Old 20th September 2009, 17:22   #241

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
I know three people who wants to book one and one thinking of canceling coz he heard it gives 8kmpl or so.
I think they should go ahead and book cause if they are still *thinking* about booking, they will have many months to reasearch FE before having to pay for the vehcle.
Old 20th September 2009, 21:21   #242

Someone from coimbatore is ready to sell his/her 1000km run Fortuner 3.0L 4x4...ad in todays hindu classifieds, coimbatore edition.
Now why is that?
Old 21st September 2009, 01:03   #243
bhp

@sparton - why don't u mention the name of dealer as well here
Old 21st September 2009, 04:02   #244

Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
Just saw an ad in today's Times Classifieds.

The person has advertised for anyone interested in transferring Fortuner booking in his name. He is ready to pay a price for this.
Bookings cannot be transferred unless same name that's what I heard last.
Old 21st September 2009, 16:13   #245

I just got a black Toyota Fortuner a week ago. I agree with the broad views posted regarding the positives and negatives about the Fortuner. The one thing I am a bit disspointed about is the quality of the Music system. The sound is just not good enough. Does anybody know if the music system can be upgraded with the steering controls working and without displacing the warrantly?
Old 21st September 2009, 17:33   #246

Originally Posted by sparton View Post
This is just another scam.....I booked the fortuner on Aug 4 without seeing the car. The car was launched in last week of August.

Today when I asked the dealer for my allotment details, they tell me that my number is 500+ and that I should expect the car in Jan 2010! That doesnt make any sense, as bookings only opened on .....

Anyways, cant wait till 2010 for the fortuner so will probably end up cancelling the booking and buy another car instead. Obviously will not make any difference to the dealer or Toyota as there are probably 10 customers with their cheque books ready to take my place!
Good things come to those who wait my friend! After waiting for 5 years for the launch its only a few months more to go..don't give up, hang in there!

I booked mine in end of August and have a March 2010 Delivery!

The fact is that they started taking Booking amounts in end May/ early June itself in Delhi and if i had booked then i would be driving it right now..but i did not want to book it without at least knowing the final price!

Look at the silver lining we will have 2010 models in place of 2009..
Old 21st September 2009, 18:20   #247

How can Toyota underestimate demand by such a large margin?

The W-I-D-E demand (as indicated by bookings) and supply mis-match for Toyota Fortuner makes you wonder how Toyota could have underestimated demand by such a large margin.

Most of the car makers undertake large research studies and have scientific ways of estimating initial and steady state demand within a reasonable margin.

"Speculative dealers" and "speculative customers" are already preying upon this euphoric demand unmatched by supply creating a secondary market at a premium. Dealers will promise deliveries without any backing, seek premium to the customers' disgust. All of this will damage Toyota's credibility in the eyes of genuine customers.

Old 22nd September 2009, 00:08   #248

Originally Posted by Manuuj View Post
Good things come to those who wait my friend! After waiting for 5 years for the launch its only a few months more to go..don't give up, hang in there!

I booked mine in end of August and have a March 2010 Delivery!

The fact is that they started taking Booking amounts in end May/ early June itself in Delhi and if i had booked then i would be driving it right now..but i did not want to book it without at least knowing the final price!

Look at the silver lining we will have 2010 models in place of 2009..
I think the Fortuner was first launched in 2005. In 2008 the Fortuner was given a facelift. So should there not be a new model releasing say end of 2010 or mid 2011? Does anybody know when the next generation Fortuner is slated for release?
Old 22nd September 2009, 10:01   #249

Alright ! the famous Indian question. Can someone tell me the FE of the Fortuner on real world scenario, not what the company proclaims or from magazines ?
I know three people who wants to book one and one thinking of canceling coz he heard it gives 8kmpl or so.

My friend who drove down from Chandigarh, got 13+ kmpl on the highway & 10+ in the city. I have driven the vehicle in the city & the display said 10.3kmpl !!

All this is with A.C but normal driving speeds, 100 - 120 on the highway, 40-80 in the city.

Old 22nd September 2009, 11:10   #250

overall superb

this car is
i personally like the looks and pricing of this SUV.
Its very attractive in terms of styling and pricing, i love this monster !
Old 22nd September 2009, 14:28   #251

Originally Posted by navial View Post
I just got a black Toyota Fortuner a week ago. I agree with the broad views posted regarding the positives and negatives about the Fortuner. The one thing I am a bit disspointed about is the quality of the Music system. The sound is just not good enough. Does anybody know if the music system can be upgraded with the steering controls working and without displacing the warrantly?

