Old 22nd April 2011, 02:25   #91

Re: YetiBlog® - Greece!

Well Let me start with some hats off!

For the writing prowess of Mr. Sam Kapasi "The Yeti"
For bringing us near to the beauty that Greece is.
For...wait, let he complete the log.

Sincerely, the pics are captivating and so is the place and no words for the architecture. I wonder you ever want to leave such a serene and calm place. Bring it on Sam, we are waiting for Athens.
justwheels is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2011, 08:34   #92

Brilliant as ever Sam. The setting for your WC finals has to be the next best after the one in stadium
rajesh1868 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2011, 09:30   #93

A few more photos at the lower level settlements

YetiBlog® - Greece! (and a wee bit of Germany)-dsc_02061_l.jpg

YetiBlog® - Greece! (and a wee bit of Germany)-dsc_0209_l.jpg

YetiBlog® - Greece! (and a wee bit of Germany)-dsc_0210_l.jpg

What next?
Well further down towards the centre of the island is the highest peak - the telecommunication tower where one can get a 360 degrees view of Santorini.

The path is narrow and quite steep and despite all of Jenny's groaning (did I mention that she is afraid of heights?) we're soon there.

Beautiful.
YetiBlog® - Greece! (and a wee bit of Germany)-dsc_0196_l.jpg

YetiBlog® - Greece! (and a wee bit of Germany)-dsc_01971_l.jpg

YetiBlog® - Greece! (and a wee bit of Germany)-dsc_01891_l.jpg

We wrap up the day in another Taverna. The tavernas are full of families dressed mostly in black. It's Sunday today and they're probably returning from Church.

I've had just about enough of Feta cheese to last me a lifetime already. Breakfast, lunch and dinner. The salads are really something else though.

And the tomatoes? Don't ask. The Greek tomatoes are sweeter than apples. I've never tasted such delicious tomatoes.

I've got it. Pasta with sauce. And they have it. And as expected it is bloddy awesome.

A fantastic meal later he brings us dessert, compliments of the house. This is not the first time they do that. I look at 4 diamonds on a plate, made of...
Made of...

It looks awfully familiar.

What is this called?
Halwa he says proudly.
Halwa?
Halwa
he says again, nodding slightly wth both his eyes closed pleasantly.

Itni door se aaye hai, Greece mein Halwa khaane? I mumble to myself.
What? asks Jenny

Nothing says I. Eat your halwa.
Sam Kapasi is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2011, 10:44   #94

Thanks for bringing in another wonderful travelogue, Sam.

Just wondering, does this place appear in the below song?
(Watch from 2:50 to 3:50)

Old 22nd April 2011, 13:28   #95
lsp

Nope
Khuda jaane is mostly Venice and Capri, both in Italy.

Originally Posted by ch.nathan View Post

Last edited by Vid6639 : 26th April 2011 at 00:20. Reason: Removed the video which was also part of the quote.
Old 22nd April 2011, 16:08   #96

Its purely awesome, mind blowing and whatnot, i have always been a sucker for nature, and its a pure bliss, i will keep this place in mind and will visit it sooner or later. I can now just feel myself up there on the terrace, me and my hukkah, and the beautiful surrounding, sitting lazily all day. O.M.G .

Last edited by samy3660 : 22nd April 2011 at 16:15.
samy3660 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2011, 16:36   #97

Unbelievably Beautiful! Thank you so much! What amazing vistas!
driveanddrive is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2011, 18:21   #98

Originally Posted by ch.nathan View Post

He must have had a terrible backache after all that arching of his back.

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Itni door se aaye hai, Greece mein Halwa khaane? I mumble to myself.
What? asks Jenny

Nothing says I. Eat your halwa.
interesting! Was it any different?

Halva - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
vivekiny2k is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2011, 20:47   #99

Ah but the day is far from over.

We drive though ancient settlements, ancient areas called Megalochori and Akrotiri. We want to go to the ancient protected areas, but find the gates closed. drive around until we come across a large cafe called Panorama.

Panorama cafe is just that. A massive family run cafe with a 220 degree view of the sea. Gorgeous view and great greek coffee. The family sits there enjoying the view.

Some of the kids are studying, one is surfing on her laptop. She smiles brightly at us as we enter. Takes our order for Greek coffee and disappears into the kitchen.

