Hello Everyone,
I was in a big dilemma for the past 1 month. It being that I had 3 cars out of which 1 was always parked and never used. Hence, the thought of reducing the number of cars to 2 sounded good and practical.
I started out with the thought that I should replace my 1.5 year old Tata Safari as it wasn’t a practical purchase for a family of 2 and I had got it because of the childhood dream of the Safari ad jumping through the Jungle and the tagline “Make your own road”. That was all it took for me to become a diehard Safari fan. Even after having 3 Indica’s in the family and dealing with all the Tata Issues, I went ahead and got the Safari. After driving for about 51,000 kms I knew I was just forcing myself and didn’t really want to keep the truck anymore. So, I set out with a realistic price demand for the Safari, but as fate had it, even after a very good offer, I couldn’t let go. Anyone who owns one will understand how difficult it is to part with the beast. Be it 5 visits to the service centre every month or anything. All problems are forgotten when you're behind the wheel of the beast. You are the king of the road in this.
So, Now the option was to change my 04' Chevy Optra 1.6 and my 05' Ford Ikon 1.3 and went ahead and the search for a good powerful diesel car began. It was difficult to part with both of them as I had done about 1.75+kms in them and they never let me down.
I had set out with a budget of 15 Lacs for the on road price and my feature priority list being (in order of preference):
1) Airbags & ABS
2) Sunroof
3) Power
4) Gadgets and Features
The options I had considered were:
1) Skoda Laura TDI Ambiente
Pros:
More Legroom
Good Handler
Cons:
SKODA!
No Sunroof
2) Volkswagen Jetta TDI
Pros:
German Thud noise in the doors

Interior fit and finish was excellent
Cons:
Replacement due in a couple of months
No Sunroof
3) Hyundai New Verna SX-O
Pros:
Cheaper by atleast 5Lacs
Cheaper Maintenance
All features present from a higher category
Cons:
Interior quality not too great
No Sunroof
Genetic Verna Handling
4) Chevrolet Cruze LTZ
Pros:
Excellent Feature List
Complete VFM option
Maintenance not too high
Cruze Control
Cons:
Already have 2 Cruze in the family
Rear Legroom issue
Turbo Lag
Finally, the choice was made. It was a Cruze LTZ. The third in my family. There isn’t a more VFM option in the market today. I had decided to get an Olympic White Cruze LTZ, but as we already have an Olympic White and Switchblade Silver in the family, I was confused again. I went to the showroom to decide the colour when I saw the new Sandrift Grey parked there waiting for me. I knew it then and there, this is the colour I want.
The showroom belongs to a friend and hence told him that I’ll be taking delivery on the 17th of May because it was an auspicious day according to Mr. Pandit. Didn’t opt for any additional accessories, but made a deal that they would take back my stock alloys as I’ll be going in for better ones.
The total pricing was something like this :
On-Road Price in Jaipur : 16,07,000
(+) 0% Dep Insurance : 5,000
( -) Discount : 67,000
Total On Road Price : 15,45,000
They are giving me a buyback at Rs. 15,000 for the stock alloys.
Took delivery on the 17th and went straight to the temple to get the customary puja done. This temple does about 100 Car puja’s everyday and about 1,000 puja’s on auspicious days!
After that took the car straight to the tyre shop and got Continental CPC2 225/55 R16 in place of the JK's. Paid a difference of 5k per tyre. Also got Garware Sunfilms installed on all glasses with a 63% heat rejection and Ice cool on the front glass with a 50% heat rejection.
I've done about 200 kms till now and here is what I have to say about the monster :
Pros:
1) Excellent Handling
2) There’s a Major difference with the Tyre Upgrade. I would recommend everyone to get that done as soon as you get your cruze.
3) Too Many Features – It’s a full Timepass car.
4) ICE – I was thinking about the changing the headunit to a Caska or something, but the headunit in the newer models have USB connectivity and it is excellent. There is no lag in navigating the ipod list of anykind. The speakers need an upgrade if you’re an ICE ‘Keeda’ like me

5) Black Leathers : The best thing they could have updated on the Cruze was that Grey interior. Black looks classy and sporty at the same time.
6) Sunroof – It is just amazing!
Cons:
1) Still have to Run-in the Car
2) Turbo Lag – This is a pain in the city driving, but I guess I’ll get used to it and it should improve with the first checkup.
I'll be using the car for my daily office run, which is about 35kms one way out of which 25 kms is the NH8 expressway and will be a delight because of the Cruise Control.
I've yet to measure the fuel efficiency, but I will do that once i've done the 1000kms checkup. Till now the MID shows about 10kmpl.
The tyre change has made a major improvement in the handling and in cabin comfort level. CPC2's are too silent and with an excellent grip. I would definitely recommend everyone to change the JK's from the Cruze, even if you want to keep the same size.
I did not take the 3Year/45,000 Kms Maintenance Package as my yearly usage will be about 40-45,000 kms and it didn't make sense as the total of the 3 services done is this time would not go beyond 20k.
Overall, the car is the most VFM product available in this price range currently and I would definitely recommend people considering it take a plunge and go for it. The only drawback I could find in the car is the turbo-lag, which you will get used to and wont be much of a problem. I have stalled the car 2-3 times since I've got it, but now I'm used to the lag and it doesn't stall anymore.
I'll be upgrading the ICE this weekend and will update everything on this thread.
P.S - I love this colour. It gives the car a bigger and meaner stance. These photos do not do justice to the colour. All of them clicked with my phone. I will surely update better pics tomorrow. And yes, the Got BHP? sticker is already on
In the pic on the lift, I was just checking if the alloys looks good. Its a 15", but was just checking the design. Any comments on this?
Enjoy
EDIT : Updated Pics