Congrats on one of the early buys ..can you kindly give your POV on the brakes ? Do you think they are adequate ? I have this nagging feeling that they are deficient given the size & power of the Fortuner. What's your take on it ?

As for the Audio. PM Gunbir. He should be able to help you.

Old 22nd September 2009, 15:18   #252

Originally Posted by 1-Testosterone View Post
Rumour has it that one could see possible reduction in prices of both Captiva LT and LTZ in the upcoming festive season. Maybe it's due the fact that GM will bringing in Captiva as CKD from next year on (No way that GM will compete via CBU route).
Captiva (except for it's true off roading abilities) has better ride, handling and interiors compared to Fortuner. Their LTZ model which is fully loaded, may see some reduction in prices. As far as I'm concerned I'll LTZ over Fortuner any day if it were to be priced around 19L.
Here's your chance buddy . I saw adverts in the paper today confirming that the Captiva would be available at a price between 17.7 for the base model to 19.4 lacs for the top end one.

Iv'e never driven the Captiva so i shall take your word for it when you say it has better ride, handling and interiors than the Fortuner..but i feel the Fortuner will be a more capable offroader.

Personally i have sworn off GM after the fiasco with my 1.7 TD Opel Astra (don't even get me started ...)

By the way , i spoke to the salesperson handling my booking..Galaxy Toyota are delivering their 121st Fortuner today.

Mine is number 514!..but the good news was that the salesperson was confident that i could get my car in January itself as opposed to end March, which suits me perfectly as i don't want a 2009 model year car anyway and January 2010 sounds perfect!

Last edited by Manuuj : 22nd September 2009 at 15:23.
Old 22nd September 2009, 15:29   #253

Nice review GTO

in future reviews, could you post pictures for leg room with a person sitting inside ? you could also mention their height so that it gives a clearer perspective on the actual space available

I went through only the first page so in case you have posted it elswer ignore this
Old 22nd September 2009, 15:32   #254

Captiva is no match for Fortuner when it comes to serious off-roading. But at the end of the day, fully loaded Automatic (with Tip-Tronic) Captiva AWD is much better bet for those who care least for serious off-roading. It has disc brakes all around, ESP, Traction Control and HDC. As far as the interiors are concerned, they are much better than Fortuner. Captiva also scores over Fortuner in the ride and handling. Best of all it's a CBU and quality of fit and finish excellent. At 19.30 lacs, it's a steal IMO and no other SUV with these features can touch this price at the moment. You can't ask for more at this price.

To me, Fortuner is merely a great off-road "Powerful than Innova" utility vehicle with mighty Toyota badge. Fortuner, however, owns Captiva when it comes to looks and it is indeed the best looking SUV's of all time.
Old 22nd September 2009, 16:30   #255

Originally Posted by sparton View Post
Today when I asked the dealer for my allotment details, they tell me that my number is 500+ and that I should expect the car in Jan 2010!
Not taking away any suspicion on the dealer. Yet I will add:

1. Fortuner bookings are being monitored by Toyota HQ. Minimal chances of hanky panky.

2. Toyota dealers had started accepting deposits from as early as June!

Can someone tell me the FE of the Fortuner on real world scenario
9.0 - 9.3 kpl in the city is easy, I frequently saw 9.5 on a light foot. Floor the throttle and it will drop to 8.

Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
The person has advertised for anyone interested in transferring Fortuner booking in his name. He is ready to pay a price for this.
Now there are "Fortuner Wanted" ads!

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Bookings cannot be transferred unless same name that's what I heard last.
I believe bookings can be transferred as long as the surname is the same.

Originally Posted by navial View Post
I just got a black Toyota Fortuner a week ago.
Hey, how about a detailed ownership report?

Originally Posted by diffsoft View Post
Most of the car makers undertake large research studies and have scientific ways of estimating initial and steady state demand within a reasonable margin.
They can still get it wrong. The Jazz!

Originally Posted by narayan View Post
in future reviews, could you post pictures for leg room with a person sitting inside ?
Will do. Got any volunteer models

Last edited by Rehaan : 23rd September 2009 at 15:04.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com