Old 4th February 2012, 22:03   #931

Re: Tata Indica - List Of Problems

Hi everyone, we have a 2002 indica dls done 108k kms. We are facing a problem that when we switch on the AC we hear a strange kerr kerr sound from the fuse box (located above the accelerator pedal) after 15 - 20 mins although AC keeps working . I have changed the compressor & Ac cut out relay, yet the problem persists. Please suggest the remedy.
Old 5th February 2012, 05:57   #932

Originally Posted by CRDIsamir View Post
If this phenomenon has occured just after you have scrapped the underbody of your Indica by a stone then I dont think the fuel guage is the problem. You must have also hit the fuel tank underneath. Now generally the fuel tank gets hit right in its centre. Just above it there is the outlet pipe for the diesel along with the fuel guage assembly. Now when this portion gets hit the bottom of the tank goes and touches the fuel pipe. This causes the gap between the strainer and the pipe to reduce or it just closes the gap in between. When you start the vehicle for the first time you wont feel the difference. As you go on driving the FIP gets starved for fuel. The black button on the fuel filter you mentioned. When the car stalled did you observe that the black button was pressed tight along with the filter body or was it up right. It should stay upright and you should be able to press it for fuel to be sucked from the tank. If your car stalls again look for this.

I would suggest you to kindly have a good look at the underside of your car especially the fuel tank for the hit. If you see any dent remove the tank completely remove the fuel inlet and the guage assembly. Look for the twisted strainer. Straighten it and put it back into its place. Now from the openeing of the fuel guage remove the dent on the bottom of the fuel tank. Or replace the fuel tank completely.

Please let me know

Thanks & regards
I should have made it clear, but these 2 problems i have are seperate ones occuring at a 3 week interval. The stone incident happenned 3 weeks back and was solved the same day as i mentioned.
The fuel guage incident is a seperate one, and not related to the stone scraping the underside. This incident does not seem to have any apparant trigger - it just happenned during a routine drive.

Sorry if i caused any confusion and thanks for your ideas on troublesooting the fuel issue.
Old 5th February 2012, 09:07   #933

Originally Posted by CRDIsamir View Post
If this phenomenon has occured just after you have scrapped the underbody of your Indica by a stone then I dont think the fuel guage is the problem. You must have also hit the fuel tank underneath. Now generally the fuel tank gets hit right in its centre. Just above it there is the outlet pipe for the diesel along with the fuel guage assembly. Now when this portion gets hit the bottom of the tank goes and touches the fuel pipe. This causes the gap between the strainer and the pipe to reduce or it just closes the gap in between. When you start the vehicle for the first time you wont feel the difference. As you go on driving the FIP gets starved for fuel. The black button on the fuel filter you mentioned. When the car stalled did you observe that the black button was pressed tight along with the filter body or was it up right. It should stay upright and you should be able to press it for fuel to be sucked from the tank. If your car stalls again look for this.

I would suggest you to kindly have a good look at the underside of your car especially the fuel tank for the hit. If you see any dent remove the tank completely remove the fuel inlet and the guage assembly. Look for the twisted strainer. Straighten it and put it back into its place. Now from the openeing of the fuel guage remove the dent on the bottom of the fuel tank. Or replace the fuel tank completely.

Please let me know

Thanks & regards
On second thoughts, i see what you are saying. I think the 2 events may be related! although i did refuel once in the 3 week interval, i dont think i let the fuel guage to go all the way down below 25%. So if the mechanical float that drives the fuel guage is obstructed below the 25% mark, it would still appear to be functional from 25 to 75% range.

Will check the fuel tank and let everyone know. Thanks a ton for the superb possibility analysis.
Old 13th February 2012, 19:18   #934

Originally Posted by arup.misra View Post
White Smoke - is confirmed first thing on starting. But after 10 sec of idling no smoke.
Originally Posted by AutoIndian View Post
Since the smoke problem is occurring only during starts, in all probability one or more glow plugs (GPs) might have failed. If any of the filters were choked (more so air filter), then your car would have emitted smoke continuously, which is not the case.
I am also facing similar issue. White smoke after the cold start and nothing during the day. Glow Plugs have failed in my car previously but every time the symptoms were starting problem in the morning. I didn't know that kaput glow plug can cause white smoke too.
Will check it out and update.
Old 13th February 2012, 19:20   #935

Originally Posted by BLACK1 View Post
Hi everyone, we have a 2002 indica dls done 108k kms. We are facing a problem that when we switch on the AC we hear a strange kerr kerr sound from the fuse box (located above the accelerator pedal) after 15 - 20 mins although AC keeps working . I have changed the compressor & Ac cut out relay, yet the problem persists. Please suggest the remedy.
I face this problem all the time and never bothered to get it checked. My car has clocked 1.5 lakhs so far and this noise has bee there since the beginning. If you find out the cause, do update us here.
Old 13th February 2012, 19:28   #936

