Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 31st December 2007, 12:10   #76

i recently gave my car for complete painting and they have totally spoiled the alloys on my car they have even painted all over them

now i don't want to change my alloys as i like this set very very much and will be changing my car in the near future. What can i do to restore the original finish of my alloys?
Old 31st December 2007, 13:04   #77

Have them scraped down & get them painted in the original colour again.
Old 31st December 2007, 22:26   #78

Originally Posted by manikjeet View Post
i recently gave my car for complete painting and they have totally spoiled the alloys on my car they have even painted all over them

now i don't want to change my alloys as i like this set very very much and will be changing my car in the near future. What can i do to restore the original finish of my alloys?
Ideally, use your Punjabi dimaag to yell and flex muscles.
It's their Mistake. Not yours.

That is the price you pay for cheap paint guys. I think your Rims arent the hard chromed ones. Let them try a little portion of the alloy with a diluted paint thinner and see if anything happens.
Only try a VERY SMALL portion for start.
Old 1st January 2008, 23:04   #79

Originally Posted by ScarySkulls View Post
Ideally, use your Punjabi dimaag to yell and flex muscles.
It's their Mistake. Not yours.

That is the price you pay for cheap paint guys. I think your Rims arent the hard chromed ones. Let them try a little portion of the alloy with a diluted paint thinner and see if anything happens.
Only try a VERY SMALL portion for start.
have used the first option they used thinner but they couldn't return the shine
Old 1st January 2008, 23:09   #80

Guys even i want to powder coat my alloys.You know of some one in delhi.
After going through the Yellow pages,I came across a company Powder Coaters,in Okhla.These are in this business for 20 years.Any info on them,Do they powder coat alloys??

Last edited by m4ugr8 : 1st January 2008 at 23:13.
Old 2nd January 2008, 00:12   #81

Get a good clear coat on them.
Old 2nd January 2008, 07:59   #82

@manikjeet - Like iraghava has said get a clear coat and then get them polished. They will be as good as new.
Old 2nd January 2008, 12:43   #83

Originally Posted by m4ugr8 View Post
Guys even i want to powder coat my alloys.You know of some one in delhi.
You can get in touch with Pandit & Co. on 41612844. They regularly get wheels powder coated for Vintage/Classic cars and might be able to help you out.
Old 22nd February 2008, 10:17   #84

How DIY RePlenish the looks of Old Aluminium Finish Alloys?

Can any one with experience guide me?

Mods:If this Thread exists could you kindly Merge?
Old 22nd February 2008, 10:28   #85

Originally Posted by manikjeet View Post
have used the first option they used thinner but they couldn't return the shine
You'll need to get them re-painted. However take it to a specialist who knows how to paint alloys. They should not be sanded down except very lightly, as it weakens their strength. If done correctly , they will look as good as new. If not done correctly they will look terrible, and their safety will be compromised. Hence, go to a specialist.
Old 25th February 2008, 12:22   #86

Any Recomendations on Where I could get my Alloys Replenished in Bangalore?
Old 3rd March 2008, 09:59   #87

Need any contact in Hyderabad who can remove minor sctraches on my alloys...

Thanks in Advance..
Old 3rd March 2008, 10:07   #88
DKG

There are a whole bunch of powder coating facilities in Balanagar, Hyderabad. Although most of their routine work is for electricals you can work it out to order the high gloss colours you need and have the job done
Old 3rd March 2008, 12:35   #89

Thanks DKG,

I am looking for some one who can do work without removing the wheel as these are minor scartches , can this be done with hand using any material?
Old 5th May 2008, 14:27   #90

I want to powdwe coat my alloys too. Can anyone have information where in pune it can be done and the quality is good.