would vote for the position in the first pic, on the bumpers.

Where did you source these from? Any idea regarding the reliability n life of the product??
I got it from ebay.in for 615/-.

http://www.ebay.in/itm/281245781803?...84.m1423.l2649

They say they have 50000 working hours life expectancy and they are 100% waterproof. One of the ebay.com members posted this photo...dont know if its true.
The DRL Thread: Everything about daytime running lights-_35.jpg  

BakyaBHP is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th February 2014, 22:39   #69

Originally Posted by BakyaBHP View Post
I got it from ebay.in for 615/-.

http://www.ebay.in/itm/281245781803?...84.m1423.l2649

They say they have 50000 working hours life expectancy and they are 100% waterproof. One of the ebay.com members posted this photo...dont know if its true.
How have you wired them up? Which wires did you splice?
Old 8th February 2014, 00:05   #70

Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
How have you wired them up? Which wires did you splice?
I havent decided how i will connect...will let you know tomorrow..i will make a video of the entire process on my indica.

I will be tapping from fuse/relay box. I dont want drls 'on' during night, so i am going to connect through a switch, Lets see... i will post here with details.
Old 8th February 2014, 14:02   #71

Here is how they look during daytime.

I took a connection from output side of cig lighter/clock/reverse bulb fuse which is 20A and put a switch in series because i want to switch off DRLs at night
The DRL Thread: Everything about daytime running lights-20140208_110230.jpg  

BakyaBHP is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th February 2014, 11:01   #72

Got DRL's installed on my Swift

Product: Hella 8 Led Safety Lights with Day & Night Mode

Cost: INR 6700

Warranty: 5 Years

Installation: Day Mode connected to Ignition, Night Mode Connected to Parking lights.

Extra Fuse also added basis my request, otherwise its not needed.

Package

The DRL Thread: Everything about daytime running lights-box1.jpg
The DRL Thread: Everything about daytime running lights-box2.jpg

Day Time

The DRL Thread: Everything about daytime running lights-day.jpg

Night Mode

The DRL Thread: Everything about daytime running lights-night.jpg
nidhin0816 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th February 2014, 08:47   #73

Originally Posted by nidhin0816 View Post
Got DRL's installed on my Swift

Product: Hella 8 Led Safety Lights with Day & Night Mode

Cost: INR 6700

Warranty: 5 Years

Installation: Day Mode connected to Ignition, Night Mode Connected to Parking lights.

Extra Fuse also added basis my request
Are these installed on the slats on the air dam of the bumper? Does the light vibrate when engine is running?

LED's take up low power but are you facing any drop in RPM when using the DRLs?

Location of the extra fuse added?

Anurag.
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd February 2014, 07:33   #74

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
Are these installed on the slats on the air dam of the bumper? Does the light vibrate when engine is running?

LED's take up low power but are you facing any drop in RPM when using the DRLs?

Location of the extra fuse added?

Anurag.
Yes these have been installed on the air dam

The lights do not vibrate while the engine is running, as its tightly secured by the mount brackets and side clips.

No issues noticed with RPM

Extra fuse added to the wiring itself and secured adjacent to the fuse box.
nidhin0816 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2014, 18:27   #75

DRL Installation Shop in Delhi...?!?

hi,

looking to install DRL within the Headlamps of my Polo. They also turn orange for indicator usage. Can any delhi members guide me to an high quality installer for such DRL in delhi. I've attached a pic from another thread as reference.

The DRL Thread: Everything about daytime running lights-photo-8.jpg  

rana_kirti is offline   (1) Thanks