Old 13th October 2011, 13:04   #46

Re: Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions

Great first ride report! Though in my eagerness to get to the meat, i skipped the first few paras.
Makes me wonder how the EON vs Brio story will unfold!!
Old 13th October 2011, 13:05   #47

Hyundai's saying interiors are based on emotional sculpture,say Ganesh Ji,dashboard theme has been taken inspiration from Ganesh ji.

Last edited by acsandeep : 13th October 2011 at 13:06. Reason: typo
Old 13th October 2011, 13:16   #48

Nice report, sidindica. And yes, this is quite some competition for the Alto. Given GTO's thread about MSIL's instant response aka Alto-Xplore, they sure see the threat. Pricing would be a key factor here.

BTW, the car is butt-ugly - would give the A* a superiority complex. Talking of A*, it surely seems the best bet to take on the Eon. This would require a price correction for the A*, which should not be too big a deal in isolation for MSIL, but the fact that the Alto, K10 and M800 are stacked closely below it, would definitely create a problem.
Old 13th October 2011, 13:19   #49

Ex-Showroom "INTRODUCTORY" prices ex-Delhi
(Sorry for poor quality snap,screen shot from webcast).

D-Lite- Rs.269,999/-
D-Lite with AC option- Rs.291,849/-
Era - Rs.311,869/-
Magna - Rs. 336,869/-
Magna(O)- Rs. 346,869/-
Sportz - Rs. 371,869/-
Hopefully i read correctly.
Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-untitled.png  

Last edited by BoneCollector : 13th October 2011 at 13:24. Reason: Adding price.
BoneCollector is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th October 2011, 13:19   #50

Breaking: Eon launched. d-lite Rs 2.69lakh, d-lite-o 2.91, era 3.11, magna 3.36, magna-o 3.46, sportz 3.71 ex showroom delhi

Last edited by dkaile : 13th October 2011 at 13:25.
Old 13th October 2011, 13:20   #51

pricing announced Dlite at 269,999,Dlite o(AC) at291,889,ERA 311,869,magna 336,869,Magna(O)346,869,and Sportz at 371,869.These are introductory prices as per hyundai.
Old 13th October 2011, 13:51   #52

some more detailed shots....
Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0780.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0781.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0782.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0783.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0784.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0785.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0786.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0787.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0788.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0789.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0790.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0791.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0792.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0793.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0794.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0795.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0796.jpg  

Hyundai Eon: Quick First drive and impressions-photo0797.jpg  

sidindica is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th October 2011, 13:56   #53

Could someone post the prices of comparable variants of eon, santro and i10 1.1 ?

1. Base variant (barebones)
2. Mid variant (AC + PS + front PW)
3. Top variant (ABS + airbags)

I have a feeling that eon prices are very close to santro/i10 1.1 territory.

Rohan
Old 13th October 2011, 16:07   #54

EON Prices on-road Mumbai:

D-Lite 3,15,671
D-Lite (O) 3,40,887
Era 3,63,947
Magna 3,92,772
Magna (O) 4,04,301
Sportz 4,33,126

Alto Ex-Showroom prices:

MARUTI ALTO STD BS IV 2,46,992.68 Comparable Eon(D-lite) : 2,82,149
MARUTI ALTO LX BS IV 2,79,949.97 Comparable Eon(D-lite(O)) : 3,05,003
MARUTI ALTO LXI BS IV 2,97,375.58 Comparable Eon(Era): 3,25,903
antz.bin is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th October 2011, 16:17   #55

Just park an Eon and an Alto side by side with prices clearly mentioned and see what the consumer buys. I think Hyundai pricing is just about OK. Just add features like ABS and airbags to an Alto and see what happens to the price. Looks and space wise Alto can't hold a candle to the Eon, ingress and egress wise also Eon (with its tall boy proportions) will be easy. Alto is plain dated and Eon is new.

Last edited by Durango Dude : 13th October 2011 at 16:21.
Old 13th October 2011, 16:21   #56

Originally Posted by BoneCollector View Post
Ex-Showroom "INTRODUCTORY" prices ex-Delhi
(Sorry for poor quality snap,screen shot from webcast).

D-Lite- Rs.269,999/-
D-Lite with AC option- Rs.291,849/-
Era - Rs.311,869/-
Magna - Rs. 336,869/-
Magna(O)- Rs. 346,869/-
Sportz - Rs. 371,869/-
Hopefully i read correctly.
Originally Posted by dkaile View Post
Breaking: Eon launched. d-lite Rs 2.69lakh, d-lite-o 2.91, era 3.11, magna 3.36, magna-o 3.46, sportz 3.71 ex showroom delhi
Originally Posted by acsandeep View Post
pricing announced Dlite at 269,999,Dlite o(AC) at291,889,ERA 311,869,magna 336,869,Magna(O)346,869,and Sportz at 371,869.These are introductory prices as per hyundai.
WoW. Quick posts within minutes. Thanks ..

So the price is few thousands more than initially anticipated, but still lower for the specs/ interiors etc..

However, as the price info on Hyundai site is still not updated, so I am guessing that Mumbai ExSh. prices will be 10-20K more than Delhi prices as usual.
So on-road cost will range from 3.40 Lakhs to 4.25 Lakhs IMO.

Lets see how it goes.

EDIT: Just saw post from Antz.bin. :(

Last edited by offroad_maniac : 13th October 2011 at 16:31.
Old 13th October 2011, 16:34   #57

Hyundai has done well with the Eon. The car looks funky and quite eye-catching. It might even overshadow the i10 a little. The interior is a great place to be in. I see a lot of Santro bits in it, like the gear-knob, for example.

This car is aimed squarely at Maruti's Alto and the A-Star. Nothing else.

I don't understand how people are comparing this to the Honda Brio, which is better than this car in almost every respect, and of course, is more expensive. I mean, the Brio is in a segment that's higher than what the Eon is in.

Sid: Do you think Hyundai would introduce the 1.1 from the i10 in the Eon. that would make this car a very interesting proposition. They could discontinue the 1.1 in the i10, and reintroduce it in the Eon. The i10 is better off with the 1.2 Kappa mill, IMO. But this move might just affect the i10's sales.

Could we have a break-up of the i10's 1.1 and 1.2 sales figures?
Old 13th October 2011, 18:17   #58

Seems a good city car. But with the petrol prices shooting up it is hard to gain markets for petrol cars. If EON come with Diesel variant it can capture the market. Beat,i10,Alto,Eon all seems to be more or less in the same segment.
Old 13th October 2011, 18:31   #59

Looks to me a bit overpriced - around 20K in all trims.
Old 13th October 2011, 19:19   #60

^^ Well that's what we all said about the Verna - look where the bookings have gone to!

Excellent pricing - if (somehow) the market deems it to be costly, they can always give discounts & match it with the Alto - however I doubt if that might happen.

This car is going to raise quite the flurry - it might be competing against Alto, but I see it hitting even the I10 sales (low end versions) to a bit.