News

6 yrs with Ford EcoSport diesel: Would have bought a new one even today

Coming from a VW Polo, I never felt that even after 78,000 km this (nearly SUV model) was an old car that could fail me.

BHPian Krish_Diesel recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

On October 14th, 2016, I bought this beast. I had a 2014 VW Polo before this. I have a bad habit of changing cars every two to five years, therefore I was eager to change or update to an SUV model in 2016. The Ecosport was the choice, priced at roughly eleven lakhs in 2016. At the time, Ecosport was the only available alternative in this market that was within budget.

Despite the fact that the Polo is a fantastic hatchback with a strong body and an exciting car, I sold my Polo and booked this beast without taking it for a test drive. I vividly recall how it felt to own my first SUV (or nearly an SUV) model. The feeling was different when one was high inside.

D-day

At 6:30 PM, I had to pick up my vehicle from Elite Ford Marathalli. However, I was dealing with an important production issue in my office that day, and my team was working hard to find a solution. I wasn't sure if I was able to take the delivery till five o'clock. However, with 2-hour permission, I left the office at 5:30 and arrived home to pick up my family by 6:15. I advised the Ford showroom to push out the delivery to 7:30 PM over the phone. At around 7:15 PM, I finally arrived at the showroom amidst the troubles and stress I had been experiencing with the production issue.

When I finally arrived at the showroom, I noticed a stunning newly born brown-colored beast parked with ribbons attached. I realised that this was my child. After quickly inspecting the car and matching its VIN number to mine, which revealed no scratches or additional flaws, I walked inside to finish the paperwork. All the documentation was ready and finished within 15 minutes of my request.

I started my car for the first time after a brief demonstration of the features. I was startled when the diesel engine turned on since it made significantly more noise than the Polo. However, the Urban SUV's feel and my high posture caused me to disregard the noise. The clutch was a bit harder than I had anticipated. However, the gears changed easily, and I was able to begin the ride. My 5-year-old son was more excited.

For the first two kilometres, I questioned whether I could truly drive this car, which is slightly larger than the Polo. Additionally, I wondered if changing from the Polo had been a mistake due to the distinct engine noise. Along with this, I was more concerned about the production issue, and I only managed to make it home after a tense 40-minute drive through heavy Bangalore traffic on the old airport route.

As soon as I got home, I just parked the car and went back to work to address my office issue. Fortunately, the issue was rectified before midnight, and I went to bed without thinking about the new car.

Actual Journey Start

The following morning, a Saturday, I awoke around 8:30 AM and immediately went to the parking lot to see my beast. With its shiny brown paint and strong appearance and all of its lines, it was standing there. Once inside the vehicle, the driver's seat was correctly set and had excellent ergonomics. Once inside the car, I felt secure. After getting down and getting dressed, I drove to the temple to perform the Pooja.

After adjusting the seating position, the drive was enjoyable as I began to feel comfortable in the new vehicle. I was convinced. After finishing the Pooja, I drove the car 15 km in one direction on the highway before I began to experience the goodness in it. It didn't sense any lag since it was picking up pace quite quickly. The vehicle had excellent turning ability and handling, and it was completely under control. The position of the seat was really comfortable, with excellent thigh support and plenty of room for the legs, even for the back passengers. I had an amazing time on the 30-kilometer drive and made it back home without difficulty.

My feeling and review

This car's engineering is outstanding because it not only has a sturdy body but is also very manoeuvrable, city-friendly, great in terms of ergonomics, and has a good driving position. May comfortably fit 5 passengers. The car exhibits complete control and stability even at high speeds. The body roll won't be experienced by you. Its 1.5 liter diesel engine and powerful AC allow it to compete. There is plenty of room in the boot for two large suitcases. I believed this boot space to be adequate for a household of four and never encountered a problem.

And of course, it is missing some key features like Rear AC vent, Touch screen etc.

I've had this car for 6.5 years, and it has never let me down. For someone like me who sells their cars on average every 2.5 years, having a car for 6.5 years shows how happy they are with this. It never gave me an issue or left me stranded on the road throughout these 6.5 years.

Over the years, I've driven the car over rough, curving, mountainous, and ghat roads in places like Agumbe, Dhimbam, Ooty, etc. It used to effortlessly climb those heights while carrying all of its passengers. Even now, with 78k kilometers on the odometer, I never felt like this was an old vehicle that could fail me. I never had the urge to sell this car because it still effortlessly crosses 150 KMPH, giving me the impression that it is not old. Additionally, the costs are extremely low and within the range of only 5-7K for the yearly maintenance. In conclusion, it is an illusion that Ford is costly, and I have never experienced it.

Overall, this is a magnificent and amazing car that never lets down its owner and continually offers enthusiastic drivers a wonderful driving experience. I appreciate Ford for its fantastic creation, and I will certainly miss the brand in India.

Sorry Ford, but safety isn't something the Indians care about. We are constantly in need of features like voice alerts, touch screens, and more mileage. We always put our family's safety or my safety second. Because of this, Maruti or Hyundai are still regarded as the best resale values in India. I definitely would have switched to a new Ecosport had Ford been around.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Driven by india