Old 21st July 2011, 22:32   #376

Re: The YetiŽ writes a car story - (and review of Skoda Superb)

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
So with this post I'm approaching the end of my review for the next 2 months
Cheers and keep driving,

The YetiŽ a.k.a. Sam Kapasi.
The end of the review was not Yeti type as i expected, i thought you would end the review with a great pic of the " Gaadi, yeti and the Chatha "

PS: I would love to see all three of you together in the end of post!
Old 31st July 2011, 01:15   #377

Hey Sam, how about a review on the new HU you've fitted? Also, where you sourced it from, price etc? Did you get any grief from Skoda a.s.s for changing the stock unit?
Old 8th September 2011, 17:51   #378

A year and a half later

I still love the car, I do.

Clean, beautiful spacious and so many toys and stuff that can be tweaked. Everything works fine.

Well, almost.

The first time I almost fainted was when someone filled diesel in the car. I had to have her towed to the Skoda workshop. But that is another story. Since I switched the engine off (as soon as..) no harm was done.
Though I paid a nice labour fee.

No, everything worked wonderfully till 2 weeks ago.

Akbar parked the car one saturday and I went off for a foot massage. Yeah I'm like that sometimes. lol.
When I returned, my relaxed state of mind didn't last too long. The car refused to move forward. The engine would revv and in a few seconds the "D1" indicator would blink along with another warning light.

I called my friends at the service centre.
Gearbox problem he announced gravely.

The car was towed to the brand new Skoda service centre at Kalina something.

They accepted the car, but also informed me that they would not be able to make a job card until Monday. Monday however I was off to Goa. Good old Akbar would do whatever was necessary, needless to say.
And so he did. Went with the Superb in the towing truck, went back on Monday got the job card and everything.

Mechatron failure.

I'll be damned if I know what that is.

BUT I've been told it happens with this DSG gearbox.

I was in Goa when Akbar called.

Megaphone gaya hai. Fail ho gaya.
Megaphone?
Haan.
Acha.
Ek laakh ka parts hai maloom?
Ek laakh??
My heart just stops.
Warranty mein hai gaadi. Free mein ho jayega. Apne ko kya ek-do hazzar bill aayega.
I breathe again. Gaadi kab milega?
10-12 din lagega.

And so they called for the "Megaphone" from the factory. It took 12 days for them to return me the car and the total bill, including an oil top-up was 900 bucks. Actually the Mechatron and window button replacement was free.

All is well again.
Sam Kapasi is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 8th September 2011, 18:19   #379

Wow, that was a shocker and a half there, Sam. Mechatronics are infamous for failing. Any idea what caused the failure?

Filled Diesel in a Petrol car . Who was that "Mahaan aatma" who did that? Any damage to the car due to that?
Old 8th September 2011, 18:28   #380

Another famous DSG failure. The problem is that they don't rectify the problem and just replace the whole thing which is not exactly cheap. 1L is a lot of money. How much has your car done on the ODO?
Old 8th September 2011, 20:13   #381

all's well that ends well, but when is the Goa travelogue coming up?
Old 8th September 2011, 23:05   #382

Another famous DSG failure. The problem is that they don't rectify the problem and just replace the whole thing which is not exactly cheap. 1L is a lot of money. How much has your car done on the ODO?
I think it has done 25000 kms.
Originally Posted by ms001 View Post
all's well that ends well, but when is the Goa travelogue coming up?
Goa? Since then I've been halfway around the world again, lol. You would be very surprised.

I write one for every 10 trips I make. Honest.
Old 9th September 2011, 09:44   #383

arey Yeti baba it does not matter if its Goa or Germany or Venice we need a Yetiblog jaldi bas!!

Last edited by ms001 : 9th September 2011 at 09:49.
Old 9th September 2011, 13:37   #384

Re: A year and a half later

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Mechatron failure.

I'll be damned if I know what that is.

BUT I've been told it happens with this DSG gearbox.
Well, the ghost of Mechatronix (Mechanical + Electronics) is probably the biggest bane of Skodas, world over.
However, the incidents of it going bust this early are few and far between so it is probably a case of bad luck/omen.

Want some more gyaan? Here you go:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...hatronics.html

Did you tie "nimbu mirchi" on your Superb when it was delivered?

Last edited by n.devdath : 9th September 2011 at 13:43.
Old 9th September 2011, 14:20   #385

Originally Posted by n.devdath View Post
Well, the ghost of Mechatronix (Mechanical + Electronics) is probably the biggest bane of Skodas, world over.
Correct. After V16's mechatronics problem, this one is another ghost of mechatronix. Btw, just wanted to ask, anyone has a non DSG Skoda? That is, manual gears? I don't seem to recall any reviews of the manual version. Are their manual gear boxes problematic too?
Old 9th September 2011, 15:13   #386

Wow," mechatron" failures have become the norm it seems for DSG boxes.It has become less of a "will" it fail to,"when" will it fail!

1 lakh!,thats a lot of dough,thank goodness your car was in warranty.

"Megaphone" had me in splits!
Old 9th September 2011, 15:25   #387

Originally Posted by W.A.G.7 View Post
Btw, just wanted to ask, anyone has a non DSG Skoda? That is, manual gears? I don't seem to recall any reviews of the manual version. Are their manual gear boxes problematic too?
I know quite a few people at Skoda and their dealerships at Bangalore and there has not been any issue that I know of where a manual GB has failed.

The Mechatronix, the ECU and the radiator fan are the most common failures that I know of.
n.devdath is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th September 2011, 16:14   #388

Damn- the ghost of the Mechatronics strikes again. I hear ridicule is the only real way to get rid of a ghost: hopefully Akbar's "megaphone" comment has banished it for life!

Does EVERY one of those damn DSG boxes fail? Why doesn't Skoda just recall and replace all of them?

Sam- once you replace a part under warranty, is it covered for a further period under a new warranty? Am asking because they may change it now when it's under warranty but what if it fails again when your car's not?
Old 9th September 2011, 16:38   #389

Originally Posted by noopster View Post
Sam- once you replace a part under warranty, is it covered for a further period under a new warranty? Am asking because they may change it now when it's under warranty but what if it fails again when your car's not?
Original warranty period will not change. If there is a second failure, it will be replaced under wty only if it happens within the original wty period.

For parts replaced outside warranty period (paid replacements), it depends on the service provider & the item. Some parts have a 30 day "service fees only waived". Others have a limited parts replacement time frame, while still others have no wty.

So it's best to check in each instance
Old 9th September 2011, 17:04   #390

Mighty Scared. Was considering Laura DSG CR but looks like will choose between Jetta MT, Laura TSi MT & Cruze LTZ. I cant afford to pay 1L+ on stupid gearbox replacements ! And nor can i afford to be without my car while it is waiting for mechatronic parts to arrive !

Copyright Š2000 - 2024, Team-BHP.com