Originally Posted by anonymous View Post
I am also facing similar issue. White smoke after the cold start and nothing during the day. Glow Plugs have failed in my car previously but every time the symptoms were starting problem in the morning. I didn't know that kaput glow plug can cause white smoke too.
Will check it out and update.
When the GP in a cylinder fails, obviously the cylinder head won't reach an optimum temperature for the air fuel mixture to ignite on compression. Hence the unburnt gases, would be exhausted (white smoke) & the engine would be sort of coughing.
AutoIndian is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th February 2012, 20:15   #937

okay folks, issues with 2005 V2 continue, the axle boot on the LHS axle side seems to have given away, any idea how much would it cost to replace, thinking if i should take it to the ASC or FNG. I had to replace the front hub/steering knuckle couple of months ago, looks like the ASC goofed, am now wondering if it was intentional.
Old 13th February 2012, 21:42   #938

Originally Posted by BLACK1 View Post
I've had a similar problem, and it because of the mechanism which switches between outside and recirculated air. the tasc did something (billed as plastic welding) which temporarily took care of it. anyway since it comes rarely, and doesnt mess up anything, I've decided to live with it
Old 19th February 2012, 10:57   #939

The axle boot costs 140 bucks, labour 200. Additional expenses included brake disc change 700 Rs a piece = 1400 Rs, brake pads had unevenly worn out so replaced them too 830 Rs for a set of TVS girling apache brake pads. Replace gear oil - Shell - Spirax - 221Rs a litre, consumed 2.5 litres - 550 Rs. Brake pad and brake disc replace cost me 650 Rs. TASS labour rates are expensive.

Brake pads had worn out within 17K kms , a tad surprising. The originals ones lasted me for around 28K kms.

Last edited by cyberwhizs : 19th February 2012 at 10:59.
cyberwhizs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th February 2012, 11:38   #940

I had ~9 yrs of bliss on my Indica V2 2003 DLS. 99840 kms. 3 yrs of non use - was not in India - thanks to my consulting job.

Yesterday's Silly sequence of events: Been facing starting problems for the past 2 weeks; Was heading to Lucas to get the starter motor & alternator serviced or replaced; The gear link rod disengaged from the gearbox; Called 24x7 helpline; Inexperienced Service Center folks started towing the vehicle without atleast patching up the dangling rod; My misfortune of a speedbreaker damaged the dangling rod requiring replacement. - All in a indica owners day. Something I am willing to go through for the 'Indica' comfort.

What I was not happy with is - Lack of Spare Parts ! For the Indica !?!. Gear Shift Linkage is NOT available in entire of Hyderabad (TASS & Local Shops - as per Service Station).

Is it time to move on ?
Old 19th February 2012, 13:11   #941

I believe the shift linkages are slightly different for the older indica's, and hence this problem. If it's your only car, and you need 100% uptime, you might want to look at other alternatives, preferably the japs. Else as a cheap 2nd car, its unbeatable, as it has paid itself off already !
Old 19th February 2012, 19:31   #942

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
I believe the shift linkages are slightly different for the older indica's, and hence this problem. If it's your only car, and you need 100% uptime, you might want to look at other alternatives, preferably the japs. Else as a cheap 2nd car, its unbeatable, as it has paid itself off already !
Bang on Target. Older model linkages seem to be the issue.
Update: Car is back home now. The service center patched up with old parts from their totaled cars. I was okay as far as it worked.
The car paid for itself more than once already. Never ditched me. I cannot ask for more.
Old 19th February 2012, 23:26   #943

Originally Posted by cyberwhizs View Post
The axle boot costs 140 bucks, labour 200. Additional expenses included brake disc change 700 Rs a piece = 1400 Rs, brake pads had unevenly worn out so replaced them too 830 Rs for a set of TVS girling apache brake pads.
Thanks for sharing that cyberwhizs. How much has your car run & what was the reason for replacing the brake discs? Any particular make of the brake discs? Uneven wear of brake pads, do you attribute this to the faulty brake discs?
Old 2nd March 2012, 22:05   #944

Originally Posted by AutoIndian View Post
Thanks for sharing that cyberwhizs. How much has your car run & what was the reason for replacing the brake discs? Any particular make of the brake discs? Uneven wear of brake pads, do you attribute this to the faulty brake discs?
Have completed 45K , the brake discs had been cut at 28K when i replaced the original brake pads. I really dont know if the brake pads wore off faster because of the brake disc or was it the other way around. Folks at TASC basically said that brake disc cannot be cut again as it would make it too thin. So basically i went to get a simple axle boot replaced, and ended servicing the entire brake assembly. Brake discs were from TML, genuine spares.

Last edited by cyberwhizs : 2nd March 2012 at 22:13.
cyberwhizs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2012, 22:46   #945

My 1999 model, 2,45,000 Kms done Indica, the gasket blew a few days ago. The head has been phased 2-3 times and thus is of no use now. We need a new Engine head for this Indica, if anyone has contacts, please PM me.

Abhishek.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com