Greek coffee is similar to Turkish coffee. It is unfiltered. Basically roasted and ground coffee is boiled and then poured into a cup and allowed to settle. It is usually already quite sweet (too sweet and strong in fact) and then the coffee sludge kind of muddily settles at the bottom of your cup and you sip off the top.

Not recommended for the faint of heart. lol.

But the view, sigh.

OH. MY. GOD.

I just sounded like Janice from Friends.

YetiBlog® - Greece! (and a wee bit of Germany)-dsc_0228_l.jpg
The cafe.

YetiBlog® - Greece! (and a wee bit of Germany)-dsc_0216_l.jpg

YetiBlog® - Greece! (and a wee bit of Germany)-dsc_0219_l.jpg
The view.

YetiBlog® - Greece! (and a wee bit of Germany)-dsc_02181_l.jpg
So I want you to pay extra special attention to this photo above because it will kind of explain the topography of this crescent island.

See the ship in the middle of that picture? Take a good look at it because it's going to pop up at a different angle pretty soon.

Now take a look at the black island to the left, just behind the ship. That's the volcano. Uninhabited.
Just off the volcano tip towards the right of the photo, do you see a few white specks? That's Oia. Pronounced Eeya.
Now just above the ship, on top of the cliff, do you see the entire cliff settlement? That's Fira. Or Thira. Depending on how thick your greek accent is.
Fira is like a capital of this island. And that's where we're headed next. Tourist central.

Before that a visit to the sea side is in order.
YetiBlog® - Greece! (and a wee bit of Germany)-dsc_0231_l.jpg

Next stop, fascinating FIRA!

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 22nd April 2011 at 20:50.
Sam Kapasi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2011, 21:20   #100

Sam, superb photographs. You have managed to capture the appropriate mood with them. I bet when you look at them years down the line, they'll evoke the exact feeling you felt at the time they were taken.

Great going.
VLOCT is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2011, 21:41   #101

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
OH. MY. GOD.

I just sounded like Janice from Friends.
LOL. That cracked me up! I guess you even waved your hands just like Janice does(?) That would have been hilarious to watch . BTW, stunning pictures, keep em coming!!
vaibzi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2011, 22:21   #102
A M

Got a new keyboard today to save one key my laptop's keypad taking the toll. Another great YetiBlog!!

The above post can be added to the "Yeti guide to coffee".

BTW, I was wondering, how to punch the "®" symbol from the keypad?
Had to copy and paste it.
A M is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2011, 00:35   #103

Greece! Lovely! as usual Sam!

Sam! This is a confession. I love everything you write here. Ofcourse everyone loves your way with words and your perspective! I know what you look like from the pics, ok you got a bizarre hairstyle ( might even be a wig? Man your not bald r you!!!! ) you are tall very very tall, hmm then you got some sort of a beard? I haven't studied all that so cant be sure.

But, coming to the point sam, everytime I read Sam Kapasi I get this mental pic of one Yeti, ( ok never seen an yeti yet, from what I have heard etc) hmm what looks like a cross between a large human and a very hairy but happy polar bear thats got one retarded grin ear to ear and dancing to music. ofcourse, we got all kinda crazy lighting in the background.

I am also seeing 'theone' ( if you dint know I love smileys) dancing around with the yeti.

my question is has anyone else reported the same or similar 'vision' ?

YaeJay is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2011, 02:22   #104

Ahh Sam,
Here you go with your fascinating blog that glides the reader straight to the surreal places you visit. I always avoid, as much as possible, reading your blogs, but within hours I end up reading and dreaming. You really have a natural flair to teleport the readers to these heavens, via your blogs. Bring on more Sam. You are a living guide to international paradise in Team-bhp.
Anandg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2011, 10:50   #105

Originally Posted by A M View Post
Got a new keyboard today to save one key my laptop's keypad taking the toll. Another great YetiBlog!!

The above post can be added to the "Yeti guide to coffee".

BTW, I was wondering, how to punch the "®" symbol from the keypad?
Had to copy and paste it.
Regarding the "®" symbol.hold ALT and punch 0174 and release ALT(ALT+0174) in word,excel or anything.You will get that symbol.Similarly for

Trademark- ALT+0153
Copyright- ALT+0169.

Sorry for going off topic SAM BHAI
sagarpadaki is offline   (5) Thanks